We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location - beautiful sunsets.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leinaala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Leinaala to your Saves list
Leinaala
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   998 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Eagan, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome location - beautiful sunsets.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed for 6 nights in December 2009. This place was perfect for us. We too had unit 203 and while the furniture is dated the location is spectacular and the rooms were nice and big. The best part is the lenai - big enough for an outdoor table and chairs, the perfect place to play a game of cards and have a glass of wine. The nice thing is that this place is quiet - no road noise, no noise from neighbors. They also have everything you would want there -beach towels, a cooler you can take for the day, beach chairs, (and a blow dryer for you ladies). Since it is a public park from the condo to the beach, there are many people there at sunset to watch the show - it is SO beautiful. We did not walk to any restaurants as there is not a sidewalk and at times the traffic can be busy, but within 2 miles there were many great restaurants. We loved Cuatro and also Sensei for nicer meals, and Antonios and Vietnamese Cuisine for cheaper spots. Maui is an expensive place to visit so this was really a good place at a great price - and a good way to save a few bucks by making your own breakfast and packing a few lunches. The kitchen has a full fridge and freezer and all the things you need to cook and eat. The other great thing about staying in Kiehi is that no attraction is very far from it - 90 minutes to the top of the crater, 3 - 4 hours to Hana (with many stops along the way)
I would also recommend going to the Big Beach, the Iao needle and the Nakalele blowhole. All close by and great stuff to see along the way. Another nice feature is the laundry facility there - about a $2 to wash and dry a load. Like others have said, if you like a resort atmosphere, this is NOT for you, but if you want a safe, clean condo with an awesome location, this spot is great!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Just got back from our first trip to Maui. We booked our stay at Leinaala based almost exclusively on the amazingly positive reviews on Trip Advisor and I'm happy to say our high expectations were completely met.

I think others have pretty much said exactly what I'd care to so I'll try to keep it short. We stayed in unit 401, which we booked through Expedia. From looking through some of the pictures of other units on VRBO it looks like 401 may have been last renovated a little earlier than some of the other units, but it was none the less very nice and contained everything we needed to enjoy our stay.

Leinaala is a hidden treasure on the northside of Kihei. It's only about 24 units, which compared to most of the other places you'll pass on the island is absolutely tiny. To me this is only a positive as it leaves you feeling a lot more like a vacation than a trip to an ant farm. The other positive about the small size is that the building was built in such a way that every unit gets the same beautiful ocean view that you'll see advertised. I am a major skeptic and honestly didn't believe it until I saw it, but the view is really that good.

The location worked perfectly for us. North Kihei is central enough that you're never far enough from any of the major areas (besides the Hana side of the island of course) for the drive to feel very long, especially with the beautiful scenery. If you feel like going out there are dozens of decent restaurants within driving distance and many within walking distance. If you want to stay in a cook your own meal, there are at least 3 major grocery stores nearby as well. Head 15 minutes south for what I thought to be the best beaches on the island. And when it's time to leave the Airport is another short 15 minute trip north.

I don't think I could find a single negative thing to say about Leinaala, but I will mention two things that might be negatives for some people. The first is that the beach you overlook is not a swimming beach. However, as I mentioned before if you do a little digging on Trip Advisor you'll quickly find that there are close to a dozen amazing beaches a short drive south with public access. The other thing is that Leinaala is condos, not a luxury resort. There's not room service, a giant pool with a bar besides it, or a maid that cleans up after you every day. We had gone to Cabo San Lucas for our Honeymoon and stayed in a resort type setting that had all those things and while I really enjoyed that trip I certainly was looking to be a little more self sufficient this trip. As a trade up you get a fully stocked kitchen, living room, and the ability to do whatever you like with them. Not only can this save you a lot of money, but it also gives you a lot more freedom to enjoy the natural wonders of the island. We were able to have breakfast prepared and waiting in the fridge on mornings where we wanted to be on our way before any restaurant would be serving food. We kept lots of easy to prepare snack food around for late night snacks, rather than having to run out for a bite to eat. If your idea of a perfect Maui vacation is to be camped out besides a resort pool all week charging drinks to your room than this probably isn't the place for you, but if you want to see Maui for all its worth I give Leinaala my absolute highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We chose this condo based on the reviews from TripAdvisor. So we had some ideas of what to expect, and it indeed lived up to our expectation: roomy, homey, and clean, with a great view. Everything you could think of was thoughtfully provided, from beach chairs to a full rack of spices! We ended up cooking most of our meals during our stay, not just to save money, but also hated to waste such a well-equipped kitchen. Besides, nothing beat the joy of watching the beautiful sunset while enjoying our dinner on the patio. Our unit had an additional AC in the bedroom which was extra nice. The only thing that needed some work was the bathroom which had a malfunctioning shower head. Other than that, we had nothing but praise for this "home away from home". And definitely would like to stay here next time we visit Maui.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leinaalajoan, owner at Leinaala, responded to this review, November 14, 2009
Thank you for your response. It appears you stayed in our unit... #102 @ Leinaala.
We arrived the day you left. We are sorry you had a shower head problem. It was actually a new head but appears it was installed incorrectly. We do need to update the bathroom and plan to do it sometime in 2010. We got the couch and the dining room chairs re-covered while we were there. We were shocked that the cushion had rips!
Hopefully you will recommend our unit to friends/family and will come back to our "home away from home" again.
Bill & Joan Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

