We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent older place for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Lu Resort

Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Lu Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Maui Lu Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Alexandria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent older place for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice located, decent service just a older place. We stayed on the Ocen side. Hotel was close enough to walk to something's in Kihei. Word to the wise, when booking anything in Maui, everyone is trying to sell you a time share.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    203
    156
    92
    107
See reviews for
105
279
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ibooked a room on X-mas Eve @ the Maui Lu . went for a party in Kihei. Last minute booking. They did not offer a kamaaina rate but location was great.Went back to the room around midnight. round 2 a.m. the people up stairs decided to pack for there trip home. needless to say staying down stairs in an old wood building it was very loud. we were up ,packed up and home in our own bed by 8:30 a.m. This is a very old property, outdated, overpriced, and managment did not even attempt to do a thing to make me want to come back.Rm to rent, fo getta bout it !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask if the building is built of wood, If so get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiheiPauls, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Maui Lu is definitely built with wood. Maui Lu was designed in the 1950s and early 1960's. Maui Lu is the oldest hotel in Kihei. Maui Lu is about price, location and old Hawaii. Thousands of guests come to the Maui Lu each year.

Please make sure you do your homework before booking your reservation.

Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were very disappointed, bathroom dirty with signs of not being cleaned, mold in the airconditioning unit, very poor lighting in room, my husband will tell you I am someone that does not turn on all the lights, I had to turn all the lights on and still could not see well. Bad air freshner/cleaning products not for people with allergies. Not accommodating, if you have a late flight just book another night, there is no late check out and will not confirm a latencheck out either. We had to change our cloths in the parking lot like just like other people were doing.They will hold your luggage but did not notice when we took ours when we left, they do not lock/secure it for you. TV if you hit it you can get the sound and picture. The first clue when you drive up and see a building that needs to be torn down should tell you they do not keep up with the maintenance. If money is tight save up another year or two and go to a better place. Needs a lot of updating. This is the worse place I have ever stayed. I have gone to Philippines and have cleaner places that are one - two stars ratings. When you talk to the front desk they either joke at your complaints or have a none friendly/none customer accommodating.. I work in the hotel industry over 25 years and this is the worst, my wife in the medical field bought cleaner and cleaned our room herself. The sheets I believe suppose to be white are off white form dirt.

Room Tip: Save money and go to a name you trust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiheiPauls, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Aloha Guests

Traveling during the months of January, February and March in Hawaii presents some unique problems for the travelers because this is the high season for travel in Hawaii. Maui Lu has been running an occupancy over 95% since Christmas. This high occupancy prevents late checkouts for anyone. There are public restrooms available adjacent to the Lobby that can be used for dressing, so it really is not necessary for anyone to dress in the parking lot. Stored baggage is in the lobby next to the front desk, managers office, reservations office and my office. Guests must sign in their stored luggage. During slower seasons, we happily allow guests to have late checkouts in their rooms.

Problems with televisions or any other equipment can be easily resolved by calling our front desk which is open 24/7. We have backup TVs and we are replacing all TVs with flatscreens, so that really isn't a problem at Maui Lu.

Thank you for your constructive criticism. Everyone has a different perspective and point of reference. We work hard to meet all of our guest's expectations.

A Hui Hoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Maui Lu is one of the older hotels in Kihei and has very extensive, well kept and lovely grounds.
There are several two- or three-story buildings, recently painted. The rooms are large and are equipped with coffee makers and refrigerators, but no hair dryers. The pool is shaped like a map of Maui, but it is always cold. (I have stayed there 3 or 4 times and each time found the pool cold.)

Most of the buildings are on the landward side of South Kihei Road and the rooms do not have ocean views, but the superior rooms are in three of the buildings which are across the road and front a pretty and private tiny sandy beach. One of these buildings faces directly over the ocean with marvelous views. The other two buildings are perpendicular to the shore and only about half of the rooms have good ocean views since some only look over to the next building and others have views obstructed by trees.

Most of the rooms have a lanai with a couple of patio chairs, but on our most recent visit we had a room in the 100 building on the landward side, on the ground floor. We had no patio doors, no patio/lanai, only a bare concrete area outside the door, and no patio chairs to sit on. The bedroom window looked out the back on to a service area, so we had to keep the drapes closed. Fortunately we were staying only one night, but had we spent a fortune getting to Maui for a 2-week vacation there we should have been hugely disappointed.

Maui Lu is one of the cheaper hotels on Maui, but this was partially offset by being charged a fee of $10 per night plus tax as an "activity fee" which entitled us to the use of the pool and a free newspaper. Hardly worth $10. Why are they not honest and just put up the price by $10?

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view room ask the hotel specifically whether there is an unobstructed ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When rating this resort, it's between a 3 and a 4... between average and very good. Back in the day when Kihei had the only post office on the island, the Aston Maui Lu was there, and apparently not much has changed. The spacious grounds are lovely and well-manicured. The 'old-fashioned' pool, is cement (gotta make a reference to the Beverly Hillbillies 'cement pond') and located in a central area, surrounded with lawn, hibiscus and palm trees.

The resort itself is on S. Kihei Road, the main drag, a few miles from downtown and across the street from a long stretch of sandy beach. We were charged a $10 fee upon check in (not mentioned in my reservation) apparently for wi-fi, pool towels, playstation and DVD discs, and perhaps to pay for all the chocolate covered macadamia nuts (offered in the lobby) my husband ate.

The room itself had new carpet and paint, and old Pegge Hopper prints and an older bathroom. Although all was clean, it is definitely dated.

It's location makes it an easy trip to Wailea, back to Kahului, or around the island to Hana.

Most of the guests seemed to be honeymooners, and they enjoyed picnics on the grounds and the quiet atmosphere of the lush area. Should we come to this part of the island again and wanted a great value, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Okay - it is not 5 star but it does fit into 3+ for most things. We were a little wary when we read some of the previous commentary but I think some people are just a little too picky.

Our room was clean, had new carpet. It was 414 with a separate bedroom and livingroom kitchenette with a small fridge and microwave. Yes the furniture is showing wear and tear but nothing that effects ones stay. The pull out couch could use a new matress, do not expect to sleep comfortably on it. The bed was acceptable but then again we all have our own beds we are used to. I travel many days of the year and stay in all types of rooms and have had worse beds in better premium named accomodation.

The beach is a small cove protected by rock. It is clean. Just to the north and south within easy walking distance is miles of good sandy beach. A plus was to watch the whales from the shore and the balcony of our room every day. The hotel beach was used by people who do not understand or know about tides and wave action. We saw beach chairs and tables washed away, even though people were closer to them than us. We also saw unsupervised young children <5yoa playing on the beach and in the surf. They could have easily been caught and washed away.

Like any hotel there are those inconsiderate guests who wish to party into the wee hours of the morning and seem to get louder when you ask them to call it a night. In todays world it seems to be all about them rather than other people.

The parking on the ocean side is tight and often full even if you arrive back early in the evening. The extra parking across the highway is not well lite and be very careful when crossing this road at any time of the day. It is a busy highway and not all drivers pay attention to pedestrians even though you are in a marked crosswalk.

The front desk staff and concierge were helpful. We arrived on December 30th with no real plans and knowledge where to eat. The check in clerk recommeded an excellent restuarant and for the 31st a celebration of fireworks at a park a few miles down the road. Both well recommended and received. The concierge is very knowledgable and helpful. The prices offered match or sometimes beat the ones offered at the street. Just make sure you ask the right questions. We went on one trip and it was not quite what we "thought" we were looking for but still enjoyed for the most part.

If you have a kitchen you will have to ask for steak knives, dish soap, cloths and towels. It is easily supplied by the housekeeping staff.

The barbques are located behind the church on the main part of the property. A small walk across from the ocean view rooms but not unreasonable. You must sign out the equipment to cook with but they are clean and easy to use.

The room door security could use some upgrading. They only have the door handle and a chain system.

The bedroom has a 36" (?) flat screen television and the LR had an older 30" TV. Both worked well. We did not use the DVD in the room or the movie access in the lobby.

You will need transportation to reach anything, however we did walk each morning for a coffee about 1.5 miles. Just down the road is a NOAA research station that is open to the public for free. Very interesting info on the whales and sea turtles.

I have stayed in much worse and much better, but overall I think we got good value and in a crunch would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room on the top. 414 is a good room. There is room for a loft if the hotel wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I can't help but notice that the hotel keeps responding to the below reviews in a condescending way... How about apologize for the complaints the guests have.... Not repeatedly tell them they need a car rental.

Ironically I've stayed here and liked it, it was simple enough for me but Its not some luxurious resort... It has everything you need in Maui. A beach, a bed, and a drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Maui Lu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Lu Resort

Address: 575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Maui Lu Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Maui's best beachfront value. Guests can stroll Maui's oldest coconut grove on the hotel's 28 lush acres. This property's rustic feel and secluded beach coves (not to mention a pool in the shape of Maui) add up to a charming experience and a great vacation value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aston Maui Lu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Lu Hotel Kihei
Maui Lu Resort
Aston Kihei
Aston Lu Maui
Aston Maui Lu Resort Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Lu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.