We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location - but NOISY!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Island Surf Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Surf Condominiums
Save
You added Island Surf Condominiums to your Saves list
1993 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Central Location - but NOISY!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We stayed here because of the very reasonable price. The condo itself had everything we needed, including chairs to take to the beach. The location was close to the major grocery stores, as well as many restaurants. The building was kept clean by the staff. But I would not stay here again, only because it was too noisy!
The condos are located right on a busy road, with another fairly busy road going off at an angle on one of the sides. We actually got used to the road noise, the only time it really bothered us was at those times when we were trying to watch TV in the evenings.
The worst part of the noise comes later at night, when you're trying to sleep, and comes from the back of the condos, where the bedrooms are. The block is shaped in a relaxed "L" shape, with the crook of the "L" facing a lot of restaurants a couple of blocks away. This configuration acts like an "ear" that catches all the sound.
We found when others had visitors that left, they would stand in the parking lot and talk. Normally that would not be a problem, but sound was amplified because of the "L" shape. Then at 10 pm - 2 am every night, one of the nightclubs/bars/restaurants in the vicinity would start live music. The bass was just loud enough to reverberate through your head and stop you from sleeping. If you plan on partying that late every night, then this place will be ideal for you.
A word of caution. The beach across the way is great for beginning surfers, but somewhere in that bay, and it may be a block or so to the North, there is evidently treated waste water that is expelled out in the bay. Because of this there is more algae in the cove, you can see it and smell it. If you walk a little way along to Charlie Young Cove you won't have the same problem, and that's where the 3 beautiful Kamaole beaches start.
Next time I will be prepared to pay a little more for less noise.

  • Liked — Convenient to grocery stores and restaurants.
  • Disliked — Too noisy!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    1
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

We are repeat vacation guests at Dorli's beautiful condo on the 6th floor. Without fail, everytime we enter this condo, the view is breathtaking. From panoramic ocean views to walking distance to shopping and restaurants to the high standards of this owner in assuring the comfort of guests, who could ask for more?

Dorli presents a vacation retreat complete with high quality furnishings including a king size bed, fully equipped kitchen and wi-fi availability for those of us who take our laptops along. We have stayed in her condo for several years and have never been disappointed.

We always stay in one of her condo units since we know there will be no unpleasant surprises. I'd highly recommend any of her condos for a pleasant Hawaiian holiday.

Mahalo,
Laurel

  • Liked — Location, high quality furnishings, well equipped.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

We stayed here in April 2008. We were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of this unit [1 BR/1BA – 5th Floor], as well as the great view of the ocean (and whales!) The open great room style of the kitchen/living room was nice, and the added touch of flesh flowers simply elegant. We appreciated the amenities in the kitchen and bath that were available, and the proximity to our favorite Kihei restaurants made this a fantastic rental! And the beach supplies, chairs, towels and snorkel gear, made every day an adventure!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

I would highly recommend this place if you want a clean extremely well equiped cute condo with a BEAUTIFUL view. The owner is wonderful to work with! I felt like I was staying at a friend's condo. The location is centrally located. You have tourist things to do. Yet, you can also enjoy the locals. We snorkeled daily at all the beaches. The mornings are magical on the lanai. This was my favorite family vacation yet!!!

  • Liked — clean, neat, lots of beach toys
  • Disliked — the exterior of the building doen not look very resort-y
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Most of the time where you stay is as important as where you go on a vacation. It can make or break the experience. We couldn't have been happier with you Island Surf condo in Maui. When we got up in the morning and before we went to bed at night we were able to enjoy the spectacular views of the ocean and mountains.

The condo was perfect for us, especially with all the extra amenities we had available to us (beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel gear, ice chest, boogies boards, etc.). Definitely one of the best vacations we've had in years.

The Management Company was wonderful to deal with. All of our needs were met -- excellent views, in-unit washer and dryer, well equipped kitchen. Very clean. Very comfortable beds. Close to restaurants, bars, shopping (groceries and souvenirs). Park your car in the great private lot and you will not need to move it until it is time to go home!!!

  • Liked — Comfortable, felt like home. Everything I wanted was there or close by.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Surf Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Surf Condominiums

Address: 1993 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our retreat in paradise. We invite you to share our getaway in sunny, tropical southern Maui. Our newly-decorated condominiums have been furnished to provide you with every necessity to ensure your comfort. Whether your interests are golfing, snorkeling, kayaking, shopping or just pure escape, our ideally located condos will allow you to immerse yourself in all the beauty and splendor Maui has to offer without traveling long distances by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Surf Condominiums Hotel Kihei
Island Surf Condominiums Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Surf Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.