We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety of tasty food...good stop on the way to OGG airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Kitchen Kahului

Da Kitchen Kahului
425 Koloa St. #104, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-2486
808 871 7782
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 116 restaurants in Kahului
Cuisines: Asian, Hamburgers, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great variety of tasty food...good stop on the way to OGG airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We recently flew out of OGG airport in Maui and stopped to eat dinner at Da Kitchen right before our 10:30pm flight. We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was! They had a large variety of food (local Hawaiian dishes, Italian food, burgers, fish, etc.) and everything we ordered tasted great! The only downside I can think of is that it looks unimpressive from the outside and not much better on the inside. Just looks like a local diner, but WOW, the food is great! Will definitely go back to this place the next time we visit Maui. Its a great place to eat before getting on the plane (sure beats airplane food!).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    254
    139
    29
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Did not think I would get to this place but we were looking for something to eat after seeing waterfalls on the Hana highway. Easy to find and a short wait for lunch. Large menu and even larger portions. Very friendly staff and great food. Seems like we were the only non locals but that was a good thing. Will be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not Deserving of the Reviews Its Received”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Although staying in Kihei, we were encouraged to travel to Kahului for the 'nicer' of the Da Kitchen eateries. And after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and our Tour Book I was sold that this was going to be a good evening. Part of the reviews is true - the restaurant is a decent value for the amount of food they give you. However, the food was just average with a hodge-poge of foods thrown together without much taste. One person in our party order the shrimp scampi which we've affectionately renamed it shrimp skimpy. It was five small shrimp poured in a big bowl of endless noodles. You won't go away hungry but you will wish you were more satisfied with what you ate. And the service was horrible. Nice, pleasant wait staff but...they take orders via the cell phone and no one person seems to be responsible for your table. This means that drinks don't get refilled, plates are not cleared when you are done, and you have to flag someone down to get your check. My tour book said that Da Kitchen was da bomb. In my opinion, Da Kitchen bombed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“returning customers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We've been loyal to this place since discovering it over a decade ago. The food is authentic and delicious but the prices have also increased making it less of a good value than it used to be. Still, highly recommend. So ono!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lots of food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The portions are large, with the exception of the combo bentos. They don't mind if you share. The onion rings looked awesome, but didn't get to try them. We watched an elderly couple when their food arrived and the gentleman wanted them to take back his plate because it was too much food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Kitchen Kahului also viewed

 

Been to Da Kitchen Kahului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Kitchen Kahului, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.