We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Coast Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife, 2 little girls and myself enjoyed our stay in a junior suite. The pool and resturaunt were great, and the location was perfect with nearby beaches, dining etc. We look forward to returning.

There are 3 beaches close by, complimentary mt. bike rentals, shuttle services, and nightly entertainment. The food was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    509
    92
    28
    10
See reviews for
262
731
44
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Me and my boyfriend visited Maui from Oct 5- Oct 11 2012 and we were very happy with this hotel. It's location is great: close to restaurants, shops and the beach, which is just across the street. All staff has been awesome, always willing to help out. The hotel comes with a great pool, including a restaurant with great service as well. It has been the best place to have breakfast and enjoy some late afternoon cocktails. Bartender Sean recommended all sorts of cocktails and made sure that our cup was never empty. The room was always clean, had plenty of space, with (in our case) a kingsize bed as well as a couch. The only downside has been the airconditioning, which was kind of loud. But still: best hotel during our stay in Hawaii!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for choosing the Maui Coast Hotel during your recent visit to Maui! I am so happy to read that you made mention that we were the best hotel during your stay in Hawaii! We truly take pride in the services that we provide, from our staff to our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently stayed at Maui Coast Hotel for 4-5 days. It is located in a beautiful part of Maui... almost centrally located to everything you would want to see on this beautiful island. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and of course the beach. Resort fees are a little pricey for what you get at this particular hotel ($17/day). I never did go to the pool because I thought to myself... why go to the pool at the hotel when you have a gorgeous Hawaiian beach to go to instead! Only downside, the bathroom in the room is extremely small. I wish I had more time to take advantage of their bike rental! Staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly! Great place to stay in Kihei... I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha and Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Maui! We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a wonderful review. I apologize that you did not find great value in the resort fee however do hope that you were informed of the wealth of amenities that were included in that such a the bicycles, shuttle services and our well equipped fitness center (just to name a few.) I couldn't agree with you any more about enjoying the beutiful beaches that Hawaii has to offer! Nonetheless, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. One more thing to add in regards to the bathroom, please keep in mind that our suites definitely offer a much larger bathroom. We certainly wish to welcom you back soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights and stayed in a suite (7th floor non-parking lot side...had a view of ocean).
Pros:
Clean & tidy...friendly staff (other than the waiter at the cafe-service & food were terrible so we didn't go back - so many better places to eat locally)...beach towels, bikes, very helpful concierge and friendly shuttle drivers.
Cons:
Dodgy WiFi when using iPad..we complained twice - the first time they gave us the number for AT&T to try to fix it ourselves, the next time we complained we were told this is an ongoing problem with iPads in the hotel - reception is intermittent. So long as we held the iPad very still in one place (middle of the bed) we were able to use the Internet.
Rude waiter and bad food at restaurant.

Room Tip: Go for the suite Pass on the on-site cafe (Kihei Cafe is yummy for breakfast) Inconsistent and int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for choosing the Maui Coast Hotel during your visit to Maui! I truly apologize for the challenges that you encountered with your IPad, I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we are aware of the problem and are working diligently to resolve this issue. Thank you for your patience!

I also would like to extend my sincere apologies on behalf of Kamaole Poolside Cafe regarding the service you receivend. Rest assured, we have addressed your concern.

We hope to see you again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We needed a place to crash every night after going around the island and this was perfect. Central to all the places we wanted to go. Good access to shops, restaurants and eateries. Rooms were clean and comfortable . We did not use the pool or the gym, but heard they were good too. It was worth the price and just what we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for staying with us for your sort visit! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review and welcome you back to the Maui Coast Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was included with a package from Hawaiin Airlines and the trip included a flight from Honolulu to OGG (Maui airport) in October with a rental car.
The desk operators were polite and helpful no matter what tiime of day, The rooms were spaciousl. Free h20 daily. Refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker in room. We were on the 7th floor and had a partial view of the ocean. There were lots of tall palm trees but if you sat out on the deck you could see the water, Don't reserve the lower floors from 1-3, there is no view. The pool was small but the poolside cafe was handy and reasonable for good quick food. The hotel is right across the street from 3 of the best beaches on Maui. The air conditioner was adequate but not very cool at the lowest temp. There was a daily use fee of $17.50. Free towels for the pool and beach, gym use, cheap bicycle, umbrella and chair rentals. It was a quick walk to many restaurants in Kihei and about 1/2 hour from a great whaling town Lanai which was full of great restaurants and things to do. We used the Expedia rep. in the lobby to set up all our things to do (snorkeling,dinner cruise, dinner/show and helicopter ride) Package was great and all of them helped support the Whaling Foundation. That's what we love about Hawaii////their love of their land and resources. Entertainment nightly at the pool. Great place for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: check air conditioner to see if cool enough. There are no rooms facing the water. Make sure the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been staying at ths hotel for years and they never disappoint. First, you must know, the hotel is not directly on the beach. The beach is across the road but is only a few minutes walk. If you want an ocean view while you are in Hawaii, you should stay somewhere else. There may be a few rooms here that might have a slight ocean view, but you would need to ask the front desk which rooms those would be. The hotel grounds and rooms are alway clean. The junior suites do come with a microwave and fridge which is handy. There are two gyms and a nice pool area with restaurant and bar service. They are in the process of adding another restaurant. Spices (which was there before) has closed. There are many places nearby to eat and you can easily walk to some of them. The staff at the hotel are always freindly and helpful. There are 3 computer stations in the lobby for guests and there is free Wi-Fi in the guest roooms. There is no aiport shuttle,but the hotel offers free shuttle service in the Kihei and Wailea area. You can arrange for Speedi Shuttle to the hotel from the airport if you don't plan to rent a car. I did notice some Dollar Rental Car slots in the hotel parking area, so you may be able to rent a car there. You need to check this out directly with the hotel though. Also, please should note there is a daily resort fee here but this fee allows you to use the bicycles there which is really nice. There are also complimentary washers and dryers, but you must pay for the soap. I will always stay here when I return to Maui.

Room Tip: I think the junior suites are a little bigger and better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Aloha Debbie and Mahalo for your wonderful detailed review! It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly consider returning! You hit every amenity on the spot and I thank you for sharing. We truly appreciate your business and certainly look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.