We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget travellers - dont spend time in your room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Lu Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maui Lu Resort to your Saves list
Maui Lu Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget travellers - dont spend time in your room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great budget place to stay. Really how much time will you spend in your room? Room has fridge, shower, beds a/c. It is older and run down a little but the hotel is right on the ocean. There is a little beach there but all beaches in hawaii are public property and there is alot of beach. The a/c was strong but it was a little loud. We spilt a beer on the floor and when i dabbed it up with the towel the towel was black. Besides that there was a few budget - hilly billys on one side of us and a con artist couple on the other. Someone had the tv up loud one night and as the building is a wood frame sound can travel. For maui, if you are on a budget you will want to stay here. Also, right out front the ocean view there is kite boarding and windsurfing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    204
    156
    92
    106
See reviews for
106
281
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed from February 5-9, 2013 in room 617. Although it first appeared to be an ocean VIEW room instead of an ocean FRONT, it is on the end facing the ocean. The view from the balcony was outstanding which contributed to the photos I took of the beautiful sunsets, My friends couldn't believe how reasonable the price was for a room literally on the ocean, My room had new furniture and carpet so I can't relate to the reviews that reported shabby furniture and other negative comments, I never had to use the AC because of the constant breeze. The ONLY criticism I have is that when you turn the handle for the shower, the water still comes out of the spout. This did not inconvenience me at all, but seems to be a waste of water for the complex. Frankly I was a bit apprehensive about staying here after reading all of the negative reviews. I am sorry that those people found Maui Lu not to their taste, This was one of the best places I ever stayed.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room or none at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

All of the reviews are pretty much spot on. We were lucky to stay on the top floor of the 400 building and while the view is outstanding the furniture is very shabby. The area around the toilet was very dirty, but when I mentioned it to the housekeeper it was cleaned promptly. All the staff we dealt with were very nice. Didn't use the pool as it was freezing. The beach next to our building was very quiet. Noise from the traffic on the road may bother some people. A few hooks and a shelf in the bathroom would have been most welcome as there isn't anywhere to put your clothes when you are showering. I'm not sure why this chain hasn't spent a small amount of money to spiff up the rooms a bit.

Room Tip: Second floor in 400's have great views and vaulted ceilings, but parking is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Booked through Priceline for 3 nights at a good rate. Upon arrival we were told about a $10 per day amenity fee. Amenities included: In room coffee (1 pack per day), 2 tea bags, morning paper, wif-fi and in room safe. Complimentary 1st morning breakfast at 8:30 sharp included a sales pitch from people selling whale watches, tours etc. To the cleaning crews credit, bed and bathroom were mostly clean with new bed scarves, and shower curtains. Bathroom floor was grundgy and carpet was stained. The property is divided into 2 areas with 3 buildings on the ocean,(400, 500 and 600) and the rest across the street on a hill. We stayed in bldg 600, next to the road which was extremely noisey. 600, which has an 80's decor, is also next to a busy beach with loud conversation into the night. Bldg 400 faces the ocean and appears to be the best. Parking for the ocean rooms is in a small difficult lot. When the oceanside lot is full, there is parking across a very heavily traveled road, that you have to cross on foot. Tiny, postage stamp beach. Maui shaped hotel pool was unique but the edge looked scummy. Restaurants and shops are a mile down the road. I don't understand what's behind the poor quality and run down appearance of this place, especially with the Aston name. Maybe the "resort" is behind the abandoned building on the hill and I missed it. I am not a fussy person, but this place creeped me out. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, pay the extra money for bldg 400.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiheiPauls, Manager at Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Travelers - don't be creeped out:) The Maui Lu was designed in the late 1950's and built in the early 1960's - so the hotel is "OLD". Our Staff works hard to keep all of the rooms cleaned and our Maintenance Staff works hard to keep everything working. Our staff works 7 days a week, so our guests can always get something fixed in a hurry if they call the front desk..

Just to clearify, there is a small beach between the oceanfront buildings and there are large beaches on both sides of that beach right on the other side of the rocks. The pictures actually show the beaches.

We want you to be pleased, so make sure you do your homework before you make your reservations. The hotel has been booked full since Christmas.

