We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the resort but not the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Save Saved
You added Mana Kai Maui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% OFF
Ranked #12 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Kamloops
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved the resort but not the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had my first trip to Hawaii with family.

Loved the beach and facilities Fantastic views. Staff were friendly . Our room #809 was disgraceful. Looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks. Bath wouldn't drain and appeared to be plugged with the most disgusting junk. Dishes under all the sinks to catch drips. Toilet tank would not fill up up automatically on several occasions. The furniture felt dirty and the extra blankets absolutely reeked. Had flying ants invading us for the first three days. My feet were literally black after walking on the floor after the first day.

If I had not been with family I would have said something but did not want to spoil it for them.

Would definitely return to the resort but not the same condo.

Would recommend the resort but not the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manakai73, Director of Sales at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha!

Mahalo for your review. Please call our management the next time you visit at 1-800-525-2025. We represent more than half the units here. We are the On-Site management and operate the Front Desk . We look forward to hearing from you. ~ The Mana Kai Maui - On Site Management Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    103
    28
    11
    13
See reviews for
100
112
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Mana Kai Maui is highly recommended. Great value for money, great location, spacious rooms, snorkelling out the front door, turtles, good restaurant, friendly staff and the views are fantastic,

A perfect Maui holiday spot.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manakai73, Director of Sales at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so happy that you had "a perfect Maui holiday." We look forward to seeing you again! A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed at Mana Kai five times now and my husband's boss has been there at least that many times. You cannot beat this property--so gorgeous sitting right on the beach. Grandfathered in, Mana Kai is actually the closer to the ocean than any other property.

*Mana Kai has both "A" oceanfront rooms, which are 600 square-foot condos with a wonderful lanai facing the ocean, "B" hotel rooms, which are modest-sized standard hotel rooms facing the parking lot, or you can get both, which gives you two bedrooms and two bathrooms. "A" units have a bedroom/living area, bathroom, small kitchen, and lanai facing the ocean. The "B" rooms have a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. I HIGHLY recommend the A oceanfront condos, which have incredible views, though the B hotel rooms cost considerably less and are very nice hotel rooms.

*"Not all rooms are created the same": Many of Mana Kai's units are individually owned, and even the ones that are owned by the resort vary quite a bit in terms of decor, maintenance, and upkeep. Especially if you go through an individual owner, be careful to ask lots of questions and get current photos of your exact room.

*Generally, the rooms owned by the resort are nicely kept but far from impeccable if you are somewhat OCD like myself, lol. I spend an hour or two the first day unpacking and "nesting," and during that time I like to do a little more thorough clean in the kitchen and bathroom. (Whoever follows me gets a good deal...). The resort-owned rooms seem at least consistent in cleanliness (I'd give them a solid 7 on a zero to ten), whereas the individually-owned rooms depend on the owner or property manager. The resort-owned units offer daily maid-service, and you can buy maid service for the individually-owned units if you want. We did that once, and it was worth it for not having to launder the bath towels alone. They do have a washer/dryer laundry room on each floor. The cleaning staff has always been super friendly and accommodating.

*The kitchen in the condos are well-equipped, with a dishwasher and full refrigerator. Style and quality of cookware, dishware, and glassware varies room to room. Over the years the resort has continued to remodel rooms and move toward unified kitchen equipment and decor, but this is still a work in progress. Some of the rooms are tiled throughout, but most seem to have carpeting. The ones with newer carpeting are fine, but be careful; the first year we got an individually-owned room with a carpet that made me feel like I had to keep my flip flops on the whole time. So as mentioned above, buyer beware and ask lots of questions.

*Dish soap, kitchen towels and cloths, and bath towels are included in the resort-owned rooms, and you can get beach towels for no charge in the lobby. Some of the rooms have beach toys or chairs, so look in the closets! You will need to bring or buy spices, plastic wrap, and foil, if you need them. Anything they didn't have for us, we've made do. The store downstairs is nicely stocked with sandwiches, snack food, beverages, including beer and liquor, and travel supplies you may have forgotten (everything from sunscreen to earplugs to cooking supplies...). We stop at the nearby Safeway early in the trip and stock up. Roadside stands or organic food stores are the best place for produce, but Safeway has a decent and varied selection of fruits and vegetables.

*All A rooms have double glass sliding doors which open to the lanai and ocean. Open the vent over the front door and you have automatic, wind tunnel evaporative cooling. Temperatures stay so consistent that we rarely closed the doors, even at night. Not all A rooms have air conditioning, btw, so do check on that. Most people should be totally okay with this because of the ocean air currents, but I am super temperature sensitive and like the option of A/C, even though we hardly had to use it.