An Oprah-worthy view for those on a different budget. The view is just out of this world here. We stayed in Unit 203 and loved it. Like other reviews have stated, the beach here is not really a sun & lounge kind of beach. You are just minutes from gorgeous beaches, but if you want to step out onto that - look elsewhere. If you are after a resort setting, this is not for you. That's not a negative, just a heads-up. There is so much to do on gorgeous Maui - this was the PERFECT place for us. We were only in the condo in the mornings and evenings and couldn't have asked for better for what we were after. Kihei is perfectly located to head out and explore both sides of Maui. This was a wonderful place to wake up in and return to for the sunsets. The park between the condo and the ocean is lovely and very lightly populated. Our morning and evening strolls were practically just the two of us. Bill and Paula, the on-site managers, are extremely helpful with local tips and suggestions. If you are coming to Maui to do more than the beach - you cannot go wrong here. There are other condos and resorts around, but we didn't notice it all. You are not crammed in amongst the masses. You are close to everything, have a brilliant view and don't have to pay top dollar for the feeling of seclusion. We had the trip of our lives and definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuk752
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

What can I say? Leinaala exceeded our expectations. We stayed in Unit 203 which is a one bedroom condo w/ a sleeper sofa that sleeps two. Now, the only negative thing I can say about the unit was that it needed some care; a bath fixture did break and the couch needed a good cleaning....other than that...this place was AMAZING! Close to Kihei shops, great restaurants, beautiful beaches and the highlight....a spectacular view....better than what guests at the Grand Wailea and Ritz are paying for. Paula and Bill, the property manager's, were so friendly and helpful (we arrived at the brink of Tropical Storm Felicia -- she missed us though -- sunny and gorgeous all week). They provided us with everything we needed and then some. Bill also does a wonderful job keeping the condo grounds looking picturesque and beautiful. Our family wants to return and we'll only stay at the Leinaala. I also saw a picture of unit 204 which is very modern, clean and highly recommended too. If this is your first time traveling to Maui, I recommend three things to do: 1. Check out the Old Lahaina Luau, a little spendy but the service and entertainment are well worth it. 2. Snorkel at Molokini & the Turtle Arches by booking your trip with the Pacific Whale Foundation, all proceeds go to ocean environment education and saving marine life. Their crew was knowledgeable and hospitable. 3. The Road to Hana -- get up early and drive this scenic and untouched route. Aloha & Mahalo!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore Lake
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We stayed at Leinaala for 3 weeks. The Managment was great, most helpful and nice people. The apartment was really clean and in good shape. Plenty of kitchen equipment, vacuum, broom and everything you need was provided.

The view was gorgeous. We could watch wales while we had breakfast and we saw everyday the most beautiful sunset. It is a great place if you have kids. The pool is fenced, a big grass area where the kids can run and just a minute away from the beach.

The only thing we didn't like was that we had to check out at 11:00 am or pay a $75 late checkout fee. Even our flight was at 10:00pm.

  • Liked — View and location
  • Disliked — The late checkout fee is way to large
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

We stayed a week, management super-helpful even tho we arrived earlier than stated. The place was clean, unbelievable amount of kitchen and beach supplies, also a nice mini-library on the complex. Gorgeous views! Perfect frame of the sunset from the lanai. Super-helpful books, menus, reviews left by owners and previous visitors. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leinaala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leinaala

Address: 998 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leinaala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leinaala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leinaala Hotel Kihei
Leinaala Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leinaala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.