We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vegreville Alberta
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and never at any time did we find anything to complain about. The hotel is very inviting, clean, comfortable bed, very friendly and accommodating staff. The view from the room wasn't that great but we never really needed to sit on the balcony as we were out most of the time. When we did sit on the balcony we enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere, the singing of the birds and the smells of the surroundings. We had a junior suite which was very nice, a table, two chairs, couch, microwave, mini fridge, sink, wall mounted T.V. The bathroom was very clean and had all the necessary amenities. The location was excellent for us as it had a very nice beach across the street, a place to rent ocean equipment (lawn chairs, snorkel stuff etc.) just 2 small blocks away near the very convenient ABC grocery store which has everything from soup to nuts. There are many restaurants within walking distance with many different food offerings. You could also use bikes which were available to guests staying at the hotel. The hotel had a nice a pool with a pol side restaurant. There was also a variety of nightly entertainment as well We would recommend this place to anyone as we will stay here again when we visit Maui.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    548
    99
    28
    13
See reviews for
294
793
49
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stay here a lot due to the central location and all of the extras the Maui Coast has to offer. The rooms have complimentary wifi, super comfy beds, and are always spic 'n span. The pool area also has some wifi in areas closest to the lobby, great food and drinks and friendly staff. The hotel has more than a dozen bicycles, some with baskets, and a complimentary shuttle. The gift shop has really reasonable prices and stocks travel sizes toiletries, island clothing, jewelry, and even cold spirits!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I booked this as part of an airline vacation package and chose the Maui Coast Hotel from the reviews on Trip Advisor. The staff was so helpful and friendly. We booked a junior suite and it was a good size and very clean and comfortable. The hotel has bikes you can use and a tennis court. It also uses solar energy.

Our room was on the fourth floor on the north side and overlooked the parking lot. I was a bit disappointed about the view. As a result we did not sit on our balcony much. A room on the fifth or higher floors on the south side would be better. When we arrived it appeared that we likely had one of the last junior suites available. We asked to move later in our stay if something became available but the hotel was very busy. That was fine. While it was busy it did not feel too busy which was a good thing. The management of people was excellent and the staff fantastic. We could hear the hum of the airconditioning at times but it was not a problem.

I liked this hotel. We ate at the hotel pool cafe for breakfast and lunch a few times. The pool was small but appeared popular and was nice and quiet. It would be good for after noon when the beach tended to get windy. The cafe was good. Nothing fancy. The hotel restaurant was not open and appears to be empty or under construction.

The fitness facilities are very nice and quite extensive.

The location of this hotel was my favourite part. You are just across the street from Charlie Young Beach and Kamaole Beach I. There are so many restaurants and snorkel/board rental places right down the street. The ABC just a block down was so convenient (as was the gelato shop we also frequented)! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the fifth or higher floor facing south (close to the 500, 600, odd numbers face sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel....great staff, and a remarkably clean hotel. I have visited many times, and have never had cause to complain about anything! You will certainly enjoy your stay...a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

For our first visit to Hawaii, the Maui Coast was highly recommended to us by our very good friends. They have travelled to Maui for their winter holiday for many years, and now always return to the Maui Coast. And they were right, as both the hotel and location were perfect for us. The hotel is very well maintained, by friendly and accomodating staff. The room was very nicely decorated and clean, with such a comfortable bed. We really enjoyed the balcony, ...sitting outside for morning coffee, for reading and also in the evenings. We strolled along the beaches each morning, as the Maui Coast is right across the street from the sand! We brunched at various nearby locations, but did have breakfast once at the poolside cafe. The Maui Coast is very well located, near beaches, shopping and restaurants. Spent the afternoons lounging pool-side. Friendly staff issue fluffly towels, and well-wishes for you to enjoy your afternoon at the pool. Sipping tropical drinks, by the pool in the sunshine, yum....oh,...could use improvement in this area, as service was intermitent. If you are staying for an extended period, there are laundry rooms provided for guest use. We so enjoyed our stay, ...and would love to return to the Maui Coast. We felt pampered and appreciated. We recommend the Maui Coast for a great stay in Kehei.

Room Tip: Book rooms on the south side, higher floors, to be able to watch the sunrise and sunset from your ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to Maui and 3rd stay at the Maui Coast (Jan 28-Feb 7). Nothing has changed as the service and staff were just as helpful as our previous 2 visits, which is why we would stay there again without hesitation. They all make you feel so welcome and accommodate any request at the drop of a hat.

This time we did less driving around Kihei as there is so much within walking distance for restaurants, shopping and beaches. So well located.

Each time we go we get more familiar with where everything is, making for easy manovering around Maui-hardly need the GPS any more.

We did take a drive to Big beach and Makena Beach/state park up through Wailea, and on our return I commented that I much prefer this location as the beaches are just as nice right across the street, and you are not so far removed from everything. As well it probably a lot cheaper from what we saw for accommodations up there!

Keep up the great work Maui coast, we love you hospitality, comfy beds, and location. It can't be beat!

Room Tip: floors 2 4 and 6 have washer and dryers. Nice for the longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights and liked this hotel a lot. Our room was decorated nicely enough, quiet, clean and well-kept. We tried out the pool bar twice for drinks but found the service was a little weak or lacking motivation. There are a number of shopping facilities, bars and restaurants in walking distance (between 5 and 15 minutes). The beach strips in that area are small and beautiful nonetheless. In sum, the hotel turned out to be a nice headquarter for our stay in Maui. It is a more than a decent choice for Kihei and we would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.