A Hui Hoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have been to Maui several times and have always stayed in Kaanapali. We found Kihei to be so much more convenient! It is so central to everything! This hotel was perfect for us. It is not crowded at all, has ample parking (usually a huge problem at other hotels we have stayed at), and the beach here is just gorgeous! With literally nobody around, you can practically have this beautiful beach to yourself! The rooms are clean and spacious, but not fancy. The hotel staff was extremely friendly! They do charge a $10/day amenity fee which gives you movie rentals, game rentals, wifi, coffee and tea, popcorn, etc. However the price of the hotel is so reasonable, this didn't bother us. There is microwave and toaster in the lobby, a big swimming pool, and laundry facilities. The perfect hotel for us!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked a hotel through the RBC rewards points system and chose one of the least expensive hotels because we knew we would barley be there. It was a great choice for us because we rented a car and toured the whole island in 4 days. It was so close to everything. 40 min from West Maui. 20 min from the airport. 1.5 hours from Haleakala. And 5 min. from South Kehei and Wailea.

The front desk attendant was very friendly but I was concerned when he said, "I'll see if we have any rooms left". (We booked a room a month ahead.) They did have a room but not the king size bed we requested. So for one night we stayed in another room before getting moved to our requested room in the Oceanview 600 building.

The front grounds of the hotel are very pretty, but not kept up very well near the back. We like the Maui shaped pool. It was cold but no colder than our pools in Canada. The private beach here is gorgeous and serene. We stayed in a ground level oceanview room (608, I think. The one nearest the ocean.) There were windows that faced the ocean but they were too high to look out of. We enjoyed the oceanview and gorgeous sunsets from the patio. The sound of the waves were so relaxing at night.

There was a hairdryer in both rooms we stayed in. My hubby used the movie service. I was usually exhaused by 8pm (10pm our time) after our full days of touring. The wi-fi was a little slow and I had to log-in every single time I used it. That was a little annoying. The rooms were large and clean but can use some upgrading. (The pictures on the website are a little deceiving, they must have been taken years ago). The outdoor light to our room was burnt out. The glass sliding door didn't lock on top but we could use the bottom screw lock. There was a picture missing from the wall (there were nails where it should have been.) The sliding bathroom door needs to be oiled (it was screeching).

The history of the hotel is really interesting. It started out as a Canadian's cabin (the front desk area). That's why there's a Vancouver monument on the beach across from the entrance.

All things considered, we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: I just read Sha D's room tip and it's incorrect. She thought there were no rooms on the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

They make it look nice but very run down and dirty. Rooms don't smell good. I wouldn't recommend even for the price. They pictures make it look much more updated than it is. One of the buildings is about to fall over. Pretty grounds but the restaurant on premises is now a church.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiheiPauls, General Manager at Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
The topic of the old building on property ready to be torn down has been discussed several times. This building does not effect any of the other buildings on property or anyone's stay on the property. Unfortunately, this vacant building is part of a major building permit in existence and removal of the building is not allowed at this time. I agree that the building is an eye sore.

There are five buildings on property. Three of the buildings are located across the street adjacent to the ocean. Two buildings are located near the lobby. Only a few of the rooms in these two buildings have distant ocean views. Every room has a classification that describes the view from that room. The rate for each room is based on the view to the ocean.

Maui Lu was designed in the 1950's and built in the 1960's. Maui Lu is a charming, historical, quiet property built on a 28 acre coconut plantation.. If this is not what you are looking for - Maui and Kihei have many other nice and newer hotels for you to chose from.

The success of your trip is based on meeting your expectations. You should make sure you chose the right hotel. Talk to a live travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Lu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Lu Resort

Address: 575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maui Lu Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Maui's best beachfront value. Guests can stroll Maui's oldest coconut grove on the hotel's 28 lush acres. This property's rustic feel and secluded beach coves (not to mention a pool in the shape of Maui) add up to a charming experience and a great vacation value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Maui Lu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Lu Hotel Kihei
Aston Maui Lu Resort
Aston Kihei
Aston Lu Maui
Maui Lu Resort Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Lu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.