We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shrimp Truck on Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geste Shrimp Truck

Geste Shrimp Truck
Kahului Beach Rd, Kahului, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 122 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Description: This is the only shrimp truck on Maui. Shrimp trucks are very popular on Oahu, so I wanted to compare/rate this business.
Restaurant details
Description: This is the only shrimp truck on Maui. Shrimp trucks are very popular on Oahu, so I wanted to compare/rate this business.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp Truck on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went on a search for the best food trucks on Maui. Geste's we found to have the best shrimp. Portions were humongous and very flavorful. I had the Spicy Pineapple and it is making my mouth water just thinking about it. The truck is parked on Kahului Beach Road across from the swap meet. Don't miss this truck if you are on the island!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    22
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lutz
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The truck is located on the east side of Maui by the harbor on the north side. We had read about it and found it by chance when we drove around the north end of Maui. So glad we found it! The Shrimp was wonderful! We will go back for sure.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“As good as Oahu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Went there with the family while in Kahului. We got two Hawaiian scampi (garlic shrimp) plates and one hot dog plate for my 5 year old (thought it was a "hot dog" with sides, but was served cut up in garlic like the shrimp plate). All were delicious - would absolutely go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Had the garlic butter shrimp and spicy pineapple shrimp - would highly recommend both! The shrimp is very fresh and of a medium-large size. Everything is cooked fresh, so there is a 10-15 min wait, assuming a shorter line. Definitely one of the better shrimp trucks I've had while in Hawaii. The location is not that scenic, though, and it would've been nice to have a place there to sit while eating (we ended up taking away to eat in the car in a parking lot down the street).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic garlic shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Don't be turned off by the location or the truck itself. Unbelievable garlic butter shrimp. It is served with rice and a macaroni salad served in a lovely white styrofoam container. No seating, find a place to park near the shoreline and enjoy. 12 good size shrimps. Fantastic garlic taste swimming in butter.
Wonderful taste!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geste Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Geste Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geste Shrimp Truck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.