We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient start for our Maui vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Seaside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% OFF plus Room UPGRADE
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Convenient start for our Maui vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

My daughter & I just returned from our vacation to Maui. We thought that the Maui Seaside Hotel was a convenient place to start our vacation. It was close to the airport and easy to get to. We planned on driving the road to Hana the next day and needed a place to stay overnight. This worked great. The staff was pleasant and the free breakfast was good. The rooms aren't huge and I wouldn't want to spend a whole week there (I wouldn't want to spend a whole week in Kahului, either) but for our needs it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    237
    212
    69
    40
See reviews for
117
285
47
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2006

my husband and myself checked into the maui seaside
hotel in kahului february 4, 2006. the first day was
great after that it went downhill as far as the desk
clerks, rude and not very helpful when it came to
asking a question or where the location of someplace
was they would say (front desk people that is)
phone books in the room that's what they are there for. now what are you supposed to say to that. I am never going to stay there again I don't need that kind
of attitude especially when I pay well over 1000.00
and get no respect what so ever.

no thanks
J.Iacono
Fbks, Ak.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kahului hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2006

I stayed at the hotel because of the price, but I found too many inconveniences for my taste. The rooms are small but comfortable (ask to stay in the tower for a larger room). If you need to iron, forget it! You have to take your clothes DOWN to the laundry room and iron them with a horrible iron chained to the board! Not my idea of a comfortable room experience.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

We only stayed three nights and that was enough. The down side is the room smelled musty and gross. The place is not fancy, but we weren't there to spend in the hotel room. The pool was too cold to swim in. Beach is average. The air conditioning unit was very noisy and kept us awake the first night. We told the management and it was fixed right away. We also needed another blanket, no problem. The people were very friendly and the breakfast was good. Plan on 40+ drive to any attractions. Probably wouldn't stay here again. But for those on a budget like we were, it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

We arrived in Maui 10:30PM, and based on the Nov. review, reserved our first night stay here. It's less than a 10 minute drive from the airport, and it is a perfectly good motel for a short stay;clean and comfortable. They offer a continental breakfast that helped us get on our way to our destination. I would definitely stay there again for the convenience.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2005

We stayed here for 1 night at the start of our Maui vacation, after arriving late at the airport. Our expectations weren't grand - we needed somewhere clean to shower and sleep before setting out early the next morning. The Maui Seaside was ideal for us - the welcome was friendly, the room was a little dated but clean and confortable, and we had a nice view over a small beach. I certainly wouldn't recommend that anyone stay here for longer than a few nights, but for one night it's more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

Stayed here the first night in Maui having just arrived at the airport.
We had misgivings about it based on some of these reviews - but it
turned out to be just fine. Our first floor room in the "tower" - the
three-story section - was really very clean. The carpet was nearly new
and the walls pretty recently painted. It was quiet (maybe because it
wasn't high season, so few yelling kids) probably at least because of
concrete walls. It was secure, surrounded by fencing and security.
It was near to anything in Kahului. It is also essentially right next door
to the Maui Beach Hotel, which seems to cost slightly more but clearly
shares the same waterfront. If you don't have high expectations for
the beach, you won't be disappointed. Obviously at this price it is not
an oceanfront resort on a beautiful destination beach. But it does have
beachfront on the little Kahului harbor. It's quite nice for what it is.
We would definitely stay here again. True, the room was small -but
again, clean. Our AC was fine. The desk staff was very friendly. We
skipped its restaurant because of reviews we read here - but there are
lots of choices for eating. In fact, we ate at the Thai restaurant in
Maui Mall just down the road. That was very, very good food - not
Mall food-court type of food but a sit-down restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.