We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is was a wonderful bed and breakfast accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
2828 Umalu Place, off Keonakai St., near Hwy. 31, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Is was a wonderful bed and breakfast accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I only needed 1 night. I was graciously accomodated by Eva, the proprietor. I wanted a location close to the Marriot Hotel in Wilea, Maui for a conference but also close to the condo reservation in Kihei. Eva gave me a discoount for paying cash! The room was large and spacious, clean with private bathing and a kitchenette. The breakfast was fresh and representative of the island's best wake me up fare. Eggs for protein, oatmeal and fruit for the vegans. The really unexpected gesture that fully exemplified the " Aloha Spirit" was Eva's partner's finding a MAC lip color pencil for me at the Macy's in way away in Kahului, Sure, he said he had to make the trip anyway but he didn't have to take his time to buy my make up. Mahalo, sir.

Room Tip: It's easy, just tell Eva what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    52
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
152
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending 10 nights recently and was pleased beyond our expectations. Eva and Jim were the most gracious hosts. If there was an award for Miss Congeniality of B&B's, it would certainly go to Eva!! She was always so cheerful, helpful and fun to be around. She not only helped us in things to do around Maui, but both Jim and Eva were a significant help in helping us plan a future trip to Europe.

While there, one guest asked if Eva was always so happy. She thought for a second and answered, "yes!". A truly positive and upbeat gal.

Our room was very private and tropical both inside with the decor, and the gardens outside our full set of windows. The bed and pillows were wonderful, and the bathroom was supplied with full-size bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash, and a basket of additional towels. Even the little details such as little St. Patrick's Day doggie stickers on the ends of the toilet paper were cute.

Upon check in, our room wasn't ready as we arrived early. But Eva let us put our luggage in the room, let us change into our summer clothes, and by the time we returned later, our room was all ready for us. She also gave us a complete tour of the home and amenities, such as two washers and dryers for us to use, a large assortment of DVD's and even a popcorn machine to make popcorn to go along with a movie.

Every morning we would wake to an orchestra of birds. That a thrill it was to wake up hearing their delightful chirping/singing every morning. They woke us each morning just in time for us to get up and be ready in time for a great breakfast of cereals, fresh fruit, hot cooked eggs, breads, danishes, yogurts, jams, coffee and juice.

Jim and Eva will remain long-time friends of ours and we will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Maui.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the garden suit for two days while watching our ten month old granddaughter. We we pleasantly surprised by the clean and comfortable room, safe enough for a baby to crawl around in.
Eva the inn keeper was kind and answered every question we had. She also allowed us to check in early and leave late after a snorkeling trip on our last day.
The setting is homey, so don't go if you're looking for a five star resort. It is in a neighborhood, so normal noises such a people coming and going and a dog barking every once in a while happened- but not at all annoying.
The breakfast was good, fresh fruit and store bought baked goods- boiled eggs, yogurt and breads. Beats running to a restaurant every morning.
She gas four little pups in her area, and thus added to the charm. They were very well behaved and left no messes at all.
The two tiny things that bugged me were that the towels smelled a bit sour (normal for wet climates, and power tools left laying near the entry area in day two).
We really did like this place a lot however!
Eva gave us great tips on local restaurants and offered to mKe reservations.
Very comfy bed and high quality linens.
We would return here again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I'm well aware that when one picks a B & B, one is opting for accommodations in another's home. But there should be certain expectations, one of which is definitely not having to dodge dog feces and urine stains on the way to one's room, nor having to view dog poop while enjoying your breakfast. True, Eva is a genial hostess with no shortage of tips for travel in and around Kihei, but she needs to either hire an attentive cleaner or do some scrubbing herself. Breakfasts were OK, consisting of fresh fruit and cereals, some hard-boiled eggs and decent coffee...little more. And our room, the "Master Suite," though smallish, was clean and well-furnished.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We would stay here again and have recommended it to our friends, but there are a few bits of information I also share with them.
The B&B is in a neighborhood with the typical neighbor issues, but nothing that was any trouble. There was someone working on their car one afternoon and it was a bit noisy but not for long, and then there was the poker party across the street the first night, but once in our room, it wasn't a problem. We stayed in the smallest room which was tight but all right because we didn't spend much time just hanging out there and it was less expensive.
Our room was comfortable and clean. But, it's like staying with a friend who has a life. The common areas are not perfectly immaculate. You could tell someone had been sitting on the couch reading, and that a breakfast has been cooked, but the kitchen not cleaned up yet. All this was OK by us. The owner was not there to greet us or available for both breakfasts, but she had a friend who cared for us just fine.
Laundry facilities are provided for no extra charge. An easily accessible hose for rinsing off diving equipment and racks for hanging swimsuits and wetsuits are available.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

My friend and I stayed at Eva's place for one night and we loved every minute of it. The room was super clean and really cute. It really feels like home. We had home made pancakes in the morning and Eva would even let us use her personal computer. Her balcony is huge with a great ocean view. I would definitely recommmend this place and if I would come back to Maui this would be the only place I would stay at.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I recently read a review of MWWW B&B and am puzzled by it. I actually stayed in the room in question the night before and know it very well. It was wonderful and not at all like it was portrayed. The "toiletries left in the shower" were actually those provided by the B&B for guest use, not leftovers.

Anyone going to a B&B expecting the Four Seasons Hotel needs to rethink their hotel strategy. And leaving Maui, missing a wedding because you don't like your room? Really? That kind of says it all.

I've stayed with Eva and Jim 3 times now and will go back again. Yes, the rooms are "nice", not spectacular. But the attitude, service and feeling you get there is like visiting family that you enjoy - it's supportive, comforting, all the things nice about being with people you like. Their knowledge of the island, where to go, where to avoid, the little extras like boogie boards, Maui guidebooks, etc, is priceless.

The accommodations are great, well kept and certainly in line with B&B's I've stayed in before. I look forward to my next visit with Eva and Jim!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2828 Umalu Place, off Keonakai St., near Hwy. 31, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast recommended by Frommer's, Lonely Planet, Paradise Family guides and many more, complete with all the amenities, including snorkel gear and beach equipment, BBQ grill, large DVD collection, cable TV and free internet, free laundry facilities, phone, and off street parking. Our goal is to provide guests with a Maui Home where we help create lasting memories over provided accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
What a Wonderful World Hotel Kihei
What a Wonderful World b&b
What a Wonderful World Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.