We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nona Lani Cottages

Save Saved
You added Nona Lani Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nona Lani Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   455 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
“Quaint & Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I almost missed the sunset! My daughter and I needed a room for 1 night and were turned away by so many other Resorts. We ended up at the Nona Lani Cottages and were welcomed immediately. It was like stepping back into old Hawaii. The cottage was clean and well supplie and right across the street from one of the most beautiful beaches on Maui. We were disappointed to have only 1 night there. We would highly recommend this spot for those looking for no frills accomodation. I want to live there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Sue,

So glad Nona Lani Cottages got to be part of your vacation time on Maui, though only for one night.

And yes, Kong's Cove Beach is one of the most beautiful on Maui. But don't tell too many people as it will get too crowded :).

I admit, I am partial to this beach and ocean as my father, David Kong Sr. (passed in Nov. 2011), fished for our evening meals in those waters as well as taught my siblings (6) and myself to swim there 50+ years ago. Now, he is looking over us from his "heavenly home" (the best one) and smiling down on us AND OUR GUESTS like yourselves who enjoy these sands and waters too.

We are so thankful for your staying with us and we hope you return for a longer period of time.
It will be nice for you and your daughter to create another memory of watching a beautiful sunset together as I did with my father and I do now with my mother, Nona.

Mahalo,

Cherlyn Jean Kong, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    21
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
59
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed for ten nights in December in one of the ocean view cottages. While we have been more accustomed to staying in 5 star hotels for previous vacations, this no frills yet quaint experience was actually quite reasonable.
The most important factor being... cleanliness. The cottages are very clean, with a good amount of extra bath towels, and a bed quite comfortable to sleep on.
The air conditioning unit is situated in the bedroom, which was a bit loud, but you get used to it.
If you are looking for a convenient location and total privacy, this one is great for being beachfront, yet away from the real crowded areas of Kihei. The main road is a bit noisy at certain times, but it's hardly noticeable at night.
It was a bit of a bummer to not have internet, but there are plenty of spots down the road to sit at with free wifi. The cottages are quite small, which at times can feel like you are on top of each other if you like your space, but in a place like Maui, who really plans on being in their accomodation all that much?
The best perk is a front row seat to the amazing sunsets, what a view!
I would definitely recommend this place for people looking for that basic, no frills and super clean spot that they intend to sleep in, sunbathe on the deck and have access to all the major locations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Kelly,

Mahalo for giving Nona Lani Cottages the opportunity to serve on your vacation to Maui recently. We too love to stay at 5 star hotels so we appreciate you making a change to your plans and giving us a “whirl”.

We do pride ourselves on the clean and comfortable accommodations we have. And though we do not have the pools and jacuzzi and other frills you find at the major hotels, you do get to feel like you have your little home, especially that the cottages are spaced away from each other so you do not have your neighbors conversations in ear's distance.

Our property is so very unique with only 8 cottages on over 2-1/2 acres we have to agree with you that the price is reasonable, not the least expensive, but definitely worth the "little home away from home" that we offer our guests.

I do need to apologize to you though. I am afraid we dropped the ball in that our office staff may not have pointed out that we do have Free WiFi on the property. It is located in the outdoor lobby area off the entrance to the office. Unfortunately we do not have it in each individual cottage because the distance between each cottage and the service over our 2-1/2 acres applied to only 8 cottages would added a cost prohibitive expense to our guests for a paid service. So we opted for the next best thing... FREE WiFi for our guests in our lobby area.

We also have to agree with you... Nona Lani Cottages and Kong's Cove Beach are two of the best locations on Maui to view those jaw dropping and awe inspiring sunsets! We see people pulling over and getting out of their cars to watch this beautiful daily event. Aren't we so lucky to live on Maui, Hawaii?

We are so appreciative that you as guests remind us of how fortunate we are. You are the reason Nona Lani Cottages is still here and we thank you for your business.

We look forward to your return and thank you ever so much for your thorough, candid and fair review!

Sincerely,

Cherlyn Jean Kong, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

These are the most beautiful well maintained grounds, beautiful trees/plants, colourful flowers, great lounge chairs and an awesome staff. We stayed for two weeks in one of the ocean view cottages, (yes there was noise from road traffic) but a great trade-off to be 50 steps from a quiet beach, the most beautiful sunsets ever, whale watching from our little deck! The cottage is very comfortable, very well stocked and the location is central to all points on the island. Looking forward to our next visit, SOON!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Karen,

We loved hearing that you got to see whales from your lanai (deck) and that you just “tooled” around on the property enjoying the scenery, flowers and plants and being “on vacation”. Some of our guests get a full two weeks here like yourselves to unwind and we want to let you know how grateful we are that you chose to stay all those days with us. It is a central part of the island to commute to all the other Maui sights! Hope you had a wonderful time dipping into the warm blue Pacific Ocean at Kong's Cove Beach. Those sunsets are magical, aren't they?

We certainly look forward to having the two of you come back to stay with us! We loved having you as guests and you make our work so enjoyable to come to each day!

Sincerely,

Cherlyn Jean Kong, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed our first four nights in Maui. It was a lovely introduction to the island. Our cottage was next to the road and we had been warned that we might find it too noisy but it wasn't bad at all. It was fantastic to be able to walk across the road to a nice and quiet beach. The cottage had everything we needed and felt like home only better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Mark!

