We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at #304” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menehune Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Menehune Shores to your Saves list
Menehune Shores
760 South Kihei Road, PO Box 1327, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Upper Brookville, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good stay at #304”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights at the end of March. The price was affordable and we were comfortable in the 2 bed/ 2 bath with 4 adults and 2 kids (ages 6 & 8) The condo was clean, had lots of towels,dishes, beach toys, boogie boards, etc. Other than tile floors, there are no real upgrades, but everything was in good working order and well kept. It wasn't luxury, but a nice, affordable middle of the road condo. We had a a good ocean view, but it was not a direct view. You mostly overlook the shuffleboard courts and park next door, but can see the ocean from the railing. The pool was nice and the kids used it quite a few times. The ocean was good, but a little rocky in places. The location was very convenient for short drives to snorkeling trips, the Road to Hana and other attractions. It didn't feel as touristy as Kanapali and prices in general seemed more affordable as a result. Overall, we had a very nice stay at Menehune Shores and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
51
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Our desire was to have an oceanfront property so the kids could easily access the beach without loading up the car with beach gear. Eg chairs, towels. However, we read in Maui Revealed that the ocean in this area was not really suitable for swimming because the water is "nasty" as it drains from a discharge ditch. They also mention the presence of seaweed which we found not to be the case. However, walking along the shoreline we noticed that the water was brown in certain spots so we elected to not swim in this section in spite of the fact owners of condos in this area claim it is fine.

However, the view is lovely and our condo was renovated and well equipped with beach chairs, towels, and kitchen utensils. The elevators are very slow and to access the stairwell you needed a key so that was very inconvenient. We did not use the pool area because it was small and not too inviting for teenagers.

As for the location, next time I would have preferred to be more south by Wailea or Kamaole Beach where there was more action and shops for the kids.

In summary I would not return to the Menehune Shores. The building is "tired", the location is not ideal and the beach is not swimable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just returned from a week at this complex. The 2 bdrm/2 bath unit we stayed in was on the fourth floor and was excellent. Had everything we could need for a comfortable stay. The only downside was that it is next to the busy S. Kihei Rd so there was a fair amount of traffic noise all night with windows open. This was our first trip to Maui and we would book at this complex again. Central to all the beaches around. Had a good view of the ocean from the balcony. You can barbeque on the roof where there are picnic tables, or on the water side of the property. Everyone was friendly that we met. One note: You are only allowed to park one vehicle per unit in the parking lot. If you have 2 cars, as we did, one has to be parked a block away on a side street. We found that out after arrival, tho we asked before we booked. A lot of people were doing just that so not too bad.
All in all, a great experience here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This unit is fully equipt with every thing you need. We were Grandpa and grandma, mom and dad, and teennage grandchildren. All of us had a good time. We, the grandpa and grandma have been to Maui several times and this is the best equipt unit we have had yet. We can make it back to 126 again next year.JNJIowa

Room Tip: This year we stayed in unit 126. Last year we stayed in 114. This unit was a 3 Bedroom unit and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Steve and I have stayed at Menehune Shores on three occasions and will continue to return. Gale's condo (416) is beautifully appointed, very clean and the most spectacular view. We love the full width mirror on one end of the lanai - you can see the panoramic view no matter where you sit and it's a great place to do my hair etc. so you do not miss a minute of this amazing view. Gayle has contacted us after our visits to ensure all went well and ask for input on anything that needs attending to. This is excellent property management and several notches above other places we have stayed. Our Nov. meeting was at the Grand Wailea and as beautiful as it was, we were most anxious to go back to our paradise home-away-from-home and enjoy another week at Gayle's. The condo has a well stocked kitchen, great cds and also has boogie boards. There is excellent snorkeling (at and near the property) and shopping close by. We're looking forward to staying at some of her other properties on the islands in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Rented a condo for a week from Menehune Shores. Our room was perfect 2 bed 2 bath. We were able to have hot meals and grill outdoors on the rooftop. Yes we will go back. 3rd floor right off the beach, nice snorkeling close by and the room even had snorkel gear and boogie boards, saving us from renting

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We first stayed at Menehuene Shores back in 2004 and have been back every year since.One year we stayed 2 times!
Sam was the guy we all ways rented from he did a great job in getting us the dates we wanted .
When Sam passed( we miss Sam) KH took over and now he is doing a good job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menehune Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menehune Shores

Address: 760 South Kihei Road, PO Box 1327, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Menehune Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menehune Shores Hotel Kihei
Menehune Shores Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menehune Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.