We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable option for the non condo vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable option for the non condo vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

10 days at the coast maui and there are lots of great things to say about this hotel. Overall, the staff are friendly and helpful, they were responsive to questions via email before our arrival. We stayed in a suite room which had lots of space and was nice for the longer vacation. I'll comment on a few things below:

Room: spacious, clean, air conditioner was a bit loud so we quit using it at night, fridge didn't have any kind of temp measure on the dial so I managed to both freeze things and sour milk, room looked out onto parking lot (which we knew going in) and was about 1/2 a block to the ocean.

Amenities: Bikes are a nice touch, not in super shape, one got a flat and left us stranded in Wailea but the hotel came and picked us up, gym well equipped, towels and easily available, restaurant on site was fine but I resent the automatic 18% gratuity. I do not understand the purpose of the separate resort fee, just add it into my hotel price and I won't flinch but making people pay that at the end makes them cranky. I understand the need for the additional charge but I think it is just something to build into the price of that hotel.

Minor issues: hotel security in all of Maui is lax. There really isn't anything to keep people in/out. We didn't have any incidents, just an observation. The big air conditioner unit outside the rooms was very loud and the in room air conditioners were also too loud for me.

Overall: this is a great option for those who do not want to go the condo route. Accommodation that is "seamless" to me suggest that they are doing things right. Generally you want to stay somewhere that is pleasant and you leave with few complaints.

Room Tip: The south side has the sun (I'm sure the rooms would be hotter) but has a bit better view. The n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Size5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My partner and I are just back from a 5 nigh stay at the Maui Coast Hotel. The hotel is in excellent condition, in all respects. Spotlessly clean room, lobby and poolside facilities. We enjoyed a Junior King suite and found the room spacious and comfortable. The wall mounted air conditioning unit was a bit loud and made sleeping difficult the first night. We had a better night by keeping the balcony door ajar and running the ceiling fan which was just perfect. We also found the 7th floor hallway and elevators very warm and stuffy.

All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, kind and had a great spirit of Aloha!

Looking forward to a return visit next year.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms on the west side have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVRLHR854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Maui Coast for five nights and saved so much money compared to some friends staying in Wailea, just five minutes away. The Maui Coast was so accomodating and even sent a bottle of champagne to our room because it was our anniversary. The room was spacious and clean (i'm pretty picky about hotel bathrooms & cleanliness, this was great!) We loved sitting on the balcony every morning and watching the sun set. We used the available bikes, the jacuzzi and although we didn't use the fitness center, it was one of the best I've seen at a hotel. All of the staff were SO nice, especially Shawn at the Poolside Cafe. If we return to Maui, there is no question that we would stay here again!

Room Tip: As mentioned by another reviewer, the odd numbered rooms on the seventh floor were pretty awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Maui Coast Hotel for two nights after arriving on Maui for the start of our vacation. Our room was a King Suite with the bedroom being separate. The frontroom came in handy due to the fact that my husband gets up earlier than I do and could watch TV without waking me. The bathroom had a soaker jetted tub for relaxing in also. Everything in the room was clean and looked like new decor. We went to an Expedia orientation, in the lobby, to find out about the activities that are offered on the Island. It was very informative and no pressure to buy anything. The hotel is within walking distance to alot of resturants, grocery store and the beach is across the street. They have a nice pool and resturant on property. There is a Dollar Car Rental desk on site also. The front desk employees are most accommadating. We would definetly stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Suite for the extra uxlury and spaciousness. All rooms had A/C. It appears some hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and were very happy with the Hotel. We were upgraded to a One Bedroom Suite and it was clean and comfortable. We ate at the outdoor pool cafe and enjoyed our breakfast both days. The Macadamia Banana Pancakes are delicious and the half order of fruit was generous. I would go back just to eat the pancakes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhumbagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. Located close to great beaches, restaurants and shopping. They provide transportation within three miles each direction of the hotel so you can get to most of the beaches and shopping. They provide bikes, tennis courts and a great pool that is well taken care of and sheltered for those windy days. The Expedia expert they have in the hotel lobby was also very helpful. It is only about a 30 min ride from the airport and a taxi costs around $40.00

Room Tip: we had a room on the 5th floor with a south facing balcony. I would recommend the south side so tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prof2012llb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchholz in der Nordheide, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed 7 nights from october 7th.
The reception staff was friendly and helpfull with all questions and inquiries. Items which were not replaced during daily room make up were handed out by the reception at once.
The room on 7th floor off on the southeast side was clean spacy and nicely decorated and quiet. All installations were working properly. The highlight was having breakfast on the lanai with a beautiful view on the ocean and the Haleakala.
The fitness center is a nice 5 minutes walk from the hotel building on the premises with equipment in good condition. Fresh water and towels were always available which one does't find everywhere. What should be improved definitelt is the airco - room was a little too warm.

Room Tip: 7 th floor, most southeastern room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niklas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,141 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#21 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing