We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahaole, Kamaole Nalu Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kamaole Nalu Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kamaole Nalu Resort to your Saves list
Kamaole Nalu Resort
2450 S. Kihei Road, Between Kanani and Keonekai Roads, next to Kamaole Beach Park II, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Mahaole, Kamaole Nalu Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

We stayed in Maui at the Kamaole Nalu Resort, in condo #405 from 09.08.06 to 09.17.06 and loved it. This is a newly remodeled condo with a beautiful view of the ocean and Molokini. The resort itself is a little outdated, but the maintenance of the grounds and the staff more than make up for it. Kamaole Beach #2 is located steps away from the resort and at this time of the year there were very few people on it. The complex is very quiet and located in an area that has lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The only downfall of this resort is that you hear hear a lot of street noise from the second bedroom, none of the condos are equipped with A/C and the parking lot is very small. Despite these things I will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Road noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose a condo in the 4 or 5 section of the building; they have the best views
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

Sadly enough, we just came back from Maui and enjoyed our stay at the NALU very much. The complex is well maintained and has a small, but nice pool and lovely landscaping. It also has a convenient path that leads you to a nice beach.

We booked condo 105 and absolutely loved staying there. The place had been recently updated and the views from the kitchen looking out to the ocean was awesome. To book it, you have to go to Maui411. We also met up with some great people that own unit 206, which they are renovating. I would recommend this place as well. It's up one level and has a lovely view down to the beach. One other unit that is nice is 106.

The NALU is located between Kamaole 1 & 2 beach, which are great beaches. While snorkeling right out front of the condo we saw a huge turtle and lots of colorful fish and then later saw the turtles and dolfins swimming around the bay as we watched the sunset. Amazing and so much better than Black Rock.

This trip we decided to stay in Kihei and loved it. It is more qaint and have decided that I prefer the South end of Maui over the North end. We were able to walk across the street and find good food (Cafe O'lei -fine dining; Da Kitchen - plate lunches; Moose's - pub food, happy hour, party; Freds - great tacos on taco Tuesday; Cinnomon Roll - good breakfast food) as well as other dining options that we did not try (Denny's, Chinese & Thai food, Sport Page Bar & Grill). There is also a small grocery store for anything you may have forgotten at Costco, a Discount Liquor store, and snorkel shops (Snorkel Bob's, Boss Frogs and Maui Dive Shop). Just a few blocks north of the condo are several other places to eat (LuLu, Pupus, Sansei) shop and drink. If heading South, you will find Wailea, with a few dining options. So no need to drive far to find what you're looking for.

A few things to note:

*Buy the Maui Revealed book as it does give all the details you will need for your stay.
*Make sure to snorkel at the Aquarium and Fishbowl down at La Perouse Bay. You will see far more fish and coral life there than anywhere.
*Avoid Lahaina--The traffic is terrible and you will sit in it for hours if you try to head in or away from Lahaina between 1:00 & 6:00.
*Do the road to Hana if you never have and stop and enjoy the scenery, waterfalls and quaint towns. Be sure to hike the Pipiwai trail as it will leads you through an incredible hike through the rainforest. The point of the drive is not Hana, but what you will see on the way and beyond.
*Avoid the chain restaraunts and try new places. You pay so much money to eat at Bubba Gumps and the food is just ok. Be adventurous!
*If you are staying in Maui for 5 or more days--go to Costco to pick-up the brunt of your groceries. It is cheaper. You can also pick-up cheap seafood there on the weekends. There is also a Safeway, Foodland & Star Market just down the road, but is more expensive than Costco.
*If you would like a great souvenier--get your picture taken professionally. We went through http://www.LeGaryPhotoMaui.com. We called around and she offered the best price @ $175.00 for 36 prints & negatives. WOW! She will come to where you are. Great lady!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

We have been staying in 106 every few years since 1983 and it is still the best location on Maui. We love the beaches and the sunsets every night.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

We spent half of our Holiday on the Westside of the Island, and the Southside in Kihei.
We rented from the owner who owns both homes we stayed at, while the other unit has to be the most exquisite we have ever stayed in, this has to be the very best oceanfront location you will find on the Island!
We had a ground floor unit right up front at the pool and ocean, this has to be the best miles and miles of soft sand beaches in the world.
Wonderful small complex, the pool felt like it was ours alone to enjoy, the bbq area was steps from the kitchen, and right across the street from the complex was some of the best food on the Island, along with many wonderful little shops and mini-mart.
We found that we so enjoyed the area right there, that we seldom used the rental car, as why leave a good thing.
Our unit was by far the nicest of the others that we had looked at while there, it even came with a computer on high speed cable!
Everything was supplied that we needed right inside the unit, it has washer/dryer/ 3 TV'S all on cable and 2 DVD players with many movies, every kitchen item, the most wonderful beds we have slept in, 2 baths, full closet of towels, pillows, more sheets, beach stuff, and the oceanviews from inside the unit were awesome!
We so enjoyed the new manager Don, the landscape and grounds were done in the afternoon once a week, there was no noise in the pool and it had to be one of the most peaceful spots we have ever found.
We rented from the owner, she is minutes away from this lovely unit and she made the renting smooth sailing for us
You must get this #105, it just has to be the best unit with the best location you will find on the entire Island for your Holiday vacation!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Kamoale Nalu in January 2005. We found the views and location to be excellent which exceeded our expectations considering what we paid to stay there. The pool is lovely & clean facing the ocean. The unit was clean and well maintained. One drawback were the wicker couches which were not the best to relax in after a day of activities.

The beach is absolutely wonderful. You have to walk down a trail to reach the beach (takes 30 seconds to get to the beach). Snorkeling is usually very nice but a storm came in & stirred up the sand so visibility was poor after the storm.

We have been to Hawaii 3 times and this was by far the best overall in views, location, cleanliness and value. This is the only place we would want to stay if we return to Maui.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2005

The "Nalu" is a wonderful vacation spot located between two of the best beaches on Maui. We have stayed there several times and will continue to visit whenever we can. We love to sit out on the lanai and listen to the ocean. It is not fancy, but clean and comfortable. Everything we need is within walking distance. We always stay in an 05 or 06 unit and it is worth the extra expense to be oceanfront. We would recommend this place without reservation.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle. WA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

This is a great place to come! I never experienced people on cell phones outside my door or loud Bar-hoppers. They must enforce the rules, and we truly respected them too! Not once did I hear this LOUD stuff goin' on. I loved listening to the surf at nite...we stay in at least an 04+ room (closer to the ocean) and looooooooove the sound. SO what if they are weed-whacking at 7am..u should be up by then!! (unless YOU were one of the partiers the night before!! HAHAHAHA) Anyway...I'm looking for a different place to stay for this June, but after reading the reviews: I WANT THE NALU!! I cant wait to come back! (we have 3 kids ages 5, 7 & 8 now) GREAT for families!!

Stayed June 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamaole Nalu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Nalu Resort

Address: 2450 S. Kihei Road, Between Kanani and Keonekai Roads, next to Kamaole Beach Park II, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kamaole Nalu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Nalu Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Nalu Kihei
Kamaole Nalu Resort Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamaole Nalu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.