We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Best service ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Just across the street from Kamaole Beach Park I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent - Best service ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would like to thank the Maui Coast Hotel for a fantastic stay in Kihei. I loved everything about the Hotel, especially the bed. OMG, fabulous sleep. The staff were exceptional could not ask for more. And a special thank you to Julie, Heather and Jack at the poolside bar you were fabulous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    605
    437
    85
    26
    8
See reviews for
213
611
33
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

While the hotel is not on the beach it is barely 100 yards away, very convenient. The rooms are of a decent size, clean and quiet (it is set off from the highway so traffic noise is non-existent). The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a charming poolside restaurant and bar for breakfast etc.

There is a resort fee but it was pretty reasonable and it included, gym, towels, internet, papers, ... . My wife and I avid exercisers (we are actually Body Pump instructors) and we were delighted with the gym. It is a large space in its own building, fully equipped with a wide range of high quality machines, dumbbells and barbells. The towels the hotel provided for us to take to the beach or pool were large and fluffy - a nice little luxury.

We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Maui Coast Hotel for a week in the second week of November and had a great experience staying there. All of the staff are very friendly and went out of their way to make sure your requests were met, with a smile on their faces the entire time. The pool area feels like a tropical oasis and they have a different live band that plays every evening from 6-9pm. Happy hour drinks from 3-6pm (try the tropical breeze, it's yummy!) The hotel is situated in a great part of Kihei! Lots of great restaurants within walking distance and the beach is right across the street. Like a 2 minute walk from our room to the beach! We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite on the 7th floor, over looking the ocean and it was amazing. The room was large, very clean and comfortable.

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Our experience staying at the Coast was exceptional. We have done a lot of traveling and have stayed in many different classes of hotel. This one was great! Thank you Maui Coast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Maui Coast for 6 nights in late Oct & didnt want to leave. We had a 1 bedroom suite (seperate bedroom & living area) on the 4th floor. Both rooms were extremely spacious & the king bed was very comfortable. We liked the fact that the bedroom had a ceiling fan as well as air-con so you can have the choice.
We did find that the air-con in the living area not as cooling as the one in the bedroom, but it wasnt an issue.
The bathroom was huge & very well appointed - they even provide cotton wool balls!
On check-in we found that 1 lamp was not working which we reported to the front desk, they initially replaced the globe but it kept shorting out so it was replaced the next day.
I read some reviews that the pool is small but we found the pool to be a good size. Perhaps in high season it may get crowded. There were 2 spa's as well, though I found the big spa to be far too hot.
One thing that really annoys me at hotels is people reserving lounges at the pool & the Maui Coast was no exception. I would see people putting their towels down early in the morning & not returning for several hours & on some occassions half a day. Often we went to the pool after breakfast & all the lounges were taken with barely any people actually occupying them. I find this behaviour very selfish!
The happy hour at the pool bar was very good - it is actually a happy 3 hours! Drinks for $3 - $4 - my fave was tropical breeze. We ate at the pool bar for 1 dinner & it was ok with reasonable prices. Each night they had a different musician playing & it was nice to listen to music while having a drink.
The staff at reception were always friendly & helpful. We were there during the tsunami scare & the hotel kept guests advised of the situation, luckily it ended up being a scare only.
The hotel is a good location & there are many places to eat & shop within walking distance.
There is a resort fee of $17.50 per night but we knew about this in advance, so it wasnt an issue. The fee covered parking, use of bikes, in-room safe, access to shuttle, 2- bottled water each day etc.
I would highly recommend a car in Maui so that you can get out & explore.
We booked 2 trips through the expedia desk - Road to Hana & a snorkelling trip to Molokini Crater with the Pacific Whale Foundation. The snorkelling trip was amazing - possibly the best I have ever experienced - lots of fish, sea turtles & spinner dolphins. The Road to Hana was good however the tour guide never stopped speaking the entire tour & had a fatuation with bathrooms....next time we would drive it ourselves - we just didnt know what to expect but in hindsight could have done it quite easily.
It was handy having a fridge in the room. We stocked up on cereal & milk, snacks & drinks at Foodlands. If you provide a 10 digit phone number, you can take advantage of the member prices.
We had a great meal at Oceans Beach Bar & Grill (about a 5 min drive away)- we went on a Tuesday & it was Taco Tuesday - $3.00 tacos & $2.50 Corona's,!! The taco's were yummo! We also shared fajita's which were delish. We tried the Thai at the small mall near the hotel (think it was called Maui Thai) & it was pretty average. The pad thai was nice, but the massaman curry was average to say the least.
There is a nice paved walk in Wailea along the cliff tops past exclusive houses & resorts. The views are fantastic & we could see many sea turtles from the cliffs.
We enjoyed Maui so much that we didnt want to go to Honolulu but couldnt cancel because of the high cancellation fees we would have incurred.
We are already planning a return trip to Maui next year & would certainly stay at the Maui Coast again without hesitation. We obtained a fantastic rate on expedia several months in advance, so hopefully we can get a good deal again for the 1 bedroom suite, if not perhaps we would try a condo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our latest trip to Maui. It was a good deal, booked on Expedia. Really large rooms. Lots of extras like free water in the room, q-tips, cotton balls, refrigerator, etc. Easy check-in and check-out. The AC was a little loud, but overall A plus property. We met locals in Maui who love the happy hour at the Maui Coast hotel. One of the valets at the Grand Wailea spoke of it fondly. unfortunately, we did't stay long enough to check it out.

Room Tip: All seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, sc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We found this property to be clean and comfortable. the staff was very friendly. They do have a daily resort fee, but that covers bikes and many other items. The daily music by the pool each evening was a great finishing touch to the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Maui Coast Resort last March for 2 weeks. It was a wonderful experience. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking the ocean. We are planing to return to Maui this March & hope to stay at the Maui Coast once again. We loved the service, the people & it's proximity to the beach & the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Just across the street from Kamaole Beach Park I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched right in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway — with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street with swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Located within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You’ll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at Your Doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.