We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
2828 Umalu Place, off Keonakai St., near Hwy. 31, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Truly Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

When we planned our trip to Maui we were looking for a place that was in a good location, would be comfortable, and came at a good price. We looked at condos, hotels, and pretty much every option. What a Wonderful World was the best we found and turned out to be even better when we got there.

Eva is a wonderful host who really goes out of her way to make your stay pleasant. She sets out a great breakfast every morning with tropical fruit and sat with us, giving us great advice about what local sights to see and things to do. When the day looked like it was going to be chilly she offered my girlfriend her own wetsuit top. And when she found out that we would be flying out in the evening, she told us we could come back before our flight to use the shower and get our stuff. This basically gave us a full extra day on our vacation.

In sum, this is a place where the host really welcomes you into their home and makes your stay pleasurable. Totally recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Guava suite and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    52
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
152
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family truly enjoyed staying at this wonderful B&B! It went above and beyond my expectations! It was so nice to be out of the condo scene and yet be only a ten minute walk down the street to get to the beach. Breakfast was so delicious and yummy, especially the great coffee and fresh fruit! Ono-licious! Eva was such a gracious host and we will definitely be coming back soon!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I really don't know where to start.

When booking, Eva gave me whatever space she had left (suggestion: book early) and went out of her way to suggest a space in Hana for us to stay.

When we arrived, almost at 9PM, there were clear signs as to where we were staying (so we didn't have to call and disrupt her) and there were clear instructions on our bed as to where everything was.

The room was meticulous, I love the walk in shower. Breakfast was the best breakfast I had for the trip. Fresh fruit, good granola, your choice of milk, yoghurt, almond milk, and croissants, bagels etc. To top it off, you eat on a huge lanai with a view of the ocean.

She then gives a full tour of the space, offering free items to borrow for the beach.

Im a reasonably fit 31 year old guy. I dont need someone to carry my stuff Im borrowing for me. Heck, she did this too!

I will be recommending this place to anyone who visits Maui from Vancouver, which is about 25% of folks here..... :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a comfortable room and a delicious breakfast of berries, pineapple, papaya, juice, cereal, toast, pastries, English muffin, etc on her deck. Eva was there and answered all of our questions. She suggested interesting places to eat, things to see and do. She even printed us directions. She is all that we like in a B and B hostess!!!!!!!!!! We felt like we were leaving a friend.

Room Tip: Mango room was the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed four nights at What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast and absolutely enjoyed it. Not only was our suite clean with everything you could possibly think of, our host exceeded our expectations by providing a sumptuous breakfast every morning and great tips for our adventure of the day. I was particularly impressed by the tiny details our host had thought about like having Q-tips, band-aids, neosporin, make-up removing sponges, shaving cream etc in the bathroom, as well as letting us make international calls from her landline coz anyone who has gone to Maui knows that cell-phone service can be very erratic. We were given guidance on how to manage our trip and get the most bang for our buck. She was our very own personal "trip advisor". We will definitely go back to her place and recommend this B&B if you want to have a great experience at Maui.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Mango Suite" and it is like a whole apartment all to yourself. Definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed only two days between two other locations on the islands. Had we known how nice What a Wonderful World B&B was, we would have planned a longer stay. Eva is a very gracious host and helpful with suggestions of things to see and do in the area. Our room (Guava suite) had everything we needed and the setting is quite beautiful with mature tropical vegetation. The breakfast area on a covered balcony was especially nice. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I love to stay in bed and breakfasts when we go on overnight trips, so naturally when our condo wasn't available for the last day of our vacation we searched for a bed and breakfast. We had an amazing time here even though it was only for one day. Eva allowed us to check in 3 hours early and showed us some awesome stuff to do in the area. The room was well furnished, comfortable bed, and very clean. They have three wonderful Cavalier King Charles, who you wouldn't even know were around they are so quiet and well behaved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2828 Umalu Place, off Keonakai St., near Hwy. 31, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast recommended by Frommer's, Lonely Planet, Paradise Family guides and many more, complete with all the amenities, including snorkel gear and beach equipment, BBQ grill, large DVD collection, cable TV and free internet, free laundry facilities, phone, and off street parking. Our goal is to provide guests with a Maui Home where we help create lasting memories over provided accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
What a Wonderful World Hotel Kihei
What a Wonderful World b&b
What a Wonderful World Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.