We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must stop place for local Hawaiian food; best ever Kalua pork--try to go at off peak time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Kitchen Kahului

Da Kitchen Kahului
425 Koloa St. #104, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-2486
808 871 7782
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 117 restaurants in Kahului
Cuisines: Asian, Hamburgers, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Lenexa
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“a must stop place for local Hawaiian food; best ever Kalua pork--try to go at off peak time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a plain place but still had a nice atmosphere. We went at an off-peak time to avoid what are otherwise very long lines. Even then, the place was still crowded. We had a sampler platter consisting of Kalua pork, teriyaki chicken and a third thing that I forget but do remember I didn't like so much. Next time I will stick with the Kalua pork because it was excellent. The teriyaki chicken was very good but not as good as the pork. Prices were reasonable for Hawaii. If you like local Hawaiian food, this is the best I've had on the island. The kalua pork was the best I've had anywhere in Hawaii.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    254
    138
    29
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wa st
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Da Place to.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

GO! Travelers, if you are going through Kahului daytrippin or shopping for groceries, you have to go here. Not to hard to find, it is small and be prepared for a line. Casual family place, with friendly fast service, reasonable pricing and an extensive local menu, which is very, very good. Daily special board to work with also. It's one of those places you'll enjoy and go back to.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always leave here happy and full!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had the Hawaiian plate the first time, which has a lau lau, kalua pic, chicken long rice, and lomilomi salmon. It's a good one-stop shop type of entree if you're looking for a mixture of local food. I only wonder why it doesn't come with poi, which you can order as an additional side. Also had a huge slice of chocolate cake with milk.

The restaurant shares restrooms with the rest of the shops in the small strip center. To use the restroom, ask the waitress for a key.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Came here based on proximity to our hotel in Kahului and TA reviews. The place was bustling at 7:00 on a Saturday night. We waited only 5 minutes but saw many after us wait 15-20 minutes to get in. Husband tried the fried spam appetizer and loved it. Not for me. I tried the steak with onion rings on top -- it was a little salty (the menu warns that the steak is seasoned with Hawaiian salt so I was not surprised) so delicious and tender! Hoping to try for lunch or dinner again. Also, the portions were huge. The Loco Moco and soups were massive. Lots of locals there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

You have to order their Moco Loco. It is delish and a taste of Hawaii. Staff was nice and it was clean.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Kitchen Kahului also viewed

 

Been to Da Kitchen Kahului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Kitchen Kahului, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.