We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon in October 2012. Lovely hotel and great location right by the beach. Gave us an upgrade to a suite for it being our honeymoon. Used the shuttle service to Wailea. Hope to go back in a couple of years time and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Aloha JamesBecks!

Mahalo for staying with us during your honeymoon back in October! I am thrilled to hear that our Front Services Team upgraded you guys to one of our one-bedroom suites! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maui Coast Hotel! Hopefully sooner than 2 years =)

Cheers,

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    480
    87
    28
    10
See reviews for
245
676
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We got a one bedroom suite on the 5th floor. The room was clean with all the facilities we need. The bed is super comfortable. Close to the beach and the shops. Very friendly staff. The beach towel is handy. It even has a laundry for you to put a load on. However, the shuttle bus this hotel provided doesn't go very far. Not even goes to the airport. You will still need to rent a car.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Aloha Maggie Z!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We strive to provide exceptional service and resort amenities for our guests. Glad to also hear you loved our beds! Please think of our hotel on your next visit to beautiful island of Maui! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went for a family vacation with a group of friend. The location is perfect. You can drive to almost anywhere within few hours. The hotel staff is friendly and always ready to help. There is a beach within walking distance. We totally enjoy our stay there. The bed is so nice to sleep and the environment is good. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Ask for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Aloha Chuankiat!

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel! Being centrally located makes it so convenient to walk to the local shopping and great dining options here on Kihei. It's great to hear that our Front Services Team definitely shared the Aloha Spirit with you. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Mahalo,
Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I called several months ahead of my wedding to book a wedding block. Long story short what they said we could do to add more rooms to our block (we understood it would be at the same rate) was not the case when we wanted to add more rooms about 3 months later. Turns out between the first call and the later calls there had been a policy change. The staff would not honor the terms at the time of the first calls. It was incredibly frustrating, even management would not budge. since we had 10 rooms booked we weren't going to make our guests leave, but otherwise we would have because the new rates were near what we could have paid for a much nicer hotel several months earlier had we gone with another hotel.

Also, the reservation confirmations are really generic and don't tell the terms as discussed. You should be sure to confirm in your own response email so there's no mistake later (which there were for us a couple of times).

Otherwise, once there, the hotel location was great, the hotel staff was SO friendly, the hotel was clean, the poolside cafe was great. If you're looking for a great view from your room, this isn't the hotel though (it's fine but nothing crazy).

If we had not been so frustrated by the group booking process we would certainly go back, but likely won't want to deal with them again. The extra time and effort spent with them during the destination wedding planning process was far from stress free, and it was really eye-opening how a business was so unwilling to accommodate very reasonable requests for a guest booking 10+ rooms, and how inflexible they were with changing rules that seem totally unreasonable (in our case new rules that didn't exist at our first group booking).

Room Tip: best room is probably a 1 bedroom suite with limited ocean and mountain views (i.e. you see those ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Aloha carochacha,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination of choice for your wedding block. I am glad you that found that our hotel was clean and our team was friendly. While we strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, I was disappointed to hear about your experience in making the reservations for your group block. I feel and understand your frustrations. I have already shared your comments with our reservations team. We are taking this opportunity to learn and grow from this. We hope you can give us the opportunity in welcoming your back to our hotel! If you would like to discuss this more in detail, please feel free to e-mail me. vmarave@mauicoasthotel.com.

Mahalo and take care!

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I've stayed at the Maui Coast at least a dozen times .. and have always enjoyed the service and happy Staff ... a great central Kihei location.. easy access to the highway ..and great for business trips or just pleasure .. I've done both a few times,

Room Tip: Request a top floor room ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voltaire M, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Aloha jmichael970!

Thank you for the wonderful comment about our hotel and team! It is always great to see a familiar face return to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for next dozen or so times! =)

Mahalo,

Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

All was as written in reviews I read, with the unresponsive front desk girl the unfortunate lowlight. Despite reasoned requests for another room, she was inflexible and recalcitrant. Without a seriously discounted rate I would have walked out. Despite my high ratings I will not return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCoastManager, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Aloha Beberle2002,

Thank you again for staying at our hotel and for spending the time to share your experience with us. I sincerely apologize our service was not to your satisfaction. While this doesn't change your experience, I hope you can feel confident that I will be sharing this comment with our Front Services Team. Again thank you for your feedback. Without knowing our guest's experience, good or bad, we cannot continue to improve our services.

We hope you can give us another chance to show you our true colors!

Mahalo and Take Care,

Voltaire Marave
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was the first hotel I've stayed at on Maui, as I usually rent a condo, but this works better for a short trip. I was pleasantly surprised! The rooms and common areas are very nice and new. The room was plenty big and the lanai was nice. The bathroom is pretty small, but works fine. It doesn't seem like they have AC in the halls or elevators. Also, I did not care for the front desk staff. I tried to check in early (before 3) and they said no rooms were ready but they would call me when one became available. Well, I never received a call and went back to the hotel in person. From listening to others checking in, they don't allow anyone to check in before 3 p.m. except if you're in a suite. I wish they would have just said that instead of lying about no rooms being ready. Thankfully the manager handled it well. They also denied a late checkout request, which most hotels accomodate. The hotel has some nice amenities: pool, two hot tubs, fitness center, restaurant and pool bar with live music and happy hour. Location is good. There is a beach right across the street or you can easily drive South to the many beaches in Wailea. Be sure to check the discount travel sites for a deal. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCoastManager, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Aloha canbypdx!

Thank you for the thorough review on our hotel and your experience here! I am very happy you enjoyed the wonderful amenities at our property! I apologize that we fell short in terms of service at the Front Desk regarding your arrival and departure experience. I meet with my Front Services Team on a regular basis and your post will be an item of discussion. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel!

Mahalo,

Voltaire Marave
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.