We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just an average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was one f the most affordable places we could find to stay a night closer to Lahaina as most hotels were sold out. The staff upon check in wasn't very friendly and when we wished them a great day they replied with "sure". Lol. The room was small with a view of the busy street. The hotel seems a bit run down but it served its purpose. The cost of the rooms seem a bit high for what you get, but then again it's maui.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    114
    40
    29
See reviews for
51
115
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked last minute, we are accustomed to much larger accommodations. However considering everything was sold out and what was left was going for over 500.00/night. When we arrived I was very apprehensive since this is an old property.. This was built in 1969! Anyway I was relieved to find that the room, though small, was very clean, the bed was ok. Sheets were clean, always take the bed apart layer by layer (from experience) all the way down to the bare mattress ..and was satisfied. Flat screen tv was great, requested blankets and battery for tv remote and service was prompt. Had issues logging in to the wifi and maintenance arrived promptly when he saw he couldn't help me he went and got help from the front desk and came back to follow up. Grounds were very clean, explored the building but did not use pool, fitness center, or have the buffet, too busy spending the day on the Road to Hana or shopping in wonderful Paia. Staff was friendly and helpful when asked about activities sightseeing and dining...I loved the location because of easy access to all the main parts of the island. Everything was a short drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your very pleasant comment. We always strive to make our guest stay at our establishment the best possible. We also appreciated you for taking the time to write to us, and look forward to seeing you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzukon Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had a last minute opportunity to go to Maui high season and this hotel was available. At the price I was a little concerned but pleasantly surprised. The location is central, easy access to shopping and restaurants, clean rooms, friendly staff, a win win.
Stay away from the breakfast. Not worth the price and the quality of food poor.
I would go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and we are very happy to read your comments. It is our goal to give the best service possible. We look forward to servicing you in the future.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for one night. The room was spacious and comfortable for a night's stay. Having flown from Australia this was perfect to rest, walk on the beach and visit the shops/ restaurants across the road and then proceed to the west coast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the noisy air conditioner.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Clean, easy check in/out. Shuttle convenient and reliable. Nothing fancy but perfect for an overnighter near the airport. Mall within walking distance (macys, foodland, ross etc.). Stayed because connecting home. Would definitly stay again in this situation.

Room Tip: Close to elevator for easy exit?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Customer satisfaction is very important for us, and we are happy to read your comments. We also appreciate you for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to seeing you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is pretty close to the Airport. And they had Free Parking!!!! Our hotel room was facing the dumpsters. Wasn't bad because we were on the 2nd floor so you had to stand up to see them. They didn't smell so thats a plus!. When you are sitting on the small beds all you can see is palm trees. The window was small and the rooms were not that clean. AND this was the UPGRADED room. HOWEVER.. If this was a review on the staff, I do have to say they were Really nice and would get a 4 from me.
We didn't stay in the room but to sleep, we were in Hawaii to explore, we weren't there to hang out at the hotel so it was fine. If you are looking to hang out at the hotel, this would NOT be the hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a colleague for a conference that I was attending on Maui. Unfortunately, this hotel has several issues that need addressing by the management. First, the rooms are small and do not include coffee makers or soaps/lotions. Second, the general appearance of the hotel indicates that some attention to detail, painting, etc., is required. Third, the fitness room is sparse with one treadmill (that does not accelerate beyond 4 mph, despite indicating otherwise), a broken elliptical trainer, a stationary bike, and some weights. The hotel does have a lounge and dining room, but the dining room is only open twice a week. I guess the moral of the story is always check a place out despite a recommendation.

Room Tip: It's probably not possible to get a good room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and we sincerely regret your recent experience here. We highly value your matter and appreciate your comments as we discuss options to find better solutions. It is our hope you will once again choose the Maui Beach Hotel as your lodging host, as our mission at the Maui Beach Hotel is to provide excellent service and comfort at reasonable price.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and free internet access, airport shuttle service, and fitness room access. Come stay in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.