We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maui Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place for PERFECT for our first stay in Maui. The staff was wonderful; the location was amazing & the price made it possible to do many other things on the island. THANK YOU so much Maui Seaside Hotel......when we come back to Maui we're coming to stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    186
    168
    56
    35
See reviews for
93
212
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

When others complain, I shake my head and wonder if they were thinking this is a Luxury Resort or something.
This is not a place to lounge by the sea,drink fruity cocktails under the moon or expect room service- what you see is what you get and for the price it cant be beat.
WHat is this hotel ? To me after flying from Florida and 2 layovers and arriving at 8.30pm it was a short hop-skip-jump from the airport.This hotel is a place to use when you arrive later in the evening and want a good clean place to sleep your jet lag off, and in my case ( I like to save money ) i could not find the logic of arriving 8.30 at night driving to other side of the isle and arriving late at my hotel and paying $350.00 for such a late check in - use this place to unwind, sleep some jet lag off, wake up refreshed and head to your resort feeling good for the rest of your stay on the isla
Check in smooth and efficeint, not the worst not the best customer service.
Rooms smallish , bit outdated like the hotel ( but we expected it ) however clean and cozy......
Grounds were clean and imaculate- I felt safe.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Well, it was the cheapest hotel I found with not-so-bad review, so I booked it. I stayed at this hotel for one night for catching up an early flight back home. The stuffs at front desk were very friendly. Room was simple and clean, but I didn't sleep well because the A/C was too noisy. The breakfast at Coconut Grill (right next to the lobby) was okay. There is also an alternative options for breakfast less than one mile away, Whole Food Supermarket. Overall, the location of this hotel is very close to the airport and all rental car locations. If your budget is around $100/night, I guess this is the best choice you can find within this price range.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Located near the airport with a supermarker about two traffic lights away. Room was simple, small parking area. overpriced for sure. Not a good hotel to start your vacation with.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Maui Seaside Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
thank you for your review. We take all of our guest comments very seriously because we strive to provide all that we promise to your guests. We promote comfortable and clean accommodations in a friendly Hawaiian atmosphere at a budget price. This is a Hawaiian family owned Hotel, and we have enormous pride in this local style property. We our deeply sorry that you found our hotel less than satsfactory. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here for two days after coming back from a trip to Molokai. The Hawaiian on the trip told me that the Maui Seaside is where Hawaiians stay when they come over from Oahu. While I didn't take a survey, the hotel had a more "local" feel to it than others I have stayed at in Hawaii. There seemed to be guests of varied nationalities. I found the variety refreshing.

There were many families with children and they seemed to be having a good time in the pool. In fact, all the guests seemed relaxed, happy and down to earth.

The hotel is at least twenty years old. It faces a working port harbor and a major thoroughfare on the opposite side. The rooms are basic but clean and bigger than those in many of the new boutique hotels. You also get a coffeemaker in your room, like in the good old days.

The place is situated between two shopping malls and near Walgreens and Longs drug stores. On Kane St. nearby, you can buy food at Foodtown, eat your dinner in your room and look at the water from your window.

The restaurant seems popular too.

They have a coin op laundry. They also have a business center and staff patiently answers questions from tech challenged grannies like me.

The staff was responsive, knowledgeable and friendly. They gave me exactly the kind of room I wanted, unlike many of the the snotty lip snarlers at the newer "hip" hotels.

This is not a "glam" resort hot spot but a good place to stay for a couple of nights if you need to be near the airport.

Room Tip: Get there at 3PM, check in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Depends on where would u like to stay in maui. This hotel is one out of two of the closest hotel to maui intl airport. Location is close to supermarkets, gas stations, restaurants and other shops. However its far from the high end or tourist attractions.
If u are just after a room to have the night for rest, this one isnt too bad. Room is clean and pretty quiet. Building is pretty old. Jst make sure u rent a car if u are primarily stayin in this hotel durig ur trip to maui. Otherwise would be hard for u to get around to beaches or tourist attrations that are far from Kahului.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

A nice little place near the airport. I was at first thinking this was Mauis version of motel 6, but I was pleasantly surprised. Do get the deluxe room, the others are very small with small TVs. Ours was spacious and had a flat screen TV. You can walk right down to the cute little beach. the ground are impeccable. There is a nice little restaurant attached where the hotel gave us a complimentary breakfast. This was just to stop over for us,
I don't think I would stay here more than 2 nights, but it's a great value for a stopover close to the airport. oh and I forgot an item there and they found it, put it in lost and found, and I picked it up 3 days later, very nice honesty.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.