We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our latest trip to Maui. It was a good deal, booked on Expedia. Really large rooms. Lots of extras like free water in the room, q-tips, cotton balls, refrigerator, etc. Easy check-in and check-out. The AC was a little loud, but overall A plus property. We met locals in Maui who love the happy hour at the Maui Coast hotel. One of the valets at the Grand Wailea spoke of it fondly. unfortunately, we did't stay long enough to check it out.

Room Tip: All seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    556
    99
    28
    13
See reviews for
298
805
49
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, sc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We found this property to be clean and comfortable. the staff was very friendly. They do have a daily resort fee, but that covers bikes and many other items. The daily music by the pool each evening was a great finishing touch to the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Maui Coast Resort last March for 2 weeks. It was a wonderful experience. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking the ocean. We are planing to return to Maui this March & hope to stay at the Maui Coast once again. We loved the service, the people & it's proximity to the beach & the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Maui Coast Hotel for 3 nights in October 2012 for our honeymoon.

At check in we were given a free upgrade and a complimentary bottle of champagne, which was a lovely touch. Our room was a juniour suite and it was very spacious. The mattres was the most comfortable matress I have ever slept on! This hotel provides excellent shampoo, conditioner and body wash. The products supplied were very good! They even give you mouth wash and ear buds. This hotel also provides you with free bottled water each day, which was lovely.

This hotel is in a good location. The only downside to this hotel is there is no view of the ocean. All of the rooms overlook the carpark.The hotel is also close to heaps of restaurants and shops. It has a fantastic pool bar and restaurant that are both reasonably priced. Happy hour drinks were fantastic!

We stayed at this hotel while the Tsunami warning was issued for Hawaii. The staff were fantastic in answering all of our questions and keeping us fully informed as to the evactuation procedure, should that be necessary (and it wasn't).

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Maui Coast Hotel and we will definately go back!

AB

Room Tip: Request a juniour suite, they are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha and Congratulations! Thank you for choosing the Maui Coast for your honeymoon! I am glad that you appreciated the bottle of champagne and complimentary upgrade.

Thank you for the commendations about the Tsunami Warning! Our staff is well prepared for events such as that and it is our priority to ensure our guests are safe!

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a long overdue review. My boyfriend and I came last year through a package from Orbitz. I looked through all the TripAdvisor reviews and I'm glad I decided on Maui Coast, The price was amazing and the room was very comfortable and clean. Our room faced a parking lot, but we didn't care since we were out all day and had the blinds closed at night to sleep. It was not noisy at all when were were there. The location is great because you're centrally located. Driving towards the north and south end felt pretty equidistant to us. We were able to walk to the beach across the street, restaurants and the ABC store down the street. I only dipped in the pool one night (I mean, the ocean is literally across the street), and it was nice to have a few drinks pool side under the stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha and Thank you so much for remembering the Maui Coast Hotel! I think you are overdue for another trip to Maui... I am so delighted to read about your experience, despite of your room location. Nonetheless, we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your visit! We certainly hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I agree with others that the Maui Coast Hotel is a great place to stay. We were here in October - which is a great time to come. Great weather and not too crowded. The location is terrific: close to many restaurants (both north and south of the hotel), close to shops and right across the street from a great beach! You can walk or take the shuttle to Wailea. We spent most of our time in the ocean, but also enjoyed the lovely pool and hot tub. Available bicycles and the shuttle service (anywhere within 3 miles) were a bonus. Our room was always clean and comfortable. If you want to rent a car for a day or two (to go to the volcano or Hana), it is easy to make arrangements in the lobby, but one of the nice things about this hotel and staying in Kehei is that you really don't need a car. We stayed 12 nights and had a terrific time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review! We truly value our guest feedback! The Maui Coast Hotel is located in the heart of kihei surrounded by lots of restaurants, beaches and shopping. I am happy to read that you made good use of our amenities. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is our third stay at Maui Coast in the last 16 months. The first 2 stays were great, this one "not so good". Check-in took around 30 minutes, as the 2 guests in front of us each had problems with their reservations. We checked into our room, and immediately noticed that is was close to the "facility climate control" machinery: we could't have a conversation on the lanai because of the noise! We asked for a room change, and were told we had to check out of our room by 9 am (after 2 nights), and a "replacement room" wouldn't be available until 3 pm. We complied, and a room wasn't available after 6 hours, due to "housekeeping problems." We were able to get a room almost 7 hours later (and the front desk upgraded to the room, as it was the only one available). I don't think it's fair to charge full rate, plus tax, plus "resort fees", when you withhold a paid-for room for over 1/4 of a day. We won't be back anytime soon....

Room Tip: Avoid an "ocean view" room: it's a code word for "near the A/C unit"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha! First and foremost, please accept my apologies for the challenges that you experienced during your recent visit. While we try our very best to accommodate all guests in a timely manner, I am so sorry to hear that your check in took 30 minutes. Rest assured, that I have addressed your experience with my staff. I would also like to apologize about your room location, yet am happy that were able to move into a better location. I truly do hope that you give the Maui Coast Hotel another chance. Thank you for your feedback! At the Maui Coast Hotel, we value all of our guests and take pride in providing the best customer service levels possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.