We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for free breakfast when you stay at Maui Seaside Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tante's Island Cuisine

Tante's Island Cuisine
100 W. Kaahumanu Ave, Maui Seaside Hotel, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
(808) 877-0300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 120 Restaurants in Kahului
Cuisines: American, Filipino, Hawaiian, Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value for free breakfast when you stay at Maui Seaside Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

You get 3 choices for breakfast - includes coffee or juice. Food is a great value & tasty, but the hotel is a no frills hotel FYI .

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    48
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No Longer Coconut Grill, Is Called: Dente's Restaurant (Same Location)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The only reason we had ate here 3 times because my dad can't walk very far plus we don't want to lose our parking space as we're the guess of Maui Seaside Hotel. Food is just OK and basic type of food. As photo of food on plate with long slices of veggies. In realtime my veggies is much smaller than the photo shown. I had ordered cup of $1.90 4 oz. Hot Cocoa, sorry no refill. They had made over 2000% of profit from Cocoa powder just added hot water then mixed it. Dente's Restaurant has only limited opening time daily. When their busy, this restaurant is only half full because lack of value plus very limited parking space as more people goes elsewhere instead. This dining is Air Condition.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had the coconut shrimp for dinner, very tasty and good sweet sour sauce. Very nicely arranged with skewers on a pineapple slice. Very unsual baked potato, almost like a soft mashed potato with lots of seasonings. For breakfast the Hilo Fried Rice with 2 eggs is delicious, the rice has a somewhat slightly sweet taste. Would eat here again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat. Locals eat here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Took the family to the coconut rest. and had joe as our server. The food was very good, the service was very good and we had a very nice dinner. This is a place were locals eat cuz we dont have a lot of choices for a nice sit down that is reasonable in cost and still good. So if your in Kahului, stop by for dinner. The bad. parking sucks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food was OK but a bit pricey, plus we ate in the dark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The food was OK, the appetizers were on a separate menu and the server did not point that out so we did not think they even offered any.

The food was good, not great for the price. I ordered prime rib medium rare, and got almost well done. A 101 cooking mistake.

We sat on the perimeter in a booth in the corner and since it was late it was very dark in the place which had lighting only in the middle of the restaurant. Very old and dated place which I'm sure during the day is lit great with all the windows. Could have put candles on the table for a simple low cost solution.

For the money we spent I would probably not go back as you can get a better atmosphere and food for the same prices elsewhere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tante's Island Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Tante's Island Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tante's Island Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.