We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland food, bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe O'Lei Kihei

Cafe O'Lei Kihei
2439 S Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
(808) 891-1368
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 143 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bland food, bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Food was bland and expensive. Has a terrible experience. Went later at night, was loud, crowded and service wasn't very good, food was dry, bland and overpriced. Wanted to try this place after a local told me if was good food but I was very disappointed. After trying about 10 different restaurants on the islands this was by far the worst one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    438
    156
    74
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fm Mmmmmm yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food and service was first rate. Started with mango martini and hubby with Maui wowe with calamari appetizer. Not a bad start. Then on to tossed greens with basalmic and bleu cheese crumbles. Entrees were for me seared ahi and hubby macadamia honey crusted pork. Oh my! Finally amazing lilikoi cheese cake with kinda coffee. It doesn't get much better. Our waiter was spot on. Attentive but not intrusive. Can't recommend this place enough. If in Kihei put it on your special dinner night stop

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

You can't go wrong with cafe o lei. Best value on the island and the food is good. The noise level is a little loud but the servers are engaging and fun. Nice to see the owners pitching in when its busy too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only one thing wrong...we didn't find this restaurant sooner!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Wow....I can't say enough about this restaurant! We were trying to find a place for 8 of us to eat without having to sell the farm to do it. We looked on Trip Advisor in the Kihei area, and realized that Cafe O'Lei was under our noses the whole time, or should I say, over our noses?
We went to S & Q Shave ice once a day, and we saw the VERY unassuming stairs up to this restaurant. When I say unassuming, I mean it! DON'T LET THE OUTSIDE OF THIS PLACE SCARE YOU OFF! The look of the sign outside would easily scare me off....lol. All sun bleached and peeling.
Not only is the food fantastic, the service was bar none....yes, even the water server was so attentive without "bugging us" and my water glass was never empty! Because my mom and dad were fitting the bill, its was all we drank. But the drinks looked very yummy too! I had the blackened mahi mahi and their special for dessert, the Banana Cheesecake in Philo Pastry....WOW!!!
Also, DO NOT over look the daily special....my brother-in-law ordered it and it was amazing...I think it was mahi mahi with curry butter and an amazing salad, huge portion for $7.95!!
So there you have it: try this restaurant....it was the best one we ate at, and we were there for 2 weeks! And the cheapest!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great consistent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've been here several times over the past few years and we always go back, it's always great food and never disappoints. Call for appointment as it gets very busy . Ask for a table on either side of father roster aunt as some tables in the middle can be a bit close, noisy and people bumping into you. Still worth for the great food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe O'Lei Kihei also viewed

 

Been to Cafe O'Lei Kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe O'Lei Kihei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.