Mahalo for taking the time to review our wonderful Nona Lani Cottages. We were thrilled to learn that your first stay on Maui was with us.

Most of all, we were happy that you liked staying in the Ocean View Cottage. Yes, we tell all our guests about the 2 lane road between Nona Lani Cottages & Kong's Cove Beach so that they are aware of the car noises. Like you, most of our guests just LOVE waking up to the view of the ocean.

Kong's Cove Beach being so close is a wonderful treat for us to see and walk on and so we are glad you made your “maiden voyage” to Maui enjoying our little bit of heaven.

We hope to see you in the near future for your return visit to Maui.

Sincerely,
Cherlyn Kong, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving long weekend. The cottage was clean and right across from a fairly quiet beach. The grounds were well maintained with picnic tables and lawn chairs and lots of space. My only complaint would be that there was no internet available - this may not be a concern for some people, but we like to use the internet to figure what interesting things there are to do in the area or read reviews about nearby restaurants, etc. It never occurred to me to ask about wifi when booking as I just assumed everywhere would have it! :) There's a McDonalds and Starbucks a few kms down the road though, so we went there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Aloha Corree,

Thank you so very much for your time to review the Nona Lani Cottages. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that almost everything was to your liking.

We are sorry that you did not know about our Free Wi-Fi service that is located at the outdoor lobby right next to our office. This Wi-Fi is on only during office hours but for the most part our guests are extremely happy with this set up. However, for our travelers that need internet access for business related communications, we recommend that they rent our modem (which is ethernet port connected) and this has a daily fee like most hotels as the service is maintained by an outside vendor.

We would love to offer Wi-Fi in each cottage, with fee or free. However, because of having only 8 cottages (which are also not close together) the cost to install, operate, maintain, and troubleshoot any Wi-Fi system would add undue fees to the rental rate of a cottage. So we made the most logical decision for a middle ground. Thus we offer a free service during the office hours and also a modem for rent.

We are sorry that you did not know about the free (office hours) Wi-Fi at our outdoor lobby next to our office. We thank you for bringing this to the attention of other travelers who want or need internet access.

Again, thank you for your time to review Nona Lani Cottages. We do hope you return to Maui and stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Cherlyn Jean Kong, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed there this past Thanksgiving week sight unseen and we loved our Unit #8 in the rear with less road noise but you could still hear the crashing waves just across the street. Lovely grounds, well maintained, spotless interior with full and I mean full kitchen. A great location close to Wailea etc and all points north etc.

We do not like the resorts such as those in Napali, Lahaina areas and prefer those reminiscent of older Hawaii. These cottages fill the bill totally. Many families there with small children having loads of fun.

Room Tip: Cottage No 8 in the rear for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Aloha "lckt13",

We see you are an avid contributor to Trip Advisor and a regular traveler so we are very grateful for such a great review of Nona Lani Cottages. We too love the feel of "old Hawaii" and that is the reason for keeping the property with just a few buildings, and lots of beautiful grounds to roam.

Although we cannot guarantee our guests a particular cottage number at the time of reservation, we do note your preference and do guarantee either an Ocean View or Garden View. There are four of each with the Ocean having the view of ocean and also being closer to the 2 lane scenic route known as S. Kihei Rd. We are glad you got what really suited your taste!

We hope you do a return trip, hopefully in 2013!

Sincerely,

Cherlyn Jean Kong, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We could not have asked for a better place to stay. We loved the location because everything was just a short drive away and whilst Kihei Road is busy, the road noise was not a problem. The cottages are definitely not "flash" however they are clean, comfortable and more than adequate. The selling point on these cottages is the beach across the road, the sound of the waves crashing as you sleep and those magnificent sunsets every night. Would come back here any day!

Room Tip: The Ocean View Cottages have a better view of the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Aloha MichelineMelbourne,

We are so glad you too took advantage of one of the most beloved items of Nona Lani Cottages... The beach across the street which we have named Kong's Cove as we grew up there and our father literally would fish almost every morning (of our childhood) for our evening meals. Those sunsets are spectacular to watch them from the comfort of your front porch or as you sit on the shoreline and sink your toes into the warm sand.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay which you said you enjoyed. We loved having you as guests! Please let us know about your return visit to Nona Lani Cottages or when your family will be here from Melbourne!

Sincerely,
Cherlyn Jean Kong, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nona Lani Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nona Lani Cottages

Address: 455 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nona Lani Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your perfect vacation is having your "home away from home," look no further…Nona Lani Cottages, located on the south shores of the wonderful island of Maui, has eight cozy cottages situated on more than two acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, including swaying coconut palms and fragrant flowering plants and tropical fruit trees. Enjoy whale watching in winter months and spectacular sunsets year round from one of our four ocean view cottages, which are just a few short steps from Maui's longest continuous white sand beach and picturesque Ma'alaea Bay. Or if you are more of a tree lover, choose a garden view cottage. Or to mix things up, simply move a lounge chair or comfy hammock on the grounds to just sit back and relax in the shade or sunshine. The Kong family welcomes you to Maui! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Nona Lani Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nona Lani Cottages Hotel Kihei
Nona Lani Cottages Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nona Lani Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.