We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Seaside eminates with true Hawaiian hospitality from its friendly staff, clean accommodations and central location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 OFF PLUS FREE UPGRADE
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Maui Seaside eminates with true Hawaiian hospitality from its friendly staff, clean accommodations and central location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Great location in the heart of Kahului right across shopping malls and a variety of restaurants. Our room came with a mini kitchen that had a mini refrigerator and microwave oven--so convenient. Room was very clean and comfortable for three people. Overall, staff was friendly and very accommodating. One could not help but feel the family ambiance of the aloha spirit from the time of check-in to the time of check-out. We would not hesitate to recomment the Maui Seaside to both family and friends. We truly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay at the Maui Seaside Hotel on future trips to Maui.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    181
    167
    55
    35
See reviews for
97
215
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed here 1 night after a long flight before moving to a condo in Kahana. The room was dated but very clean. The shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. The bed and pillows were perfect. This was the best night sleep I had my entire trip in Maui. It is a bit too far from the main vacation hot spots. If it were closer to the great food and beaches of Lahaina I would have moved back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I spent a week in early September at the Maui Seaside Hotel in Kahului, Maui, Hawaii.
It was honestly the best place if on a budget. It's nicely situation in Maui's largest city, close to the airport, the only Wal-Mart on the island, and the gateway to the Road to Hana as well as the volcano. The hotel staff was very accomidating as well. They helped us out endless times. An added bonus to this hotel is just how close it is to shopping centers, gas stations, and eating establishments. You're less than an hour from Maui's famous west coast. It's not a super fancy place. It's a simplistic hotel that's clean.
All in all, my wife, baby and myself are happy and please that we selected the Maui Seaside Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERSIDE, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We loved this hotel. We stayed here one night - Friday Oct 8th, after landing from a flight to Kahului from LAX via Honolulu -- we arrived late - 11 PM. We were beat.
These guys were very nice, courteous, caring and just wonderful. The room was a basic hotel room but it was clean and comfortable and quiet. There is a parking lot on site but we did have to pay $5.00 to park our rental car. They also have an on site security guard.
The location is "Local" and not close to the resorts but there is a beach and a nice bay/ocean view. I've posted a few pictures on this site and you will see that the grounds are well maintained and very nice.
There is a coffee shop - "Coconut Grille" attached to the hotel and we had breakfast there. The food and service were excellent.

This is a good hotel to use as a base location for sight seeing while on the island.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We considered taking a trip to Maui for 3 nights while staying at friend's in Oahu.
In our efforts to find affordable quality lodging in Maui, we considered many choices, including several B&B's , and this hotel. But we happened to end up in it due to the Hotwire's Hotdeal: they offered us a extremely attractive price for a hotel in a determined area, around 25-30% cheaper than the cheapest hotel in the island, but without revealing the name of the hotel, just how many starts and some of the service it includes, and an immediate payment is required, and no cancellations accepted. Only after you buy, then they tell you what hotel you paid for.
We took the risk and we certainly were not disappointed.
Even though the lady that received us at the front desk clearly was in training in her first days of work, backup girls came to help and we were delighted. There was no problem.
We were surprised to learn that the rate includes full service breakfast in the restaurant next door, the Coconut Grill.
The only downside is they charge $5 parking a day. It's good because they have security agent all night long checking and going around the cars.
They offer free parking but across the busy street from the hotel, and no security watch. We just agreed in paying for their parking
The grounds were very green and clean, very nicely maintained.
Our room, maybe because of the Hotwire deal, was not in the best location: the window was looking directly to the building entrance ramp, and it was a little bit tucked in the ground, but neither of those facts affected our stay. The window was normal size and fully above the ground.
What I probably liked the most, is that the room was HUGE, probably the biggest hotel room I've been in. inside the room is also when you notice the hotel is very old, but at the same time, after 3 nights, you notice how much effort and dedication the owners/manager had put in keeping it in extremely good shape.
Our room had an area of irregular floor, near the window, but the carpet was pristine on top of it and it didn't affect our comfort either.
If you want a microwave, as stated in the hotel webpage, has to arrange it BEFORE your arrival, as well as a hair dryer, you need to ask for it in the front desk. We didn't have the microwave in our room when we arrived, but I called front desk and after less than 10 mins was brought and connected in our room.

The hotel is barely 3 or 4 miles from the airport, that is less than 10 mins, and close to all of Kahului, restaurants, convenience stores. Is also an excellent central point in the island to beaches, Haleakala and he Hana road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Maui Seaside is conveintly located to main airport and the price is great. Sure it;s 1970's style and need an upgrade. A/C keep cool but noisy and need tuneup. Ceiling Fan feel like it going to off very soon. Rooms are small but for a short trip or overnight stay is fine. Too bad no security box in each rooms and freezer doesn't work in small dorm like refrig. Free breakfast voucher good idea but same food each time and only one choice of beverage.
Overall there're better and nicer hotels and resorts/condos out there in 4 main parts of Maui but a easy access and feasible place for short stay than this is the place! Pool- small and cold water... No beaches to swim. Just a harbor and not easy to get to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed several nights at this hotel in July. My husband was visiting the island for work-related purposes, but we found plenty of time to explore central Maui as well. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful any time we had a question. We were always greeted with a smile by everyone working at the hotel. The grounds were surrounded by very nice local shrubbery. The pool overlooked the ocean and the lobby offered a room with comfy chairs overlooking the pool and ocean. The hotel was a little dated, but I really enjoy the retro feel. My impression was that the hotel had a lot of history and character. The rooms were quite and the beds were super-comfortable. We could see canoe races outside our building, which were exciting to witness when we left the hotel in the morning. The hotel does not offer a fitness center, but the track at the nearby college was open for anyone wanting to run a few laps. There are several restaurants and shopping centers within walking distance, and nice beach parks are just a few minutes away by car. We dined at The Ale House twice, which had good food and drinks at a good value. Ioa Valley State Park, Kepaniwai Heritage Gardens, and The Bailey House are all fun places to visit within a short driving distance. Also, we were treated to 'Ulalena in Lahaina, which is an absolute must-see theatrical performance depicting Maui's history. Also I recommend the Pacific Whale Foundation for sea excursions.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.