*The Mana Kai has eight floors. Best rooms depend on what you are looking for. All of the A (oceanfront) rooms have incredible ocean views, but the higher rooms may have an advantage because of the height. We tend to like the lower floors because you can zip down the stairwell and be on the beach in three minutes. As others have mentioned, rooms ending in lower numbers (01 thru 05 or so--as, for example, 402, 703, or 804) are a bit closer to the ocean, as the building sits at an angle to the beach. Rooms right over the restaurant (lower floors ending in 03 through 06) are noisy at lunch and dinner, but if you are not in your room during mealtimes, you may never notice, and by 9pm it all dies down. Last room nuance: Rooms ending in odd numbers have the sofa/living area facing the ocean, so your best view is from there. Rooms ending in even numbers have the bed facing the ocean, so the view is amazing laying in bed. Depends on where you might be spending the most time maybe?... All this said about the rooms, unless you book one of the individually-owned condos, the Mana Kai may or may not let you select specific rooms or floors any more. Either way, you can certainly request a lower or higher floor, or change rooms if needed.

*Happy hour at the bar downstairs is great, and they have reasonably-priced appetizers. We have found the restaurant (The Five Palms) to be a hit and miss, though. Beautiful outdoor dining area, though.

The pool is nothing memorable, but it is very nice and spotlessly clean, as others have written, that it has saline rather than chlorine. They keep the grounds beautifully maintained. The Mana Kai property adjoins a several-mile walking trail along the beach, which runs past other homes, resorts, and shopping.

*You can rent paddle boards, snorkeling, and other equipment right onsite at the surf shop downstairs. South Maui waves are small and not conducive to surfing, but is great for swimming, standup paddle boarding, and snorkeling. You can snorkel on the small reef right on the property, though numbers and variety of fish are not incredible there, and you may want to go to the west side for awesome coral; the coral on South Maui is all very young. Still, it is so close that a daily snorkel dip first thing in the morning, before the surf gets up, could become an essential thing, being right outside your door. I have seen right there sea turtles, baby reef sharks (no worries; no great whites here, and they were more afraid of me than vice versa), and last year I followed a pod of probably 200 spinner dolphins putting on a show a few hundred yards offshore. And the whales! If you can afford it, do go during whale season (Dec thru April). You can sit on the lanai with a pair of binocs, or a camera, or your naked eye and see dozens of humpback whales breaching and blowing in a single day.

Anyway, as you can tell, I have been pretty sold on this property. My husband and I just can't see shelling out twice as much for one of the posher properties (you may know, they have a GORGEOUS Grand Wailea and beautiful Four Seasons Resort on Maui...which if you have the money, I say go for it...). But even so they are set far back from the ocean and lack the 24/7 intimacy of the beachfront setting at Mana Kai.

Room Tip: Choose lower floors for fast beach access by the stairwells, or higher if you are looking for the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manakai73, Director of Sales at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Aloha!

Thank you for staying with us. We really appreciate that you took the time to write your experience and your view of our property. It is through these feedback and comments from our guests like you that we are able to meet and exceed your expectations.

Thank you again for choosing the Mana Kai Maui. We look forward to being your home away from home again soon. A Hui Hou (‘Til we meet again) Aloha, Staff of Mana Kai Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett Idaho USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The beautiful lawns giving way to an outstanding beach and ocean views were very special. The swimming pool was not treated with chlorine (some kind of saltwater feel) so I was willing to try it and loved it! Water activity equipment, deli, and fine restaurant on premises a real plus! Rooms were well appointed and of reasonable size. Parking lot noise in second bedroom was a bit of a problem at night but enjoyed the cool breezes that flowed thru the rooms! Easy to get around the island from Kehei. Great spot!

Room Tip: higher floors and west end probably would not have the street noise we experienced in second bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Mana Kai was excellent in everyway. We planned to spend alot of time out but loved the beach it is on so spent alot time at this beach instead. Location is based on the end of a small coastal town short walk to restaurants and next town over has lux shopping center. Amazing beach and views. The hotel has a restaurant and convience store so you really don't need to go to far for food.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The prices here are quite reasonable for what you're getting. We stayed in one of the "Hotel Rooms". It was smallish, but well appointed and in good shape. Much, much better (for the same price) than the Days Inn next door. The overall location is great, on the south end of Kihei - bordering upscale Wailea. However, the real draw is the beach, and the Mana Kai sits right on the best beach in Kihei - and one of the best beaches in all Maui. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: For optimal privacy, ask for a room at either extreme end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

When I read some reviews I was concerned, totaly unfounded, what a spot, beach walks, swimming, food and relax value was excellent. no noise at night (luck of the draw ?)
Greg & Ruth
Australia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Kai Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.