We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Mililani
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Substandard hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I just returned from a trip from Maui with my son's middle school. We stayed at this hotel for a couple days. The hallways had a bad smell and our room had ants and bugs. The AC was just terribly loud which made it hard to sleep and clearly was an older model which sounded the same no matter what setting you had it on. A couple of our chaperones entered their room and immediately detected a moldy smell and became ill within minutes. This is a old hotel but is clearly not up to standards of even being a decent hotel. The only good thing about this stay was the buffet breakfast that was set up for us and the kids which was substantial. I suffered from headaches and body aches while in the room that seemed to resolve once we were out and about.

Room Tip: I can't add a tip because I think the hotel has a serious mold problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Maui Beach Hotel. We want to also thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We highly value your matter and appreciate your comments as we discuss options to eliminate such reoccurrences and to properly handle this type of situation in the most appropriate way.

We are sorry for the imconvenience and annoyance this incident cause.

Thank you again for your comments, and hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    80
    123
    42
    32
See reviews for
55
130
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed the first part of our trip at the Hyatt on Kaanapali and the last few days at the Maui Beach Hotel. We definately liked the Maui Beach hotel better!!! Air conditioning worked....the staff were truly wonderful.....just an overall better experience! Yes the hotel is "older", but the people working there make ALL the difference. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations.

Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is an old hotel as shown by the in-wall AC, which was hard to control. We had a standard 2 BR on the second floor. It was about 250 SF, but seemed smaller because of the placement of the bathroom, which was small, and the closet area.

The building, lobby, and room furniture looked plain and old. The beds were good for sleeping comfort. The breakfast was basic. Some of the rooms had a balcony. There was a small beach which we were told might be tainted because of possible pollution from nearby port activity.

The location, although not picturesque, was very good, near the center of town, and close to stores.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. Please know that your feedback is very important to us, and it will be a valuable tool as we make changes to enhance the guest experience.

When you have the opportunity to return to Maui, we hope that you will once again choose the Maui Beach Hotel.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kahului hotels

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good value for Maui, pleasant staff but dated. Really how much time do you spend in your room?? you are in Maui for goodness sake. Hotel is located between the Sheraton & Weston so you are in good company. Great walking path along front of hotel strip, beach is great but everything costs in Maui.

Room Tip: Had partial ocean view, worked great nice balcony overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have traveled on business throughout Hawaii. This is one of the best place I've stayed. The Maui Beach Hotel made me feel welcome and comfortable, from the front desk, to my room. The place is clean, quiet and convenient to all parts of the island. The staff are mellow. It's nice to go to a place where it's clear they're thinking about your stay. There's a beach right out front. It seems off-putting at first, because of the harbor. But, it's a spiritual and welcoming spot, with paddle boarders and swimmers most time of the day - like a hidden pool. I completely enjoyed it. When I come back to Maui, I will stay here. I encourage everyone to do the same.

Room Tip: It's worth having a waterview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations.

Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My review may be a bit different than the others as my purpose for being in this particular area was of a business nature.

I found the hotel to be comfortable, safe and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the view from my room overlooking the lawn and gazebo with the ocean in the background and the most beautiful mountain to view each morning was a treat.

The staff was courteous and helpful, the shuttle drivers that drove me to my destination each morning early and picked me up each evening were wonderful and always helpful and courteous.

I appreciated the good buffet each morning with delicious pineapple and papaya and other healthy choices and felt the price was reasonable.

I also liked the fact that the large mall was almost directly across the street even though I didn't have much time to enjoy it.

I liked the security of having to key to access the entry halls to the rooms also.

If I ever have short or long term business in this area of the island I would definitely stay here again.

Thank you to all the staff and the drivers that made my stay a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Aloha,

We were delighted to read you comments. We always enjoy hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

Thank you again for your comments, and look forward to servicing you in the future.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

What we especially liked is that this hotel is very convenient. If you have a car, you can drive to any place in Maui and get back within the day. For example we could drive all around the eastern half of the island counterclockwise, stop at the eastern entrance of Haleakala National Park, walk for several hours, drive further to Hana and then back to Kahului. Therefore we think that this place is a good base to explore Maui. In addition, close to the hotel and within walking distance, there is a shopping mall (there is also a food court) and a supermarket. Furthermore the airport is very close, as the free shuttle bus takes less than 15 minutes from/to the airport.
The building is located by the sea. The reception area is very spacious and has a hawaiian atomsphere (like the airport, it is also airy). The hotel has only two floors: ground floor and first floor. Our room was here and the window looked at the hotel's garden (see attached pictures). We liked it (we could also see the ocean) although the window was not very clean (the majority of the property's windows should be cleaned). As for the room, this was pleasant, spacious enough, clean and equipped with a fridge, a flat TV and a little bit loud air-conditioning (but no micro-wave, neither tea/coffee facilities).
In additon to that, the hotel has a self-service laundry room, a couple of computers for guests (they cost 1$ for 5 minutes), a swiming pool and a restaurant where breakfast is served (it costs 12,95$).
That said, it might not be the best and the most romantic hotel for a honeymoon but it does the trick for budget travellers (we stayed five nights), so we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfactionis is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and free internet access, airport shuttle service, and fitness room access. Come stay in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.