We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short of a Stay in Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
2828 Umalu Place, off Keonakai St., near Hwy. 31, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too short of a Stay in Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed 4 nights, Eva & Jim are wonderful hosts with an abundance of information on the area and things to do. Will definitely stay again, we were in the Papaya Suite and it was well furnished, clean and anything we need was provided. It was like visiting with family (that you like), very nice property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    56
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
171
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Interesting modern Hawaiian-style house in a good residential area. We instantly felt at home. There are good amenities - BBQ, washer/dryer, body boards, coolers for guests, etc. The bed was very comfortable too. Eva is a really warm & generous hostess. Her Cavalier Spaniels are adorable & friendly. She was helpful in many ways & served an excellent breakfast: great early morning coffee, abundant fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, baked goods & jam.
The lanai has an ocean view & is surrounded by palm trees & birdsong. We felt like we could sit there for hours chatting with Eva and the other guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Gorgeous Hawaiin Home B&B. Very welcoming, private, a jewel of Maui. Hosts Eva and Jim Tantillo Rock. Bella, will be back in 2013. We stayed for 3 weeks. Not enough Maui time!!! The B&B "what a wonderful world" is in Kihei. So very convenient to access everything...best weather in Kihei as well. Host Eva is a fountain of love and information. She will take care of you. This was the best trip I have ever been on. Romantic. Adventurous. Relaxing.

Room Tip: Pineapple Room was sweet...but they all were good rooms... can't go wrong on this B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Eva and Jim are great hosts. They offered up many suggestions on what to see on the island. The room was comfortable, not luxurious. Location was in a residential neighborhood, located close to the shops and restaurants in Kehei. Breakfast is a good continental breakfast (cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice). The main drawback was that the bed in the Pineapple suite was not that comfortable. There are also three very cute dogs that hang around for breakfast. Again this is not like one of the beachfront hotels in Wailea or Kaanapali, but the price is very affordable. Great place if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaTant, Owner at What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the great review. Your very positive comments and suggestions are always welcomed. The queen bed has been replaced in the Pineapple Suite is a now a brand new, memory foam bed. We look forward to you enjoying this new bed on your future visits with us. Thank you! Eva and JIm Tantillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Eva runs a very nice small B&B with four rooms (three downstairs and one upstairs). We stayed in the Mango Suite which is the largest. The queen bed was comfortable. There is a kitchenette, with a sink, refrigerator, microwave, and countertop hot pad if you want to cook something. The futon in the seating area gives you another sleeping space, but makes for a fairly uncomfortable sofa for watching TV; we laid in the bed instead to rest and relax with the TV on. DVD players with both TVs and DVDs available to borrow. Air conditioning in each guest room. Being downstairs, you do get some noise from walking upstairs, but it isn't bad. The location is convenient, being on the south end of Kihei for easy access to Kihei or Wailea. It isn't right on the beach, but it's only about 1/2 mile away (Kamaole III) and beach access is a breeze.

Breakfast is a continental breakfast of granola, cereal, yogurt, fruit, muffins, croissants, juice, and coffee. Nothing to complain about here. Plenty of food to get you going. Eva spends the entire breakfast time socializing with her guests and is very welcoming. She makes you feel like you are her personal guests. You can talk about what to do on the island or whatever you would talk about with a good friend. We talked about dogs most of the time!

Eva and her son do have three King Charles Spaniels between them. If you don't want to be around the dogs at breakfast, then this isn't the place for you to stay. However, they are well cared for and very well behaved, so they won't bother you. They aren't barkers, so you won't be disturbed by them when you are in your room either.

What a Wonderful World will stay on my list of places that I would consider staying at in South Maui. While I might consider staying somewhere else, it is nothing against Eva or her home; it would just be to get another different experience. As a last note, her pricing is very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Pineapple suite was very comfortable,roomy with lots of windows and everything you need in the kitchen,the bathroom or for the beach.It was very clean.Funny and unusual set up for bathroom wich was in the entrance but nothing to worry about.It is surrounded by lots of palm trees and bushes and gives you a direct access to a quiet backyard terrace.

Eva andJim are very friendly and interesting people to chat with.Count on Eva to make sure you're not hungry anymore when you leave in the morning.

You might have to share your table in the morning but you'll still have a beautiful view of the ocean from the second floor lanai where you go to have breakfast.

We had a very late flight and Eva was very kind and gave us access to an outdoor private shower and clean towels so we could freshen up and change before leaving for the airport late in the day

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Maui what a wonderful world for 10 days.I also had the fortune stay there at the same time As my hosts family was Visiting. Eva Treated me no different than she would her family. Every morning at breakfast Aside from the spread of fresh fruit And various other goodies. Eva and her Husband Made a point of sitting and chatting finding out what my plans were and answering any questions and if They did not answer they were more than happy to find out for me

The accommodations were very comfortable as well as very close to the beach. I was provided with anything I need from deck chairs towels to a cooler.

I Don't exaggerate when I say that I was meant to feel like I was family and I would truly return and stay there every time I'm in Maui

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2828 Umalu Place, off Keonakai St., near Hwy. 31, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast recommended by Frommer's, Lonely Planet, Paradise Family guides and many more, complete with all the amenities, including snorkel gear and beach equipment, BBQ grill, large DVD collection, cable TV and free internet, free laundry facilities, phone, and off street parking. Our goal is to provide guests with a Maui Home where we help create lasting memories over provided accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
What a Wonderful World Hotel Kihei
What a Wonderful World b&b
What a Wonderful World Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.