We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located; met our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well located; met our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

For Canadians - this Coast is no longer part of the Coast chain effective April 1st (hence you can't collect Coast points).

Hotel is well located, only a 5 or so minute walk from convenience shops, gas, restaurants and other necessities. It is right across the road from Kamaole Beach I.

We had a standard king room for 5 days. Main part of room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Entryway with closet, small frig and bathroom are very small and even for two people, it was hard to move around in. Our room had a fan and AC, plus little deck to sit on. Generally seems to attract a mixed but quiet crowd.

Poolside restaurant had okay food and good service. Pool area was nice. Comp beach towels (good ones) daily. Comp bikes.

Not a criticism but two things to note: safe in closet opens backwards so is awkward to access (you basically have to step into the closet); bathroom amenities (soap, shampoo, etc.) are very fragrant and not in a good way (at least to me - too much lily or something).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    508
    92
    28
    10
See reviews for
260
729
44
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were able to get back to the Maui Coast Hotel in December'12/January'13. Things are just as good but there are a few changes one might want to note:
1. There were 2 tennis courts: one is now covered with solar panels, as is an expansive area of the lobby roof. While I applaud the hotel's decision to become relatively energy independent, one court is gone.
2. In April we were notified that the hotel is NO LONGER a part of the "Coast Hotel" chain. That means if you earned chain reward points and haven't used them, the hotel won't honor them. Instead, they announced they would have some kind of arrangement with Hawai'ian Airlines and Alaska Airlines. You'll need to check into that but for those of us east of the continental divide, we rely primarily on United and Delta and no plans were announced to have any awards relationship with either airline. We were lucky that we had points for our most recent stay; that saved about $1000. As a result while we still consider the hotel to be a great choice, and they do have other packages (room/car), we may have to rethink our length of stay on future visits unless room rates are adjusted accordingly to offset the loss of the "points" program.
3. When we left, "Spices" had closed down and the hotel said it was renting the restaurant to "Café O'Lei", which is a well thought of restaurant just down the road, which was in the process of remodeling the space. The restaurant did take over the pool concession while we were there, and the product was distinctively better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been to Maui 3 times in the passed 3 years, for business and we always stay 3 days prier to our event at another hotel, we try something deferent every year and deferent part of the island. Maui Coast is across from the beach, but you can hear the waves, the hotel is clean and very nicely manicured, what we look for in any hotel, is that the rooms need to look and feel very clean, and Maui Coast had that, loved it and defiantly would stay there again, no questions asked, we even had a refrigerator and microwave, for the times we wanted to munch on something, the restaurant was very nice, I love all the greenery that is everywhere, makes it so private. The staff got us a room 3 hours before we were to be able to check in, no issues. My husband enjoyed the bed, compared to the one at the Ritz, it was like sleeping on a cloud, it was great

Room Tip: Large balcony, plenty of sun, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Maui and we made sure we went back to the Maui Coast Hotel....Clean, quiet, great location!! Just across the street from the beach! The only drawback is that you do not face the beach/ocean....But...it is quiet...the food is good, and the rooms are very very, nice. There is a pool if you don't want to swim in the ocean, and you can walk or take a short drive to lots of restaurants and stores.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is above the main floor so that you see more than just the shrubs planted next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We vacation here every year for the last 8 years and every year it just gets better. The rooms/grounds are very very clean and modern, the entire staff is AMAZING and very accommodating. The beach is right across the street and super conveniently located to amazing local restaurants and the ABC store. The pool and hot tubs are super clean (we watch them clean every night) with plenty of pool loungers. The poolside restaurant/bar has great food for great prices along with nightly live entertainment. They just went solar powered which is a plus in my book. We highly recommend the Maui Coast Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great hotel, very cozy, clean and elegant.
Service is excellent. Staff very nice. Free Wi-fi, towels for the pool, washer/dryer. Shops and restaurants at walking distance. Very quiet at night, you can get a really good night sleep!
We definitely recommend the Hotel and will stay there again when we go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After looking at hotels on Trip Advisor, we chose this hotel because of the price and good reviews. We were extremely impressed with the value we got for the price we paid. This hotel is in an excellent neighborhood with everything conveniently located close by. The hotel grounds were immaculate with beautiful flowers and well maintained landscape. We even saw someone polishing the sign out front!!! There were plenty of lights, so you could easily find your way back at night. The hotel check in staff were extremely friendly, and even let us borrow a luggage scale to check our bags to make sure they weren't too heavy on the way back to the airport. We booked a junior suite and the room was just perfect. There was a sofa, chair, king size bed, dresser, in room safe, mini fridge, microwave, and anything we could have needed. The bathroom had a gorgeous lighted mirror and beautiful countertops. Everything was in great condition. You have to pay a $17.50 per day resort fee, but we did actually use some of the items that were included in this fee such as computers in the lobby, daily newspapers, and they give you giant beach towels to use everyday. The beach is right across the street and it's about a 4 minute walk to beach access. Everyone we came across in the hotel (reception desk, maids, groundspeople, etc) were nothing but friendly. There is a pool area with a bar that has free music nightly. I can't say enough good things about this hotel and we were VERY happy with it and would definitely recommend to anyone and would stay there again in a heartbeat! We did a lot of driving around and this hotel really stood out compared to anything else we saw. Great stay for the price and there's not one bad thing I could say about it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.