We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel/location for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Lacey, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel/location for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We had a very good time here, rooms were very clean, nice and it is an ideal central location to discover the island. It is owned by Hawaiians and there are local Hawaiian options on the breakfast menu at a reasonable price. The Hideaway is a nice beachfront restaurant just East of the hotel on the other side of the outrigger canoes. This is like an upscale Motel 6 but there is a nice beach, pool and the considerable money you save allows you to do more traveling.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    186
    168
    56
    35
See reviews for
93
212
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

My girlfriend had prepaid for 5 nights at the Maui Seaside Hotel for our first Valentine's Day vacation together. We tend to travel on a budget, but this was far below our standards on every level.

ROACHES -- we returned from our Feb. 14 dinner at Burger King (the only open "restaurant" in the area) to find a roach on the bedroom curtain. Just as I was grabbing for something to kill it with, we noticed two larger roaches crawl out from behind the headboard. They scurried around on top of our bed and under our pillows as we frantically packed up our bags.

The front desk staff was not the least bit helpful. They refused to give us a refund, and when I mentioned that I would call the Hawaii Dept of Health to report our experience, they became irate and told me not to threaten them. We finally escaped, drove to Lahaina, a much nicer city, and slept for a few hours in our rental car which was cramped but roach-free.

No matter how tempting the price and its close proximity to the airport, DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I have some 400 cities marked on my "cities I've been to" map on TripAdvisor, and this was by far the worst hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

The staff was attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable -- it was certainly not the Ritz, but for the price, I felt it was a great deal! The pool was clean and well-kept. It's location was ideal for exploring the capital city, and the location of the hotel was ideal for catching almost any highway out of town!

The hotel is not on a beach where you would swim, it's on a cove on the inside of the island. It's not as warm as it is on the western side of the island, and the sun isn't necessarily shining as much as it would be in Lahaina, but we were treated to watching many wind surfers and native rowing groups while lounging at the pool.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

For the price, the Maui Seaside Hotel can't be beat as a discount hotel for a longer term stay (rent a car and take advantage of its central location) or for a one night stay when you first arrive or fly home. Our room was on a high floor with a king bed facing the ocean, exactly as requested and we were checked in by pleasent and helpful staff which is nice after a 13 hour journey.

While it is an older hotel, they do an excellent job of maintaining the grounds in an impeccable manner and the room and hallways, while looking a bit dated, were always very clean and well kept. The bed was very comfortable, the sheets and bedcover were new and colourful and the room was very large with a table and chairs along with the king sized bed.

This is a locally owned hotel with a lot of Hawaiian Aloha spirit and was a pleasure to stay at.

The restaurant is also very good with friendly service and great food - especially after a 13 hour journey. The pasta dishes are huge and can easily be split and the breakfast menu has plenty of tempting choices and both of our breakfasts were hot and delicious.

For such a low rate I wasn't expecting much, but the Maui Seaside Hotel exceeded my expectations which is why I'm writing this review - something I don't usually do.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keli486
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

We were a little hesitant about this hotel after seeing some bad reviews elsewhere, however we wanted to go to Maui and could not afford an extravagant resort. Also, we just wanted a hotel to shower and sleep that was located in a central part of the island so we could easily access every part of Maui. The Maui Seaside Hotel was perfect for us! They automatically upgraded us to a room with a view of the courtyard/ocean when we arrived, since we were staying for 11 nights (not sure if this is normal, but was nice for us). The hotel was quiet, clean, and in our price range. If we ever go back to Maui (and we still aren't rich), we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Stayed just 2 nights here. The room was clean and large, but the furniture and beds are old. I would not stay here more than a few nights. The air condition was really loud, but worked ok. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to the mall which is just across the road.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

While the accommodations are pretty basic, this hotel served its' purpose for our quick overnight stay. It is centrally located in Waimea and helped us divide our island sightseeing between east & west sections. Note that is costs an additional $5 to park in the hotel's lot. Otherwise you can park about a block away for free. They gave us coupons at the front desk for $2 off per person at the Coconut Grill (onsite restaurant). The hotel is across the street from a strip mall which has a Burger King and a few other restaurants to choose from. There is also a gas station where you can pick up snacks or other supplies.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.