We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel but not in a "vacation spot"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel but not in a "vacation spot"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If this is your vacation I would stay somewhere else. If you just need an overnight before the airport it is fine. It seemed to be a hotel where a lot of young surfer types share a room. I stayed there for 4 nights on a Road Scholar tour of Hawaii. They use this Hotel a lot because of the pricing. You had to sit in your room every night because of the terrible location. The "beach" is really a seaport and we were warned not to go in the water (pollution). It is on a busy highway near a shopping mall and not anywhere near the beautiful attractions of Maui. With so many beautiful hotels and locations in Maui I would definitely consider other locations if I were on vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    114
    40
    29
See reviews for
51
115
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
194 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel I was originally going to stay at was booked fully for one of the nights I wanted to stay there. I found this hotel as an alternative. The hotel was good for 1 night and the only thing I did was slept there. I checked in late and checked out early.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had the ocean front suite and it was most likely the best room and location in this hotel. It was roomy with lrg bathroom and lots of closet space. The view was looking straight out into the harbor and ocean and mountains beyond. Beds were comfy.
This hotel is not in you typical area you would expect to stay in.The area was safe, but it was not Hawaiian paradise.The hotel is a little expensive and $12 breakfast was defiantly too much. Save your money go down the street and shopat Wholefoods.
The hotel is very close to the airport. It is a nice location for day trips to Hana, Haleakala and the North Shore. There are shopping malls across the street
Wholefood Market is great for stocking up for day trips or stopping for a bite to eat all sorts of prepared meals and goodies. Costco is close and has the the cheapest gas on island very convenient for filling up rental car before returning car.
A little more on the rooms most look to be very basic. The room we stayed in was the ocean front suite. Had we stayed in any of the regular rooms my ratings would have been a bit lower. This hotel is nothing like the big hotels or resorts on the south shore. It is well kept up, but if you want Hawaiian paradise head elsewhere.

Room Tip: The hotel is 2 story with lobby in middle and to wings heading towards the harbor(ocean). Each wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Following a 6 hour flight from Los Angeles we needed to stay near the airport as the condo we had booked was not available until the following day.
The hotel shuttle picked us up at the airport and the driver was helpful and suggested some places we may like to eat including a buffet at the hotel.
The hotel was ok and the staff cordial but I felt expensive for the quality of accommodation,we booked with Hotwire at a discounted rate and I certainly would not have paid the rack rate.
I am sure the buffet provided would have been fine but we did not want a large all you could eat type meal so we just went to another place in the mall.
We needed to leave early so did not bother with breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was one f the most affordable places we could find to stay a night closer to Lahaina as most hotels were sold out. The staff upon check in wasn't very friendly and when we wished them a great day they replied with "sure". Lol. The room was small with a view of the busy street. The hotel seems a bit run down but it served its purpose. The cost of the rooms seem a bit high for what you get, but then again it's maui.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked last minute, we are accustomed to much larger accommodations. However considering everything was sold out and what was left was going for over 500.00/night. When we arrived I was very apprehensive since this is an old property.. This was built in 1969! Anyway I was relieved to find that the room, though small, was very clean, the bed was ok. Sheets were clean, always take the bed apart layer by layer (from experience) all the way down to the bare mattress ..and was satisfied. Flat screen tv was great, requested blankets and battery for tv remote and service was prompt. Had issues logging in to the wifi and maintenance arrived promptly when he saw he couldn't help me he went and got help from the front desk and came back to follow up. Grounds were very clean, explored the building but did not use pool, fitness center, or have the buffet, too busy spending the day on the Road to Hana or shopping in wonderful Paia. Staff was friendly and helpful when asked about activities sightseeing and dining...I loved the location because of easy access to all the main parts of the island. Everything was a short drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your very pleasant comment. We always strive to make our guest stay at our establishment the best possible. We also appreciated you for taking the time to write to us, and look forward to seeing you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzukon Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had a last minute opportunity to go to Maui high season and this hotel was available. At the price I was a little concerned but pleasantly surprised. The location is central, easy access to shopping and restaurants, clean rooms, friendly staff, a win win.
Stay away from the breakfast. Not worth the price and the quality of food poor.
I would go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and we are very happy to read your comments. It is our goal to give the best service possible. We look forward to servicing you in the future.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and free internet access, airport shuttle service, and fitness room access. Come stay in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.