We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BarBQue - Must Be Because its in the South (of Kehei)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Daddy's Smokehouse BBQ

Fat Daddy's Smokehouse BBQ
1913 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-879-8711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 153 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good BarBQue - Must Be Because its in the South (of Kehei)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As other readers have mentioned, this is a small restaurant. We were enticed to take a table on their outdoor patio which is nothing more than a small area encapsulated by a wood wall. Not exactly spacious or welcoming. However, the service was very good and the food on par with some of the better BarBQue restaurants; and definitely priced right for a family (Under $20 per person with a soft drink).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    132
    46
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greater Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Who would guess this little dive would have extraordinary BBQ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thanks to tripadvisor and a drive-by, I stumbled upon a very small -- they only have seating for about 30-40 people -- dive restaurant at a non-descript corner location in Kihei, Maui, HI that serves unbelievably good BBQ. I ordered a full rack of pork spareribs and the meat fell off the bone. The flavor of the sauce, cooked on the ribs and drizzled over the meat, coupled with the expertly grilled pork ribs with a little char, was truly outstanding. The flavor of these ribs was nothing you would expect walking into the small dining room and narrow bar. But, believe me, your taste buds will be in for a treat for real BBQ lovers. I am from Cincinnati, Ohio where the Montgomery Inn is a traditional BBQ staple of that region. But this sauce and these ribs tasted homemade right off the grill, and I have to say they were much better. Service at Fat Daddy's was excellent and Nic, our female server, was as friendly and real as they come. Stop in; you will be sooo glad you did!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This small place on the main drag in Kihei has surprisingly good BBQ and is very reasonably priced. We especially liked the pulled pork. Sides were excellent too. Not the fanciest place, but a solid choice. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a car load driving back to Lahaina after watching the sun set on Big Beach. I pulled up an app to find local restaurants. While looking for another place, we found Fat Daddy's. I'm so glad we in. The parking lot is tight, so we used the grocery store lot across the street. (You're not supposed to, but we couldn't find anything else and we were hungry.)
Amazing pulled pork sandwich. Hold on, that should be all caps. AMAZING pulled pork sandwich. Really good slaw, too. My wife raved about the brisket. Everyone enjoyed the corn bread. The draft beer was served in a frozen fishbowl glass. Grandpa ordered a strawberry daiquiri and raved about it. They add a little pineapple to them, fyi.
It's not a fancy place, by any means. Reminds me of a basement dinner in Chicago. But this food was so delicious, I'd enjoy it while sitting on a curb.
Friendly service. Great experience. Thank you, Fat Daddy's!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Ribs were excellent. Service was also great. Good value for Maui. Buy a plate, get a second half off between 2-5pm. Beans and slaw were also good. Corn bread was a bit too buttery for our taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Daddy's Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Fat Daddy's Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Daddy's Smokehouse BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.