We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging course for a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunes at Maui Lani Golf Course

The Dunes at Maui Lani Golf Course
1333 Maui Lani Parkway, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
(808) 873-0422
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 30 Activities in Kahului
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Challenging course for a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

The course was in great condition and very challenging. It could rival some of the pricier courses if it had better amenities (like gps in the cart) and better customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good price performer with some sneaky holes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

While I enjoyed playing this course, my wife didn't. There are a few hazards that are not easy to see and layup spots that you wish you understood better when you first see them.

If you are in Maui and don't want to pay a fortune for golf, this course is a very good alternative. But come prepared to lose a few balls and wish you had read the course guide more carefully.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

A good course, but on my search it just does not match up to make Maui a place that I would consider for my golf holiday, and certainly not my retirement location.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
185 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“great layout, challenging, good greens and quick rounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Golf Hawaii discount card allows for $70/day unlimited golf! It's a great deal and we took advantage of it, playing 5 rounds over 3 days. Carts are included. I've played Kapalua & Makena, and in terms of value, the fees make it very comparable.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Links type of golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a links style golf course so you need to get the ball up in the air. Their scorecards are included in a yardage booklet which was important because there are a few blind shots. The yardage booklet assists you where to hit and stay out of trouble. Make sure you ring the bell on 10 to inform the group behind you that you they are clear to hit, lol. On 11 you have a tough shot up a steep hill, if you don't get it up there your ball could come rolling back down the hill. There are many challenging holes that make it an interesting course to play.

This place was a pleasant surprise to find, it is in the middle of a residential area, also on the side of new and future development areas. They have a nice driving range and putting green. A nice restaurant also. This place is great to play before you have to catch your flight back home, not very far from the airport and the rental car return.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dunes at Maui Lani Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to The Dunes at Maui Lani Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunes at Maui Lani Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.