We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kihei cutie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Kihei cutie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, & quiet. Not a wailea resort but not the price tag either. Central to everything. Good food, excellent staff. Lots of free guest parking. Pool on site & beach across the street. Would highly recommend if coming to Maui . Weather better than the rest of island.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    565
    103
    29
    15
See reviews for
310
821
51
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fraser, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Maui Coast Hotel is perfectly located in Kihei. The hotel staff great you with a friendly, professional aloha and are so great!!!! The hotel itself has much to offer, exercise room, pool and hot tub, computers/internet. Rooms are clean and quiet, beds are heavenly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place will not be confused with any of the posh resorts in Wailea, but it certainly doesn't come with the pricetag either. This is a solid 3.5 or 4 star hotel with a nice staff and very good location. There is a beach that is just a 3 minute walk away, and also several restaurants and (most importantly) an ABC store all within a 5-10 minute walk. There is no charge for parking here, and the hotel is set back from the street so we didn't hear any street noise. We did not take advantage of the shuttle as we rented a car, but I could it coming in handy if you wanted to go to the Wailea Luau and visit the open bar a few times.
So - make no mistake - if you are looking for the ultimate luxury experience and money is not a concern for you, this is probably not your place. If you want a nice place to stay and do not want to completely pay through the nose, this is a great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the 2nd time at this hotel in Maui. We love the area. It's away from the over populated hotel area where you have to weave your way through the crowd to walk on the beach. But yet you can walk to a restaurant. They have entertainment at night by the pool with the tiki torches lit.
I ran out of clothes and used the washing machines, nice set-up, cause the use comes with the hotel fee. They also have a line up of bikes to use. We found the hotel staff very freindly. Bed was loaded with pillows and super comphy. Across the street is the beach where everyone gathers for sunset. Nice way to end the day if you happen to find yourself there at that time.
We took a drink over in a plastic cup, and just sat in the sand bank people watching with the waves comming in.
We like to walk the beach and the one directly across is kinda cut up with patches of lava rock inbetween the beach areas. But we did find the best walking beach like 10 minutes away by car. It's in a Bird Santuray, you can see the boardwalk from Kihei Road going north, or south comming from the airport. If you can get to the boardwalk,there are breaks in the railing leading to the best walking beach ever. Very few people and you can walk for hours. We saw whales jumping there too in the distance. Binoculars would have come in handy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was a bit dissapointed with the first room we got, but the hotel stafft upgraded us promptly as we were on our honeymoon. They also did not charge us when we did not check out at the usual check out time (normally you pay 20 dollars for each pur you overstay). Very friendly and helpful staff indeed.
The room was good, with a big bathroom (guess it was a suite). It was also very clean.The only downside was that we had a view to the car park and it got a nit noisy in the morning and evening. The pool area is nice, with live music in the evenings and breakfast at the poolside bar is also good.
This hotel is definitely a good alternative to all the overpriced resorts in Wailea.
I think the best thing about this hotel is the staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Maui Coast. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and available. The local shuttle was a real plus in getting around without a car. There were many good restaurants within walking distance and within the shuttle area. The pool side restaurant had good breakfasts (we didn't try the lunches and dinners) and there was evening entertainment there as well. With laundry facilities, easy access to local shopping, free local shuttle, clean rooms, friendly staff, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in a junior suite and found it to be bright and was a good size. One of the hot tubs (spas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very friendly staff. Two hot tubs and nice pool. Close to beach. Nice bar with live music every night. Some interesting local talent. We have stayed there several times and always had a fun time. Many locals come for the drinks and music. Several TV's for watching sports is a nice bonus!

Room Tip: Central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.