We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the 2am wake-up!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders

Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders
58 A Amala Place, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
1-877-764-2453
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the 2am wake-up!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed cruiser Phil's volcano ride. It was a little chilly up top but they provided jackets to keep you warm. The sun rise was breath taking and a memory we won't forget. I was a little nervous about the windy roads and car traffic but safety was their top priority and it completely eased my nervous. Fantastic views and a fantastic time!! Everette and Drew you were great!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leilastutu, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you and we will pass along your Aloha to Everett and Dru. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    20
    9
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not worth the 2am wake up call.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Our company booked Cruiser Phil's for a group of 12. We left our hotel at 2:45AM and then went directly to Cruiser Phil's where we hung out for what seemed like 45mins or so. At this time waivers are signed and you are ask to PRE-select your breakfast. I really felt this part could have been done when our company booked the tour. It's hard enough getting up at 2:30. When we loaded in the van, each person was given a parka with pants and gloves. It is very cold at 10,000 ft. Then we were on our way to the top of Haleakala crater. It is important to arrive early in order to secure your spot at the railing or else all your pictures will have bodies in them.
The sun rose around 6:13am so we were waiting for probably 1 hour outside. It is really cold next to the railing (because of the wind) but you can't really move away from it or else you lose your spot.
After the sun comes up, everyone returns to the van and then you drive down the mountain where the trailer in waiting. We dropped it off on the way up.
Everyone is then fitted with a helmet and given a bike. There are many rules. Don't talk to your neighbor, stay in line, don't cross over the yellow line, dont shot gun, dont ride your neighbors tail, leave a good distance between you and your neighbor, do not pass. You do not have to pedal but maybe twice the entire bike ride down. It is ALL coasting!!!! You will be so focused on the road that you will not have much of a chance to take in the scenery. You are traveling at such a high speed that its important to watch where your bike is going and that you avoid all bumps. It's not scary but you will find yourself riding the handlebar brakes. Girls are in the front and boys are in the back. I think this is because girls tend to be a little more careful and they are the ones who set the speed. If you are in the far back, you will probably hate it because you have to go even slower.
Once you get to the town of Makawo, you will load the bikes back up since their town doesn't like bike riders and I guess years ago they had a law passed preventing biker groups. I don't know. You are then given the opportunity to get back on your bike to finish the course. Our group decided to pass and head for breakfast. Sam and Matt were our guides and be prepared for some very corny jokes. Annoying too. These guys treat you like your 5 in the manner they speak to you. We are adults, we all have drivers licenses and know the rules of the road and realize the importance of safety.
I doubt I will ever do this again. I can view sunrises anytime of the year. Yes you are above the clouds but the experience does not justify how miserably cold you are and how boring the bike ride is. If you are a type A personality you will not enjoy this since its a follow the leader activity. I am not type A, and also disliked it.
Once we arrived at breakfast, we were fed the PRE-selected breakfast that we chose at 3am. Then my group of four called a cab to get out of there as quickly as possible. We had had enough.

Joke: why is the bike lying down?
Because its Two Tire(d)
Expect many more stupid jokes like these from Matt and Sam.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leilastutu, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We understand we will not please 100% of our guests, 100% of the time. Sounds like these 4 guests were not so thrilled with the idea from the get go. Our guides did every thing possible to show the group a good safe tour. Unfortunately some guests feel the rules do not apply to them, and our guides have to deal with it. But it is always about safety. The company representitive was also on this tour and had a wonderful experience. We gladly accept criticism about corny jokes,and will always strive to keep safety of the group paramount over the personal feelings of a few.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is a great experience, would definitely recommend it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We saw an add for Cruiser Phil at our hotel and checked it on Tripadvisor. They had good reviews so we went with it. The tour guides were great and the experience as a whole was great.

For the sunrise experience, that was really nice but I think the Mauna Kea sunset experience on the big island is a bit better. Over there astronomers drom the observatories set up telescopes so that after dark you can stargaze and they will explain things, and also it is much less crowded. It was pretty cold and windy, they provide a fleece and a rain suit and ski gloves to keep the wind off, but it would be wise to have a toque and good shoes and at least a sweater

The ride down was fun with nice views. Don't expect a crazy wild ride, just a nice coast on a good paved road. The guy driving the van would radio the lead biker if a car wanted to overtake so he could signal everyone to get over to the side. They said that they are recommended and advertised at the resorts due to their exceptional safety record.

The price is a bit higher than some other prices I have seen. The company is very professional and safety conscious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, nh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cruiser Phils Volcano Bike Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We got up to do the sunrise tour and bike down the volcano. Matt and Jay were our guides and they were excellent guides. Safety was their top priority. The pick up at the hotel was right on time and the ride to the top was pleasurable. All 4 of us in my group loved it. I would highly recommend it and ask for Matt and Jay

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor Quality over all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Bikes were poor at best. A little more time and attention to them, and the van, and the tour , would have been appreciated. We had booked one day, and got a call when we landed that they cancelled us as they did not have enough to warrant a trip up. So we had to take another day (luckily we had one available). We had to stop twice to adjust the "no brakes" . It was beneficial that we bike all the time and knew how. Find another company.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.