We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Amazing View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punahoa Beach Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Punahoa Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Punahoa Beach Apartments
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   2142 Iliili Rd., Off S. Kihei Rd., 100 yards from Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Room, Amazing View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

My wife and I recently spent part of our honeymoon in Maui and stayed in Kihei at the Punahoa Apts. Our room was a 1 bedroom on the 2nd floor. It was a really great room, very clean, nicely furnished, and the icing on the cake is the balcony with an absolutely amazing view. You're right on the water and can sit outside and watch the sun set right in front of you as the surfers catch the last waves of the day. Incredibly relaxing. The apartment managers Terry and Laurie were very nice and very helpful, suggesting some good beaches and drives that weren't in the guidebook. The apartments are on a small side street off of the main street, so it's a bit removed from the noise, though it's hardly remote, so if you're looking for something secluded this isn't the place for you. The good part of being near that main drag is that there is a lot nearby, grocery store, internet cafe, and some really good restaurants. Two of our favorites were Sansei and Cae O'Lei. We'd definitely stay at Punahoa again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

We just got back from our trip to Maui and Kauai. While on Maui, the Punahoa felt like a home away from home. Terry and Lori are excellent managers, while the location can't be beat! Close to the water, on a quiet side street, resident turtles out front, stunning westward views, it's own small snorkeling beach within steps, and the Kamaeole beaches only minutes away on foot - we don't think you'll find better value on Maui. The unit and the surrounding grounds were clean and well maintained. If you're worried about the rocks on the beach in front, don't be - they make for excellent snorkeling terrain, and the beach has plenty of room for swimming without being too close to the rocks.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

I stayed for 5 nights in the "penthouse" unit #403. Even though I was in Maui on business, I almost cried when I had to leave the Punahoa! The units are extremely close to the water, and the constant roar of the ocean in the unit was wonderful. My unit was well kept and had amazing views of the sunset. Unit 403 also has windows on 3 sides (front, back, and right) which was nice for catching an ocean breeze. My coworker stayed in a lower unit on the 2nd floor and did not have as many windows. These apartments are located on a quiet side street which was nice and are within walking distance of some great restaurants (Sansei Sushi). Kihei was centrally located to everything that I wanted to do and did not feel as touristy as some of the other areas of Maui, like Lahania. Terry and Lori, the apartment managers, were extremely helpful and friendly. The only downside was that parking was a little tight, so I was glad for a smaller vechile. A real find!

  • Liked — Very relaxing, beautiful setting that was not too touristy.
  • Disliked — Parking, no A/C may be a problem when hot
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

What a find! Punahoa was our 'home' for five days on Maui, and we cut back on our sightseeing plans because we loved hanging around the property so much. My husband and two teenage daughters stayed in Room 305, a two-bedroom corner unit that looked out over the ocean from our lanai, and over Cove Beach to the right with a vista of upcountry Maui and the mountains.

It was roomy with comfortable furniture, a terrific flat screen TV, and internet access. The kitchen had everything you could want, including a coffeemaker, blender, and rice cooker, plus great knives for those who want to really cook. There are spices, coffee filters, cleaning supplies, coolers and ice packs, beach chairs, and fat plush towels for both the bath and the beach. (It's better stocked than any other rental unit or condo I've stayed at, and I've been in homes from Cape Cod, MA to Myrtle Beach, SC and the Hawai'ian Islands.)

Right in front of the property oceanside, a wide ground-floor lanai features plenty of tables and chairs, along with torches that the manager, Terry Lowder, makes sure to light at sunset for a couple of hours. On the grassy lawn, there's chaise lounges if you just want to sunbathe and not get wet.

But if swimming and snorkeling are of interest, just steps (and I mean no more than 50 steps) will take you to the oceanfront. Right off the property is a sandy cove sprinkled with large rock outcroppings that are fun to snorkel - it's protected from heavy surf and a blast to swim among the pitted lava rocks where some pools are deep (chest high) and some are shallow. Small fish dart in and out at your feet, and even skip out of the water. If you want wider sand with no rocks, there's a secluded small cove with a nice sand beach that's very private. And if you want even wider sand beach, there's Charley Young Beach just a three minute walk south across the green lawns.

Three minutes in the other direction is Cove Beach, where you'll see surfers and paddle surfers every morning at sunrise. It's one of the top places to catch breaking waves in Kihei. My husband and daughter took a surfing lesson in the cove and off the beach right to the right - I could have watched them from the lanai.

Everything is so convenient that you almost don't need a car. Great restaurants such as Sansei Sushi and Aroma D'Italia (a fantastic Italian restaurant and a relative bargain compared to some pricier places) are within walking distance, as is a Foodland grocery store. There's terrific shopping in the stalls of two open-air markets, and many small eateries that are busy in the morning and at lunchtime.

