We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTER” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mana Kai Maui to your Saves list
Mana Kai Maui
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Special - Save 30%
Ranked #13 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Kihei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BETTER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

When I read some reviews I was concerned, totaly unfounded, what a spot, beach walks, swimming, food and relax value was excellent. no noise at night (luck of the draw ?)
Greg & Ruth
Australia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    111
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
105
120
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

This is our fifth time here, and we love it. An amazing location right on the beach at a very reasonable cost. The units are individually owned, but most of them are managed by the resort, which does a great job. We plan to keep coming back. The only thing that I would add to the information in the reviews is advice not to rent a car at the airport. Kihei Car Rental will pick you up, shuttle you to Kihei and rent you a car for about a quarter of the cost in the time it takes to get through the lines at the airport.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Mana Kai was an amazing place to stay! We recently got married here and enjoyed our stay tremendously! We stayed on the 4th floor - ocean side balcony room. I highly recommend this room for a little more money. The doors fully open up - you can fall alseep and wake up to the sounds of the ocean - see the activities below. Great place to have morning coffee. Fullly equpped kitchens made our stay even more cost effective. I can't wait to go back. Great hotel with all the hoopla of a 5 star resort. At least here you can be RIGHT on the ocean with yourown private beach. The only way to go!

Room Tip: Its worth the money to have an ocean side balcony room. Glorious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Mana Kai resort is very well looked after, in a top location right on the beach, all facilities on site excellent & easy including a mini-mart, Watersports hire on site, loved the Iyengar yoga with Kim to start the day...we took a great deal of care in trying to choose a recently renovated apartment and rented 306 through VRBO. It is exactly as per the photos, very nicely done with quality throughout. Owner Scott was really helpful with suggestions for restaurants etc. Electronic keyless entry handy-no keys to lose & kids could come & go. It's important to note the master bed is part of the living space with panels easily sliding across for privacy if required however we left it open to enjoy the full width of the unit. Brilliant view from living/bed/lanai. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I'm writing this review from my lounge chair, listening to the ocean waves and enjoying the view!

I definitely recommend staying here if you want to enjoy the beach! If you're a strictly sit by pool person, this may not be the place for you.

Good snorkeling right from shore here. Happy hour food and drinks at the bar from 3 to 7.

Rooms: we are a party of 8 and are staying in 602 A & B and 603 A & B. The beds are pillowtop, with nice pillows. The B rooms have air conditioning, which is nice for getting ready or blocking out sound, but not really necessary. The A rooms are attached to the living room and kitchen and overlooks the balcony/ocean. The rooms are fully stocked with coffee maker, blender, pots, pans, cups, etc. You can get fresh beach towels whenever you want.

All in all, Mana Kai is great place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I love this place, but it appears that our owners are cheap. the bathroom door (a pocket door slider) doesn't close fully. no problem, except when we have guests on Sunday. Mentioned to front desk yesterday, but no action. Yeah, I know, island time ... I don't care, fix it. pretty sure it's an owner issue, since the place is kind of rental quality. crappy dishes and cutlery, no napkins, tin foil, saran wrap, cooking oil, spices, etc. we chose this place for the location AND the kitchen; to find it basically filled with the crappiest base stuff tells me the owners never live here.

So, tomorrow i'm talking to management about the bathroom door. if it get's fixed, great. if not, then be warned that this is what happens when you rent a condo owned by a committee and managed locally for owners who only care about assessments and net income. it's all in the details, and they have some work to do.

Room Tip: ask them what extras are provided - cooking stuff, etc. only after an email did I realize that i nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I did a lot of research to find this place, and at the price I paid for it. I got the deal through VRBO, although checked into other units at the same place, offered through various other middle-men organizations. The owner that we booked with, unfortunately passed away between when we put down our deposit, and when we were supposed to submit the remainder two weeks before arriving. Luckily for us, her family asked Winston Chinn, whose office is behind the reception desk, and who manages several of the condos there (not all), to manage hers while they put it up for sale. He was wonderful! He immediately replied, when I'd sent Lore an email saying I was going to mail her remainder check that day, to let me know she'd passed away. He was sad, (as I'm sure many former condo users would be to hear the news) as everyone seems to agree that she was really wonderful. The unit is now on sale for $950K, and includes the A & B parts of #204. B is a hotel room, attached to a shared entry hall, to A, which is either a studio, with a big sliding panel divider to offer privacy if someone is sleeping in the living room. However, they'd have to enter the bathroom through the bedroom area, so best just for children, or friends you don't mind seeing you in your bed asleep.. So it is kind of an extra roomy studio. But the slider is wide, offering a spectacular view from within, or from its balcony. There are chairs and a small table on the balcony. Since Lore wasn't there to show us the perks, we didn't find out until our last day there, that there were beach chairs, a boogie board, and two coolers (small collapsible) for us to use in one of the closets. We should have snooped around more I guess. The beach is really nice, clean, easy to walk into the water barefoot without hurting your feet. There are a few large rocks scattered, but you can usually see them, so you are aware where they are. Off to one side are a lot of rocks. It's scenic though not great for swimming, and we saw a wedding performed right in front of the rocky area, using its setting for the backdrop of their pictures. I took a lot of pictures from my balcony of the wedding (not as good as professional, but from a different perspective) that I would have loved to send to the married couple, but my huz thought I was weird for wanting to slip my email address to the friend or mother of the bride or groom, so I didn't. ;-) The pool is pretty unremarkable. Clean, walled off with glass walls to protect from wind or escaping children, or whatever. Decorative waterfall doesn't connect to the pool, or that would have been more interesting.The grounds outside the pool are a big grassy area with plenty of lawn chaise chairs that you can drag to different places on the lawn if you like, just so you don't bring them down to the beach. There's a BBQ grill that you sign up to use, but we didn't. The bar had a nice happy hour, from 3-7pm, then again from 9-11pm. Mai Tai's were $5, (great, but no fruit or umbrella), as were Margaritas, but they weren't good tasting, and were weak. The hor d'ouevres were half off during that time also, and we liked the calimari strips. they were tender, and very meaty, not very bready. You can look at the beach a little bit from many of the tables. The restaurant had high priced meals, so we never ate there. We went to Fred's Mexican restaurant, which was unexciting -used Mole sauce on all enchiladas that night, since Mole something else was their evening special. But we weren't expecting it to be on the enchiladas (didn't say so on the menu). Also ate at Maui Thai, an unassuming place with no view, but the food was pretty good. Loved the flavor of their Pad Thai. Back to the hotel: there was not very good snorkeling right off the beach the day we tried it. Maybe earlier in the day it may have been better. We were so late, and a wind had come up (unusual during our stay). But we didn't see anything to get excited about. Great hotel, though, highly recommend for a stay in Kihei, which was a nicer little town than we expected.. Furniture in our room was classy, comfortable, and tropical.

Room Tip: REad reviews to help you pick the rooms with the best view. Many or most of these units are "b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Kai Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.