We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Back from 7 nights in Maui.

Hotel was a good choice. Clean and comfy, nice rooms. Bed was super dooper comfy. Kihei is perfect central location to stay on Maui if you have never been. It's a very big island so you can spend hours in the car driving places with the distance and traffic. Fun to visit Lahaina and Kaanapali for a day, but staying over there is so isolated. Kihei is good because you are right at the beaches you can actually use, and walk around to see local stuff.

I realize most resorts always charge a resort fee...it is what it is. $17 a night isnt bad for what you get. Parking, beach towels, bicycles which was cool but never used them. They have an excellent exercise facility there. Room rates were very good, at least this time of year. Had the one bedroom suite for $141 a night...can't beat that price for the space.

Only complaint really about the hotel was the Wifi....it pretty much sucks and never fully works. Could only get it to connect in one odd corner of the suite....and even then it would come and go an only work more at night. They really need to get their own dedicated server and not general ATT Wifi program. No wired internet in the room so you can't really use a laptop unless you have your own hotspot. Elevators were slow too, but no big deal.

Restaurant at the hotel was decent. Only ate their once for dinner...was average. Plenty of places around the town to get food, or of course you can go to dinner anywhere on the island.

Next time I come to Maui I would most likely stay here for the location and price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    508
    92
    28
    10
See reviews for
260
729
43
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We really liked this hotel. Pool was relaxing and the location was great (easy access to beaches). Very annoyed by the mandatory resort fee the hotel charges on top of the nightly rate for services you likely will not use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our introduction to Hawaii, and we were impressed. The staff were lovely in welcoming us and taking our bags up to the room. The room was massive, we had the 1 bedroom suite with a balcony and a separate living room. We even received a welcome pack of chocolates, which was a surprising touch. After 2 flights and 15 hours, the bed was so inviting and very very comfy. The hotel is located right opposite the beach, and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Nice pool area with a pool bar and restaurant which provides some live music. The hotel also provides parking, has gym facilities and wifi. Also something which we found useful was the information desk which provided information on guides and attractions and even make a booking on tours for you.
Great service, great facilities and great location will be sure to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNIONTOWN, OH
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel. The first trip was vacation and the 2nd trip was business. The hotel is located across the street from the beach and within walking distance of multiple restaurants and shops. The corporate rate that I booked included the resort fee so it was a great deal. Because this was a work trip I didn't get to enjoy the pool or take advantage of the bikes. I was given a room on the first floor which was ok, but I would have preferred a room on a higher floor. The room did have a very small patio. The bed was comfortable and the room had a frig. which made it convenient for the purchase of drinks. We did not eat at the restauant on property. I would recommend renting a small car - the hotel parking lot is always very full and the spaces appeared to be smaller than normal.

Room Tip: I would request a room on a higher floor. Suites are available at a higher rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is located right across the street from the beach and state park. Their is shopping, food and a grocery store all within walking distance. It has a very nice pool with 2 restaurants to choose from, one of them poolside. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Very enjoyable stay, and have stayed more than once. Some rooms have partial Ocean views, and balconies. be sure to ask.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, or a suite with a balcony. It is Worth the extra cost. The 1 bed suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful lobby, comfortable bed, cozy pool area and bar/cafe by the pool. Had music from 6 to 9 by the pool. Edwin and all of the front desk staff were amazingly welcoming. We felt the value for the hotel, especially compared to other Maui hotels was excellent. Very clean. There is an $18/day resort fee which includes pool/fitness center, wifi and parking. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I came to Maui with my girlfriend in August and we stayed for 3 days and 4 nights here in Maui before continuing our trip in Kauai and had a phenomenal time! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful for finding guided tours and memorable events we could attend. The restaurant attached at the Pool was GREAT! Definitely try out their "Loco Moco" as it was hearty and so flavorful! My new favorite! Directly across the street from the beach and a 10 minute drive from the airport and car rentals! The only major drawback was that I planned our trip for what I believed would be the Off-peak season and this place was so popular parking near the exit closest to our room was a crap shoot! This place is well worth the agreeable price and for the location, convenience, and comfort I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.