We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and relaxing stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great and relaxing stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Known as a business hotel, I was curious about this place. I was happy to find that it has a wonderful atmosphere and comfortable amenities. My family enjoyed the junior suite with two queen beds, a wet bar with micro and refrigerator. We also requested a crib for my two year old son. The beds are comfortable, although they seem small like doubles. The bathroom is roomy and I love their DEEP tub, great for soaking. My kids loved the pool, they have a one foot wading pool and a hot tub side. The water was very warm and comfortable, the pool was no deeper than five feet.

We received two bottles of water daily and a local newspaper, which was nice. The TV has many channels all in HD! The location is central in Kihei, close to many eateries and shops. Try Shakas Pizza, great cheesesteaks and New York style pizza.

Loved the stay...will be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    490
    87
    28
    10
See reviews for
251
693
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was gladly surprised by this hotel: their installations are gorgeous, the location is excellent, very comfortable and nice staff. The most surprising was the price we got this deal. It is a gem and if you are on a budget while in Maui, you should definitely check-in there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Reasonably priced for a Maui hotel. Not beachfront but it has a great swimming pool and is very family friendly. Helpful staff, and like much of Maui it's very Canada-friendly (you'll run into Canadians constantly while in Maui). Not a big fan of Maui, since it is nowhere as interesting a place as Oahu and frankly you can be in in Maui for weeks and never realize that there should be more Native Hawaiians somewhere, and so if you don't feel that something is amiss you probably should know more about the colonization of the Hawaiian islands and realize that the lack of any Native Hawaiians in places like Kihei and Wailea is a horrible example of the displacement of Native Hawaiians and the exploitation of their land and resources. But if you're there for vacation and want to just enjoy the beach and sunsets, this probably won't be a problem for you, but it's probably something you should keep in mind...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

By far the most friendly staff I have encountered in a long time!!!!! From front desk to housekeeping to activity desk and everyone in between they were all super friendly, helpful and made my stay terrific!!!! It was clean, very clean!!! Nice room, near lots of great stuff close to the beach!!!! I would stay there again and again and again!!!!! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews by other trip advisor travelers and were not disappointed. This hotel is across the street from the beach and offers spacious updated rooms with complimentary tennis, bicycles, laundry self service, parking and wireless internet. We rented beach chairs from the gift shop for $3.50 a day and they were nice Panama Jack chairs with backpack straps and a small attached cooler compartment. Also, front desk supplies complimentary beach and pool towels. Pool was nice and well-kept and never crowded. Great location near many choices of restaurants and shopping. Walking distance to ABC store and lots of choices for food. The hotel also is the choice for many airlines' flight crews. We had a junior suite with 2 queen beds. Beds were very comfy and bathroom large with all the amenities. There was a small kitchen counter with mini fridge, sink and coffeemaker. Room also had small safe and iron and ironing board. I would stay here again in a minute and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thanks to everyone here for such helpful reviews - this is how we chose this property which was perfect for our family. "Nice, upscale" but not ostentatious. We felt it provided excellent value (especially with the "4th night free" discount on room rate - but not resort fee) on an island where prices can be quite high. Good location - no, not ON the beach, but so very close to several wonderful beaches. Bike loan program was fun (included in resort fee, from sunrise to sunset; helmets available). Spacious rooms, some with decent (mostly "Partial") views of the ocean from balcony. We thought our room on the 5th floor south side (facing another property, not the parking lot, approximately mid-way) was a nice location. Room clean, nice to have fridge and microwave for meals in the room. Laundry use included in resort fee - very handy. While I usually don't like the idea of a resort fee added, at least this was clearly stated and the included items were of value to us. Pool small, but cute, not crowded when we were there. Just ask for pool towels at the front desk when you need them. Julie at front desk was noticeably helpful and pleasant, but all staff members were friendly, professional. Concierge and bell hop available (luggage carts with bell staff only). Most parking spots were quite small - might want to decline any upgrades to a monster SUV at the rental car counter. Parking spots facing the hotel seemed a little bigger. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi in Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We found hotels on Maui quite expensive so ended up going for the Maui Coast resort as it had been recently refurbished, had laundry facilities, across the road from a good beach and at a good price. We booked a junior suite with garden view but on our early arrival they up graded us to a one bedroom suite on the fourth floor, so we have to thank Edwin for that.

The room was excellent, huge, quiet and recently refurbished just as the pictures showed. It had a huge bathroom too. The only small criticism would be the small balcony couldn't really be used because of there was a huge air con vent blowing directly up at it.

The pool was great and so was the surrounding area and bar/restaurant was nice and pretty good value. A nice retreat in the afternoon when the winds on the beach got up. The happy hour was excellent value. Breakfast at the pool restaurant was pretty good too.

We went to the beach across the road which was pretty good but we also had a car so we could go
to a new beach every day. Kihei is a pretty good area with Wailea down the road and a decent town of it's own.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor, there are some big air con / chiller units which are very noisy. Upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.