We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else if you can” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Ocean Shores, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else if you can”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Currently staying at the Maui beach hotel and I would not recommend it unless you are getting a room for under $100. The hotel needs updating badly. The beds are horribly uncomfortable. Lots of road noise at night. Very hard to get a good nights sleep. The front desk staff is hit and miss. Some of them are very nice and some we encountered were quite rude. The breakfast is ok but $13 is way too expensive. And they are now charging for parking. You can find a vacation rental for a much better price and a much more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you fot taking the time to fill out our questionnaire. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    82
    135
    51
    40
See reviews for
60
143
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great budget hotel. I stayed here for a week and was quite pleased with it. The price was very low, the room was clean, the staff was polite, the breakfast was fair. I stayed in a room that had two double beds. It was kind of small, but I didn't mind seeing as it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast is $12.95, but it is a buffet so it's a good deal if you eat large portions. Maybe not such a great value if you eat small meals as you may be better off going to Whole Foods right down the street for less money. Speaking of right down the street, the hotel is in a great location. It is close to the airport, but not so close that you have planes flying over head all the time. I don't remember hearing any at all. It's close to Whole Foods, Foodland, Queen Ka'ahumanu Mall, and Long's Drugs. It is easy to access all areas of the island from here. Parking at this hotel is free, but the lot can get pretty full in the evenings. There will surely be an open spot, but you might end up at the far end of the lot. The hotel is right on the beach. It's not the prettiest beach on Maui, as you can see the freight harbor that's right down the road, but it's a beach none the less and can still be enjoyable. My room was on the second floor and right next to a busy road which was quite loud until about 11pm Hawai'i time. It was a little annoying at times, but not awful. I still slept fine. My biggest complaint about this hotel is that they do not have wifi in the rooms. Only in the dining room upstairs, the lobby downstairs, and the courtyard outside. There is wired internet access in every room though if that's okay with you. This might be a funny statement to make, but throughout my entire week stay there was not one cockroach in my room. I have traveled to Hawai'i many times and cockroaches are a very common sight on the islands so I was pleasantly surprised to have had no -unwanted guests- in my room. The fitness center in the hotel is sparse. It has two treadmills, and elliptical machine, a bench, and a rack of dumbbells going up to 50 bounds if I remember correctly. I wish more was offered in the fitness center, but it's enough to suffice a traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms on the eastern portion of the hotel are quieter as they are not next to the busy road I mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We always strive to make your stay at our establishment the best possible. We hope to see you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is a need of a major upgrade. We booked in here from Priceline because it was the cheapest place we could find and we were only staying the night.

at $119.00 a night plus tax apparently this is a deal in Maui.

anyway the resort is rundown and old so be prepared for what you are getting for your money.

we knew we were getting old so we were not suprised.

it is not like the pictures so do not let that fool you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kahului hotels

Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If this is your vacation I would stay somewhere else. If you just need an overnight before the airport it is fine. It seemed to be a hotel where a lot of young surfer types share a room. I stayed there for 4 nights on a Road Scholar tour of Hawaii. They use this Hotel a lot because of the pricing. You had to sit in your room every night because of the terrible location. The "beach" is really a seaport and we were warned not to go in the water (pollution). It is on a busy highway near a shopping mall and not anywhere near the beautiful attractions of Maui. With so many beautiful hotels and locations in Maui I would definitely consider other locations if I were on vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel I was originally going to stay at was booked fully for one of the nights I wanted to stay there. I found this hotel as an alternative. The hotel was good for 1 night and the only thing I did was slept there. I checked in late and checked out early.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had the ocean front suite and it was most likely the best room and location in this hotel. It was roomy with lrg bathroom and lots of closet space. The view was looking straight out into the harbor and ocean and mountains beyond. Beds were comfy.
This hotel is not in you typical area you would expect to stay in.The area was safe, but it was not Hawaiian paradise.The hotel is a little expensive and $12 breakfast was defiantly too much. Save your money go down the street and shopat Wholefoods.
The hotel is very close to the airport. It is a nice location for day trips to Hana, Haleakala and the North Shore. There are shopping malls across the street
Wholefood Market is great for stocking up for day trips or stopping for a bite to eat all sorts of prepared meals and goodies. Costco is close and has the the cheapest gas on island very convenient for filling up rental car before returning car.
A little more on the rooms most look to be very basic. The room we stayed in was the ocean front suite. Had we stayed in any of the regular rooms my ratings would have been a bit lower. This hotel is nothing like the big hotels or resorts on the south shore. It is well kept up, but if you want Hawaiian paradise head elsewhere.

Room Tip: The hotel is 2 story with lobby in middle and to wings heading towards the harbor(ocean). Each wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Following a 6 hour flight from Los Angeles we needed to stay near the airport as the condo we had booked was not available until the following day.
The hotel shuttle picked us up at the airport and the driver was helpful and suggested some places we may like to eat including a buffet at the hotel.
The hotel was ok and the staff cordial but I felt expensive for the quality of accommodation,we booked with Hotwire at a discounted rate and I certainly would not have paid the rack rate.
I am sure the buffet provided would have been fine but we did not want a large all you could eat type meal so we just went to another place in the mall.
We needed to leave early so did not bother with breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and free internet access, airport shuttle service, and fitness room access. Come stay in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.