We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Just across the street from Kamaole Beach Park I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Super Deal - 25% Off
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Maui Coast for 6 nights in late Oct & didnt want to leave. We had a 1 bedroom suite (seperate bedroom & living area) on the 4th floor. Both rooms were extremely spacious & the king bed was very comfortable. We liked the fact that the bedroom had a ceiling fan as well as air-con so you can have the choice.
We did find that the air-con in the living area not as cooling as the one in the bedroom, but it wasnt an issue.
The bathroom was huge & very well appointed - they even provide cotton wool balls!
On check-in we found that 1 lamp was not working which we reported to the front desk, they initially replaced the globe but it kept shorting out so it was replaced the next day.
I read some reviews that the pool is small but we found the pool to be a good size. Perhaps in high season it may get crowded. There were 2 spa's as well, though I found the big spa to be far too hot.
One thing that really annoys me at hotels is people reserving lounges at the pool & the Maui Coast was no exception. I would see people putting their towels down early in the morning & not returning for several hours & on some occassions half a day. Often we went to the pool after breakfast & all the lounges were taken with barely any people actually occupying them. I find this behaviour very selfish!
The happy hour at the pool bar was very good - it is actually a happy 3 hours! Drinks for $3 - $4 - my fave was tropical breeze. We ate at the pool bar for 1 dinner & it was ok with reasonable prices. Each night they had a different musician playing & it was nice to listen to music while having a drink.
The staff at reception were always friendly & helpful. We were there during the tsunami scare & the hotel kept guests advised of the situation, luckily it ended up being a scare only.
The hotel is a good location & there are many places to eat & shop within walking distance.
There is a resort fee of $17.50 per night but we knew about this in advance, so it wasnt an issue. The fee covered parking, use of bikes, in-room safe, access to shuttle, 2- bottled water each day etc.
I would highly recommend a car in Maui so that you can get out & explore.
We booked 2 trips through the expedia desk - Road to Hana & a snorkelling trip to Molokini Crater with the Pacific Whale Foundation. The snorkelling trip was amazing - possibly the best I have ever experienced - lots of fish, sea turtles & spinner dolphins. The Road to Hana was good however the tour guide never stopped speaking the entire tour & had a fatuation with bathrooms....next time we would drive it ourselves - we just didnt know what to expect but in hindsight could have done it quite easily.
It was handy having a fridge in the room. We stocked up on cereal & milk, snacks & drinks at Foodlands. If you provide a 10 digit phone number, you can take advantage of the member prices.
We had a great meal at Oceans Beach Bar & Grill (about a 5 min drive away)- we went on a Tuesday & it was Taco Tuesday - $3.00 tacos & $2.50 Corona's,!! The taco's were yummo! We also shared fajita's which were delish. We tried the Thai at the small mall near the hotel (think it was called Maui Thai) & it was pretty average. The pad thai was nice, but the massaman curry was average to say the least.
There is a nice paved walk in Wailea along the cliff tops past exclusive houses & resorts. The views are fantastic & we could see many sea turtles from the cliffs.
We enjoyed Maui so much that we didnt want to go to Honolulu but couldnt cancel because of the high cancellation fees we would have incurred.
We are already planning a return trip to Maui next year & would certainly stay at the Maui Coast again without hesitation. We obtained a fantastic rate on expedia several months in advance, so hopefully we can get a good deal again for the 1 bedroom suite, if not perhaps we would try a condo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    461
    89
    27
    10
See reviews for
234
643
39
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our latest trip to Maui. It was a good deal, booked on Expedia. Really large rooms. Lots of extras like free water in the room, q-tips, cotton balls, refrigerator, etc. Easy check-in and check-out. The AC was a little loud, but overall A plus property. We met locals in Maui who love the happy hour at the Maui Coast hotel. One of the valets at the Grand Wailea spoke of it fondly. unfortunately, we did't stay long enough to check it out.

Room Tip: All seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, sc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We found this property to be clean and comfortable. the staff was very friendly. They do have a daily resort fee, but that covers bikes and many other items. The daily music by the pool each evening was a great finishing touch to the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Maui Coast Resort last March for 2 weeks. It was a wonderful experience. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking the ocean. We are planing to return to Maui this March & hope to stay at the Maui Coast once again. We loved the service, the people & it's proximity to the beach & the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Maui Coast Hotel for 3 nights in October 2012 for our honeymoon.

At check in we were given a free upgrade and a complimentary bottle of champagne, which was a lovely touch. Our room was a juniour suite and it was very spacious. The mattres was the most comfortable matress I have ever slept on! This hotel provides excellent shampoo, conditioner and body wash. The products supplied were very good! They even give you mouth wash and ear buds. This hotel also provides you with free bottled water each day, which was lovely.

This hotel is in a good location. The only downside to this hotel is there is no view of the ocean. All of the rooms overlook the carpark.The hotel is also close to heaps of restaurants and shops. It has a fantastic pool bar and restaurant that are both reasonably priced. Happy hour drinks were fantastic!

We stayed at this hotel while the Tsunami warning was issued for Hawaii. The staff were fantastic in answering all of our questions and keeping us fully informed as to the evactuation procedure, should that be necessary (and it wasn't).

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Maui Coast Hotel and we will definately go back!

AB

Room Tip: Request a juniour suite, they are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha and Congratulations! Thank you for choosing the Maui Coast for your honeymoon! I am glad that you appreciated the bottle of champagne and complimentary upgrade.

Thank you for the commendations about the Tsunami Warning! Our staff is well prepared for events such as that and it is our priority to ensure our guests are safe!

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a long overdue review. My boyfriend and I came last year through a package from Orbitz. I looked through all the TripAdvisor reviews and I'm glad I decided on Maui Coast, The price was amazing and the room was very comfortable and clean. Our room faced a parking lot, but we didn't care since we were out all day and had the blinds closed at night to sleep. It was not noisy at all when were were there. The location is great because you're centrally located. Driving towards the north and south end felt pretty equidistant to us. We were able to walk to the beach across the street, restaurants and the ABC store down the street. I only dipped in the pool one night (I mean, the ocean is literally across the street), and it was nice to have a few drinks pool side under the stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha and Thank you so much for remembering the Maui Coast Hotel! I think you are overdue for another trip to Maui... I am so delighted to read about your experience, despite of your room location. Nonetheless, we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your visit! We certainly hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I agree with others that the Maui Coast Hotel is a great place to stay. We were here in October - which is a great time to come. Great weather and not too crowded. The location is terrific: close to many restaurants (both north and south of the hotel), close to shops and right across the street from a great beach! You can walk or take the shuttle to Wailea. We spent most of our time in the ocean, but also enjoyed the lovely pool and hot tub. Available bicycles and the shuttle service (anywhere within 3 miles) were a bonus. Our room was always clean and comfortable. If you want to rent a car for a day or two (to go to the volcano or Hana), it is easy to make arrangements in the lobby, but one of the nice things about this hotel and staying in Kehei is that you really don't need a car. We stayed 12 nights and had a terrific time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review! We truly value our guest feedback! The Maui Coast Hotel is located in the heart of kihei surrounded by lots of restaurants, beaches and shopping. I am happy to read that you made good use of our amenities. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Just across the street from Kamaole Beach Park I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched right in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway — with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street with swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Located within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You’ll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at Your Doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.