We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden of Eden living!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mana Kai Maui to your Saves list
Mana Kai Maui
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% OFF
Ranked #21 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Garden of Eden living!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

After staying at the Mana Kai Maui Resort, there is no place I can find the gentle ambiance, the beach right there. Paradise. I cannot wait to return. Close to Denny's. A kitchen in my room and patio doors flung open to let the sun and breezes in. A shirt run to Safeway. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    125
    32
    14
    16
See reviews for
112
136
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Mana Kai has a location that would be hard to beat. Turtles every day, snorkling right off the resort, lovely garden and nice pool, lots of ocean view rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo and with teenage children it was great. Everything you would expect was in the unit and more. The guy on the reception desk was really nice, some people's complaints were very trivial and he kept smiling.
The only thing that could improve are the curtains on the carpark facing room in our condo did not keep out the hallway lights at night.
I would recommend this to any normal family. I guess the overly rich can go to Wailea!
The restaurant has great food but is probably a bit pricey for families to eat at every night, but happy hour sushi was a good way to feed the children cheaply.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

4 of us recently stayed in a two bedroom condo at Mana Kai Maui for 8 nights. Our trip could not have been better. If you are looking for a quiet area of Maui to stay in, this is the place. The condo itself, while not overly updated, was very clean. Now, these are not true two bedrooms. They are two units combined. The first unit is similar to a hotel room with an en suite bath. The second unit has the kitchen and dining area. The second bedroom is formed when sliding doors are closed in the living room to separate it from the bed. It was actually a lot more private than we thought it would be. The biggest benefit of this property is the view. The building is situated on an angle, so every two bedroom unit has the most amazing view of the coastline facing south. The staff was fine and the proximity to the beach unmatched. About a month prior to our stay, we were notified of some electric work that needed to be done on a lower floor. We were offered a full refund or a further discount to stay. We risked it and decided to stay anyway. The work was barely a nuisance, and we saved a lot of money. If you are looking for action, go to Kaanapali or Lahaina. If you want relaxation, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Yes this hotel is good value, great location and has a good restaurant, I would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for the rude guy at front desk upon our check in. He just didn't seem to care and wanted to charge us extra for everything!! After a bad 1st night (he put us in a back room by the parking lot, even though we had paid for an ocean view room) noisy air con was over ruled by the noise of truck in the parking lot & there is no privacy in these rooms as walkers by can see your entire room... the curtains are sheer so everything is on show... unless you keep lights off & ponder in the dark. After the 1st miserable night dealing with am arrogant guy at reception & no sleep(you hear every car pull up into parking lot at night & hear every person walking past your room to the lifts in the early morning).. We immediately requested to see what the ocean view rooms are supposed to look like... and Yes it is worth the extra $$ to stay away from a noisy parking lot that has no privacy... it was so refreshing to hear crashing waves as opposed to what we were hearing the night before. The bathrooms could certainly get an uplift as there is mould behind shower curtains & cracked flooring, but other than that it is great value for a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Aloha, I am sorry you had two negative experiences while staying with us. I must admit this review is the first less than flattering for the gentleman that checked you in. In fact, he receives the majority of the positive comments regarding front desk staff. We will meet with him to discuss this matter with him and impress upon him sharing the Aloha Spirit to all. As for the hotel type unit you were placed in at first, the lower floor can get a little noisy depending on it's location, and I agree that the beachfront condo side is much more relaxing. I apologize for these two incidents and hope you'll give us anther chance should you travel to Maui in the future.
Winston Chinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm not sure I want to rate this hotel because I don't want it to get too popular. I met other people staying here that said the same thing.

Everything here is fantastic: the view, location and staff. Tracy, the activities lady was so helpful and gave great discounts on activities. Artis, the front desk clerk was extremely helpful.

The rooms are very nice though not luxurious. We had both the hotel room & condo (2 bedroom unit) with central air. We didn't need to use the central air very often but were glad to have it. The three fans in the condo side kept the room pleasant most of the time. We ate most of our meals on the lanai. It was nice to have the kitchen.

The view & beach cannot be beat. The lawn next to the beach and pool is wonderful to use. The comfy chaise lounges are plentiful.

I have stayed in a few other places in Maui but this is the only place for me now!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here Nov 2012 -

This place isn't particularly fancy, but the value is incredible. We came with about 80 people for a wedding and I didn't hear one bad thing said from anyone.

PRO'S:
- stunning, swimmable beach steps from your room
- great snorkelling - lots of turtles!
- comfortable bed
- modest, yet useful kitchen in-suite
- small convenience store in the hotel for odds and bobs (they also sell booze!)
- water sport centre for rentals on-site
- free use of beach towels - just ask at the front desk. No signing in, no towel card
- close to many cafe's, restaurants, shopping
- safe, clean, quiet
- stunning views (provided you stay on the ocean side)
- very friendly and accommodating staff
- easy check-in, despite the fact we arrived at midnight
- free parking
- free wifi

CON'S
- pool area is just ok (I didn't mind though, spent all our time at the beach)
- rooms need some updating (but again, it wasn't an issue - we were barely in our room)

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for couples/families/groups. You get a lot for your money. It's definitely not luxury, but we liked it so much we're returning next month!

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting an ocean-view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice, the beds comfortable and having a full kitchen was fantastic since we were traveling with an infant. But let's face it, the reason you book the Mana Kai is for the view and the fact that the only way to get closer to staying on the beach would involve sleeping in a tent... on the beach.

Air conditioning would have been nice, especially with August's heat, but while some units have AC, not all do.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Kai Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.