We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, cleanliness, amenities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Location, cleanliness, amenities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My family and I enjoyed our superior double room. It was very clean, spacious and well equipped (mini fridge and sink). The hotel amenities such as the gym, swimming pool and bar area were great. Parking is convenient and the location along Kihei road is super convenient. Access to the highway is good from the hotel as well. Only complaint is the service at the pool bar area...it's quite slow and the staff is not attentive. Nonetheless, would return here if staying in Kihei again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha annalisajb!

Thank you for your time in writing us a nice review! Also thank you for letting us know about your experience at the poolside bar. I have already shared this review with the restaurant manager in hopes to improve upon their service to our guests. Nonetheless, I am glad you found your accommodations and amenities suitable to your needs. We hope to welcome you back to Kihei in the near future!

Mahalo nui loa,

Voltaire Marave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    508
    92
    28
    10
See reviews for
260
729
43
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We chose this hotel as it is central to the beaches, restaurants and convenient stores. The hotel staff was great, the room was a bit dated, but very clean. The gym was spacious with more than enough equipment and the restaurant below had FANTASTIC breakfast (and service). The pool was a great spot to spend the afternoons as the winds kicked up on the beaches around noon. Service was non-existent at the pool during the day though...it was difficult to get a drink until the late afternoon when more servers started. We did suffer through 2 fire alarms within 4 days, but we understand this was out of the hotel's control...just extremely annoying. Overall, a great experience at a great hotel with all the amenities you could ask for. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Maui. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha Suzanne S,

Thank you for your time in writing a nice review on our hotel! Also, we are very sorry that you experienced a couple of unexpected wake-up calls! Thank you for your understanding and patience during that very "strange" week. I am glad you liked our gym! It is one of the biggest hotel gyms I've ever seen. Regarding your comments about the poolside service, please feel confident that I will be collaborating with the management team over there. At any rate, I sure you come stay with us again so we can able to show you our true colors!

Mahalo nui loa,

Voltaire Marave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

As a solo female traveller staying in Maui, I was concerned about the pure expensiveness of the island, and the masses of honeymooners. The Maui Coast Hotel was perfect: it was neither overly expensive (if you can find any Maui hotel you wouldn't call expensive, congratulations!), nor filled with honeymooners.
My ground floor room was spacious and modern, and I found all the amenities were in good order.
The staff at front desk always said aloha when I left or returned, and were happy to keep hold of my suitcase after I checked out while I continued exploring for the day. The hotel restaurant and bar were great, and the poolside service an added extra.
Across the road was the beach which was pleasantly uncrowded, and close by was the bus stop (although unreliable, still useful!) and shops and other restaurants were a short walk south.
Overall: fantastic price for a great service, and I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha chloejade17!

Thank you for such an amazing review of our hotel! It is truly a pleasure to know that you found your ground floor room to your satisfaction. We do take pride in providing our guests the right product and the right service to enhance your experience while you are here in Kihei! Thank you also for mentioning our Front Desk team! They truly share the spirit of Aloha day in and day out. We sure hope you can stay with us again soon!

Mahalo,

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We decided to stay at the Maui Coast Hotel because friends were staying there. Our junior suite was large, clean and fully equipped. Right across from beach 1 and a short walk from great restaurants and bars. The pool and poolside bar had a great vibe and were a great place to hang out and relax. We spent the mornings snorkelling at nearby beaches and the afternoons at the pool. Staff were very friendly and always helpful. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Khayman!

Thank you for the nice and quick review on your stay with us back in May! I'm glad you found our junior suite to your satisfaction! It sounded like you had a fun time exploring nearby beaches and snorkeling. We can't wait to welcome you back next year!

Mahalo nui loa,

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. There is an additional reasonable cost for amenities but worth it. There were bikes available for 3 hrs at time, tennis courts that were open all day, and a shuttle van available to take you within a 3 mile radius, and a pool with two small hot tubs that always had chairs available poolside. All that and a beautiful beach directly across the street. The only downside was that the poolside staff did not come around to ask for drink orders. They mostly stayed by the bar and talked to each other, so we had to keep going to the bar for drinks. Otherwise, we had a great vacation and enjoyed the amenities. It was a very small and quiet hotel for the most part and not a big party place.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor and floors seemed equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Carmen D!

I am happy to see that you had a great time with us earlier this month! The shuttle service and free bike rentals are a hit for us! And we are happy to be able to offer these to you every day! In regards to your experience at the pool bar, I have already shared and addressed this with the management team for our restaurant and bar services. Please feel confident they are doing something about this. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Without this, we can never continue to improve our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo nui loa,

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

 My wife and I stayed at the Maui Coast for part of our honeymoon and had a great time.
 
We found the rooms to be very comfortable and great value for money. 
 
All staff were friendly and the facilities were more than adequate. It really helped to make our honeymoon incredibly enjoyable and we hope to come back in the future.
 

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Andrew M!

Thank you for stopping by and writing a nice and sweet note for us! And thank you for spending your honeymoon with us! We definitely practice the spirit of Aloha in everything we do! I am glad you found your accommodations comfortable and our service was to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on the many anniversaries to come!

Mahalo nui loa,

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very comfortable, clean, friendly, great location hotel. I picked it out by the reviews & we are not disappointed. Our junior suite with King bed is huge. The bathroom is huge with the biggest bathtub I've ever seen in a hotel. Close to lots of restaurants & shops. Beach is across the street.
Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Maui.

Room Tip: Junior Suite gives you lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Aloha Patricia J from Kapaa!

Thank you for the nice review! And thank you again for staying with us! I am glad you found our Junior King Suite to your satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Mahalo!

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.