We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the Price, Clean and Fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Price, Clean and Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at Maui Beach Hotel for 3 nights. After a horrific night at a hostel for nearly the same price, this place was a godsend at the last minute. We stayed in a clean, bright, fresh, standard, basic room on the 2nd floor overlooking the beautiful courtyard. The room had a comfortable bed, refrigerator, and desk. There was a large closet with a door, and ironing board. A flat screen TV, remote controlled air conditioner, screened sliding patio doors leading to a private balcony with chairs and a table, and screened windows were pleasant surprises. The bathroom had a hairdryer, and soap dispenser. There was a rainfall type shower-head in a stall with a functional door that actually kept the water in the shower, also with orange scented soap and shampoo dispensers. One night, there was some noise from a gathering in the courtyard below our window, so we could not keep the door and windows open, but overall this is a quiet hotel. The ice machine and drink vending machine are in a smaller room with a door that isolates potential noise. The pool is on the second floor and closes at 5 PM. Our room was adjacent to the courtyard in view of the lobby which allowed us to access wifi from the room. You will have to ask at the front desk for the password. We were surprised that our room key cards required renewing before noon every day of our stay, or they wouldn't work. It would have been helpful if the staff had informed us. This was mildly inconvenient when attempting to enter the side door entrance near our room with armfuls of stuff, only to find the door key didn't work, and we had to walk all the way around to the lobby. This is not a luxury resort, but it is clean and comfortable, and a good value on Maui. It's in a very convenient location to the mall, grocery stores, shops, the airport, and a central location for home base to explore the island. We did not go to Hawaii to spend our time in the hotel room, so this place did a fabulous job of meeting our needs for a clean, comfortable, quiet place to sleep. We would stay again if the rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We wold like to thank you for your feedback as it will help us provide better services. The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our management. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    114
    40
    29
See reviews for
51
115
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a late arrival flight, and elected to stay near the airport at the Maui Beach in a beach front room. The room was reasonably clean. There were limited amenities. The front staff did their job, but without an "aloha" spirit. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and we sincerely regret your recent experience with our service. We will work very hard to make your next experience with us very pleasant if you give us another chance to serve you.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Three girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. The four of us didn't plan out the trip and didn't book until last minute so we were a bit limited in what was available. This hotel was one of the few available for the dates we needed. If I go back to the island, I'd book in advance and stay at a condo or one of the eco-friendly B&Bs that I looked into. That being said, the hotel was solid and we enjoyed our stay on the island.

PROS:
1. The hotel is right in Kahalui and is only 5-10 minutes from OGG airport. All 4 of us flew in from different cities/states so it was nice to be able to run back to the airport to pick up and drop off people, if you so desire. The hotel has a free shuttle also.
2. It's located a couple blocks from the island's Costco, which if you have a membership and want to save money on food, GO! Maui is definitely expensive and even places like McDonald's were way more expensive than here in Oregon, but Costco prices were almost the same as at home. We had their $1.50 sausage dogs the first night for dinner. Cha-ching!
3. It's also close to a Safeway, and though still more expensive than "at home", groceries there were cheaper than the resort areas like Kihea and Lahaina. I spent about $50 at Safeway, bought a loaf of bread and peanut butter and jelly for sandwiches for the entire week, bought yummy coconut Greek Yoplait yoghurt (which I've never seen elsewhere), fresh fruit, etc and it allowed us the freedom to not have to find a restaurant for breakfast and lunch and yet still splurge on dinners.
4. It's a nice, central location on the island, so if you want to "do it all", it's a great place to loop back to after seeing the sunrise at Haleakala, checking out the beaches in West Maui, driving south to the beaches at South Maui, and driving the Hana Highway.
5. The room was clean, we had daily room service with fresh towels, linens, etc, and the beds were surprisingly comfy.
6. We had a nice view of the mountains, BAM!, right out our window. It's right on the beach on the other side, though not an incredible swimmable beach like much the western side of the island.
7. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and it has an Expedia kiosk right inside the entryway. The gal there was incredibly friendly and booked a whale watching tour for a great price for us. She was also very informative.
8. It has a pool. Granted, we didn't even swim there since the beaches were all so amazing. It was nice to hang out there though for our brief moments of "down time".
9. Our room had a mini fridge and the hotel has an ice machine. Cool, right?! You might think this is stretching a bit, but it's not a foregone conclusion to have these "amenities". We bought a jug of incredible mango juice for $4 from Safeway and a huge bottle of coconut rum from Costco for $20. Hello inexpensive mini bar!
10. The grounds are absolutely immaculate with beach front access, a short beach to walk, a bench above the beach, a gazebo in the middle of their beautiful lawn, and a huge grassy area with palm trees that was always free of people.
11. We had AC but if we'd had a quieter location, I would have preferred to have the windows open since the weather is pretty perfect there this time of year (in the 80s during the day, dropping to low 70s at night). I'm from Eugene, Oregon, so it never felt humid to me, but if you're coming from Arizona, you might appreciate the AC.