Possibly the best thing about Punahoa is the property manager, Terry Lowder. When I called trying to find accommodations for my husband and two teenage daughters, he was very specific in helping me to pick out the right unit to stay in with my family. As each one is individually owned, they all vary, and Terry was generous with advice and answers to my many questions.

Although his 'office' hours are 9am-4pm, he can be reached at any time and was always on property to see the sunset, light the torches on the lanai, and provide advice on dining out and places to snorkel and dive. His wife Lori was equally helpful and always friendly.

Everyone I met, from the manager to the cleaning staff, clearly love working here, and it shows in the upkeep and maintenance of this very special property. I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else, and I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location, location, location - and the views - and the beach
  • Disliked — I had to leave - I couldn't live there forever.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

This condo was a great place for our family which included an infant.

It was pretty well stocked for items we would need during our stay, the only sticking point was that we arrived at 10pm at night and there was less than half a roll of toilet paper in the bathroom (we knew we had to buy stuff but the initials where guaranteed to be there to get us started).

Overall our visit was great, the caretakers were always present and awesome to deal with, however not always reliable, for example: the kitchen sink tap required maintenance work and we let them know and they said that someone would be up to fix it in a day or two but no one showed at all, also before coming we had requested a late check out and when we got there we tried to confirm but were initially told that this wasn't possible as they had other guests coming. However after leaving it with them for a couple of hours they were able to sort it out and were happy to accomodate us!

This was our first time to Hawaii and we had an especially awesome time as we were travelling very far with our son for the first time and we all thrived and enjoyed our time there!!

Kihei itself is not as built up as you would believe from what you read, I thought that some of the other places where a bit more "resorty" while in Kihei it was a blend of tourist and residential living.

We enjoyed the fact that the location was very convient and easy to get to all parts of the island allowing us to explore more and see more than if we were more on the west of the island. Being first time visitors this was especially great for us.

Highly recommend this place, Looking at sunrises and sunsets each day for a great value - you just can't it!!!

  • Liked — Sunsets each night, location, the beach out front
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I hesitate to recommend the Panuahoa to people, because it's already so hard to book due to its popularity -- you'll be lucky if it has availability less than a couple of months in advance. Aside from that, it's really a great place to stay. The only thing between your room's private lanai and the ocean is 50 feet of perfectly manicured lawn. The lanais all face due west, so you get a perfect sunset every night. Several times, I've woken up to a rainbow hovering over the ocean in the morning. Just...magical.

The units themselves are well-equipped; the kitchens have dishwashers and all the cooking utensils you'll need; the closets have extra linens and plenty of bath and beach towels, as well as beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers and icepacks for a beach picnic; the furniture is nothing fancy, but in good shape. There's free wireless internet, but you should really be out enjoying the island, not inside surfing the web. :-)

The location is as good as it gets in Kihei, off the main road and away from the noise. Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby, some touristy and unremarkable, some worthy of repeat visits.

Add to all that the fact that they haven't raised the prices in at least 5 years, and you've got yourself the best deal on Maui.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

This was our 5th visit to Maui & the Punahoa is my favorite vacation rental so far. An intimate building in a residential neighborhood you really feel like you're at home. We had unit 402, which is billed as a "penthouse" unit on the top / 4th floor (acess via stairs or elevator). The unit had everything we needed, plenty of pillows, linens, appliances, etc (yes! a blender, dishwasher AND an in room safe!). The king sized bed was very comfortable, as was the couch which was great for afternoon naps. Currently 402 is the only unit in the building that has AC, but we never needed it due to the lovely breezes. One caveat, at night you could hear noise from S Kihei Rd from the bedroom, but it didn't bother us. Those more sensitive could close the windows and turn on the AC.

The views from the ocean side lanai were spectacular, & the mauka side (bedroom/entry) was nice too. We were only a few blocks walk from Kalama Shopping center, where you can find good shopping bargains and there are some nice casual restaurants. In the other direction are more shops, dining & an ABC store. The reviewer who said they had to go to Lahaina for good food must have read the Maui Menus magazine, as it doesn't feature any restaurants in Kihei, but believe me there are some good ones (Sansei, Bada Bing, Kihei Cafe, Roy's, Five Palms, etc..)

The small beach next door to the Punahoa (north) was nice, but a lovely 5 minute walk oceanside 4 houses to the south is the huge Kamaole I, which is a wonderful beach for all ages. The lava formations directly in front of the Punahoa oceanside have wonderful pools for exploring and climbing, and snorkeling was a blast! We saw whales every day, which along with the surfers in Cove Park to our north made for lovely relaxing entertainment while sipping Pina Coladas on the Lanai. For us the Punahoa was perfect and we will be back!

  • Liked — Location, View, Convenience
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was great!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punahoa Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punahoa Beach Apartments

Address: 2142 Iliili Rd., Off S. Kihei Rd., 100 yards from Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Punahoa Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Punahoa Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punahoa Beach Apartments Hotel Kihei
Punahoa Beach Apartments Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punahoa Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.