We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, great happy hour prices.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Save Saved
You added Mana Kai Maui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% OFF
Ranked #12 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Alta Loma, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, great happy hour prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Loved this place!!!
Location, location, location....not a great walk to town due to highway, but very close to Kihei. Beautiful, great walking beach. Great restaurant overlooking the beach. Great whale watching spot... Well worth the price to be ON the beach.
We reserved a "hotel room/ no view, no kitchen, no lanai". It was older but very clean with everything you need in a hotel room. AND....the view was not bad at all. On day three my hub negotiated with the front desk to move us to a "condo" unit (there was a nightly fee increase). Wow! top floor, beautifully remodeled unit. Not all units are decorated/ furnished the same due to ownership, but I cannot imagin a bad stay here in the cooler months. NOT ALL "condo units" HAVE AIR CONDITIONING!!!! This would be a huge factor for me in August ish months.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    104
    28
    12
    13
See reviews for
104
115
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from a ten day trip to Maui where we split time between Kaanapali and Kihea. Booked Mana Kai #609 through AA Rentals - What a mistake. Originally booked a different room but was informed that it was unavailable for the dates (why take my reservation?). Was assured that 609 would be a good substitute- was told that it was a little dated but otherwise great (should have sniffed out the bait and switch). OMG welcome to 1980! Bed skirt was shredded in kids bedroom, holes in the sheets in our bedroom, hair on the bathroom floor and the tub had not been scrubbed in god knows how long. A couple of missing electrical outlet covers leave exposed wires and carpet is frayed at the seams- wore my flip flops the entire time-including in the shower. There were two SMALL bars of soap for the week and dishwasher soap was gone after two loads. Called the management company about towels on day 4 and was told we only get fresh towels if we stay 7 days and the washing machine is down the hall ($6 for wash and dry). Oh yes- the towels- had ONE washcloth to last for the entire week. Paid almost $400/night for a completely disgusting room. Owners are ripping people off at this price without doing anything to fix or improve the unit. Buyer beware about your room!

Room Tip: Make sure to call Mana Kai directly. They will direct you to a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I would like to let visitors to Mana Kai Maui know there are three primary rental agents here plus multiple owners that rent on VRBO. Resort Hotel Associates dba Mana Kai Maui is the on-site rental program. The other company named in this 609 is another along with one other management company. Unit 609 is not in the rental program the Resort Hotel Associates rents. We offer daily maid service included in our rates. It may be a good idea for guests with reservations call whomever they made reservations with to inquire about cleaning and maintenance services prior to their arrival so as not to be surprised when they arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The location is great, the rooms all have a view. You can rent chairs for the week from the store downstairs for $20. Boogie boards are sometimes left in the basement by the book area so check before you buy. The pool area is warm and its a good pool. There is a BBQ that you have to book your time at, but no eating area outside it would be much better if you did not have to go back up with your food. Huge lawn area beautiful sunsets every night, maid service. Restaurant and convenient store below. I would also highly recommend captain Steve's tour on the water moves fast so you can get to the whales before the other big boats. They stay the required 100 yard away but the whales came to us. They served an excellent lunch too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time with no need to supplement our kitchen or dining room. We shared our condo with our best friend who occupied the second bedroom--which was a separate room altogether. There is a main entrance to the unit and separate entries for each room. She had a regular hotel room and our room included the kitchen/living room area with the lanai overlooking the lawn, pool and ocean. Our bedroom was very cool with a 4 piece sliding privacy divider. This is a very up to date condo with very nice furnishing with well equipped kitchen and use of the barbecue grill in the lawn area.Guest laundry facilities were just next to the elevators on each floor. We also had daily maid service. We would definitely stay here again. The beach is just across the lawn with gorgeous sunsets we saw from the lanai. But the big seller were the whales. Saw them all day long plus saw jumping dolphins as well. The only thing missing was a hot tub. The activity director was very helpful in steering us towards great activities--including zip lines--and great restaurants in the area. The front desk staff was so so.

Room Tip: Our room was #709. You might ask for one on higher floors as we were able to see above the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Awesome beach, room was totally renovated and clean. Only complaint would be no beach chairs or cooler etc..but bought or rented so wasn't a huge deal. Very comfortable in the evening and the view was excellent. 5 Palms restaurant is very good. There was always available lounge chairs. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our room was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a fan over the bed, which was very, very nice. You could easily hear people talking when they walked past your room though. We liked having a mini-fridge in the room. The room was very small. Not large enough for a long stay, we only stayed 2 nights. There was a store and restaurant on the main level, which were both very convenient! The restaurant breakfast was very high priced, especially for the average quality of the food. The beach front location is amazing though. Sooo worth it's price. Front desk was extremely pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

So happy with my stay here. Needed to keep cost down for work and the location is amazing. With Sarento's and 5 Palms, two great restaurants downstairs. Highly recommend! Best beach ever... Will be back for sure...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Kai Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.