CONS:
1. The pool closes at 5. Yes, 5 pm. 5 o'clock in the afternoon. So if you're coming back from the beach at 8 pm and want to still enjoy the incredibly warm evening breezes by the pool, that's a no go. Boo.
2. No in-room microwave. Really? Not even to heat water for oatmeal? Not cool. They had a safe in the room that was easily the same size as a small microwave. I ask you...which is more useful? And yes, I know this isn't a condo, but still...
3. The room is pretty small...definitely meant for a short term stay.
4. The price...can't say enough about the price being on the high side. We paid $175/night, including their 13% tax, which you'll have to pay for any legit lodging. For less than that, you can land a pretty darn nice condo right on a pretty darn nice beach.
5. No breakfast included, not even a bagel. This is definitely not a continental breakfast kind of place, or at least our room didn't include it. Breakfast was $13 per person, and the dining area was completely empty every time we passed it. I can't speak to their food as none of us was willing to pay that price. Would've been nice for them to at least throw in a continental breakfast.
6. It's right next to a fairly busy intersection so depending on your room location, be prepared for traffic noise, and a decent amount of it. I woke up the first morning from traffic noise, even though I'm not a light sleeper, and couldn't go back to sleep. This isn't the kind of place where you wake up to birds chirping and the sound of the ocean surf.
7. The location is actually also a con since it's not located

I'd say shop around and book early, but if you're in need of last minute lodging or just a place for the first and/or last night of your stay, this isn't a bad bet. It'll put you right close to the airport with convenient shuttle service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback as it will help us to provide better services. We always enjoy hearing from our customers and highly value their comments. It is our hope you will once again choose the Maui Beach Hotel as your lodging host, as our mission at the Maui Beach Hotel is to provide excellent service and comfort at reasonable price.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived a day before we were booked at our condo in Kihei. It is close to the airport and central to restaurants and bars. Nothing special but was clean and quiet. The rooms were a bit on the small side but met our needs. We booked with the breakfast included which was very good. Free wi-fi allowed us to let our family know we made it safely. The grounds were well kept with easy access to the small beach. On our way to Kihei we stopped at nearby Costco and Walmart for some groceries.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always strive to make our guest stay at our extablishment the best possible. We also appreciated you taking the time to write to us, and look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Did a one night between places this January, Nancy was a great contact. Would use for quick stay but nothing long term. Could be cleaner. not a bad place for the money. The rooms facing the courtyard can see the water and the people picking through the garbage cans.

Room Tip: It rained through the window a little. Keep your stuff back if it comes down real good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to wite about your stay here. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manger
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is located not far from the airport and and conveniently located close to the shopping centers. The hotel staff was very friendly, efficient, and helpful. Our room was clean and we had a nice view of the ocean. We have stayed here on many occasions and are very satisfied with the service that we receive from the friendly hotel staff. Everyone is so courteous and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your very pleasant comment. We always enjoy hearing from our customers especially positive remarks. We look forward to servicing you again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I arrived on Maui on a late flight and booked this hotel because it was close to the airport and offered a free shuttle. Location is at the sea, but facing the harbor, not scenic. Across the road from shops which is handy. Rooms are average, soul-less business hotel rooms, but comfortable enough. Aircon is loud, so you have to switch it off at night and if you want o watch (and listen to the) TV. Staff was friendly, especially one of the shuttle drivers who gave travel tips or he island. I'd only recommend to use this hotel when on business in Kahului or when catching a late or early flight, as it is close to he airport. For the rest of your vacation, find something on the other side of the island!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback as it will help us provide better services. We look forward to servicing you in the future again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and free internet access, airport shuttle service, and fitness room access. Come stay in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.