We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as an airport hotel for one night, not for full stay on Maui” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Bremen, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good as an airport hotel for one night, not for full stay on Maui”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I arrived on Maui on a late flight and booked this hotel because it was close to the airport and offered a free shuttle. Location is at the sea, but facing the harbor, not scenic. Across the road from shops which is handy. Rooms are average, soul-less business hotel rooms, but comfortable enough. Aircon is loud, so you have to switch it off at night and if you want o watch (and listen to the) TV. Staff was friendly, especially one of the shuttle drivers who gave travel tips or he island. I'd only recommend to use this hotel when on business in Kahului or when catching a late or early flight, as it is close to he airport. For the rest of your vacation, find something on the other side of the island!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback as it will help us provide better services. We look forward to servicing you in the future again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    73
    116
    41
    29
See reviews for
53
120
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SeaTac, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We came for a meeting, and then to visit family and tour Maui. My first trip here, my husband has been here many times. This is very convenient to go anywhere from. We are here 8 days and really didn't want to spend all our money on a hotel so this met our needs. Nothing fancy, no frills, but come on, we are in Hawaii, who cares! The room is spacious, clean and quiet. We don't have a view but didn't expect to for the cost of the room. We are missing having a kitchen like when we stay in our timeshare, but they didn't have a property on Maui. We like to go to the harbor and buy fresh fish from the fishermen, and go to the farmer's market for fresh fruit and veggies. Hard to do with no kitchen. But we are finding several good restaurants to try. I used Tripadvisor to get a list of restaurants I wanted to check out., Today, I want to go to the Shrimp Truck!

Room Tip: If you want a view, you will have to ask for it, and pay more. We didn't want to waste our mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We were delighted to read your comments. We always enjoy hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. We look forward to servicing you in the future again,

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here after a late flight to Maui, affordable, close to the airport and easy to find. The rooms are clean, the view is nice, and so convenient to shopping and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again as my first stop in Maui. Kahalui is not a vacation spot, but a good layover spot after a long flight.

Room Tip: Make sure you are upstairs and have an air conditioner. The view of the garden is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here. We always strive to make our guest stay at our establishment the best possible. We look forward to servicing you again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place was great for my group, we didn't come to Hawaii to stay in our room. They have an airport shuttle and concierge who recommended some last minute trip idea (Iao Needle State Park, Lahaina beaches, Haleakala Summit sunrise, and whale watching for $35 at the Pacific Whale Foundation.) We did all of these in 24 hours before our flight home! The hotel was clean and comfortable and all of the staff were very friendly. They have a great courtyard that leads down to the ocean where I dipped my toes in the water. I would definitely stay here again, especially since it is half of the cost of the other airport shuttle hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the lobby can pickup wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are very happy you made us part of your wonderful trip to Maui. We also appreciated you taking the time to write to us, and look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Just checked in. Boring. Bland. No one goes out of their way to help you. Rooms are clean. Absolutely nothing extra. No movie rentals, not even a DVD player to play your own. Our room had zero view but didn't really care since only here for a quick night. Only reason to stay here is because you have an early flight. Don't even really think it's a good value. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again in the future.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I are on our last of four nights at this hotel and we've been pretty disappointed with it. We feel like there was some serious bait and switch going on. We booked a queen bed, but were told they were out and that beds are not guaranteed. They gave us a room with two doubles, which kinda sucks when you're there with your wife and you're over 6 ft. Not too comfortable. Rooms do NOT have microwaves. The only one is in the laundry room. Wifi is only available in the lobby, but not the rooms. They have a little modem and network cable in the room for computers, but ours was messed up where the modem wasn't receiving a signal. The maintenance guy came to look at it and told me they'd have to call the internet company the next day, but nothing ever happened. I work online and had to work during this vacation. Luckily, I can tether my phone for internet. I slept like crap every night because the AC unit couldn't keep the room a steady temperature. Keep going from sweating and needing to take the covers off to freezing and having to put them back on. Woke up dripping sweat multiple times every night. The TV in the room is a small CRT that barely gets any channels, even though they have cable. The cable TV stopped working yesterday. Just static on every channel now. Their fitness center is a joke. It has three cardio machines and weights that go up to 45 lbs., which is a warmup for me, and that's all. No strength machines. I gave the hotel two stars instead of one for being clean, but I've stayed in $30 a night hotels that had free wifi and better TVs with more channels and a microwave in every room. This is Maui, where big vacation stuff happens, so the lack of that stuff is quite disappointing, especially for the price. I don't know how anybody would think this place is a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of the lobby are closer to the one microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the experience you encountered during your stay at Maui Beach Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. We will carefully examine the situation and will handle it in the most appropriate way. Thank you for you comments. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Mahalo,

Cheryl Dicenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Came to visit Maui for a weekend getaway trip and decided to stay at the Maui Beach hotel. Room was exceptionally clean, I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Beds were comfortable too! Hotel is in walking distance for the mall and short driving distance to Walmart and other restaurants. Minutes from the airport; which was very convenient for our trip. Only negative, was hoped the tv was larger. , Was expecting a larger flat screen tv as advertised on the web, but not a big deal; did not mention to the front desk as our stay was short. Checkin was fast & friendly and express check out was quick. Liked the fact that the bathrm amenities are in dispensers to be green.

Room Tip: Request for a room maybe facing the water, away from the street to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We were delighted to read your comments. We always strive to make our guest stay at our establishment the best possible. We also appreciated you taking the time to write to us, and look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager
Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and free internet access, airport shuttle service, and fitness room access. Come stay in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.