We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Seaside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% OFF plus Room UPGRADE
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night after a long flight from Atlanta. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel or in the room but we liked the location, it was a safe hotel with security, the breakfast was really good at the restaurant (free always helps!) and the staff was very sweet.

We'd definately stay here again if the right situation arose.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    236
    211
    69
    40
See reviews for
117
284
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Book online, got $75/night offer accepted (no breakfast). Easy to find from airport, we stopped by Costco & K-Mart on the way to the hotel. Well situated, from there visited Hana Road, Haleakala National Park, Maui Tropical Plantation. There is a big shopping mall less that 2 km est, also a farmer's market across the street, can buy fresh fruit to try. Hotel employees were friendly, parking was only $5/night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Every trip to Maui starts with us arriving late from LAX and heading straight to this motel. This property is a very good value and the staff is very nice. We spend our first night here, have breakfast, wait for Costco to open at 10, then head for our resort. This is an older property at a good price so have reasonable expectations and don't be uptight. Relax and enjoy it for what it is.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

On the surface, it looks clean and elegant, a classic hotel. The location and parking are pretty handy too. But we changed rooms 3 times trying to get a decent nights rest.

The first room had a rattling noisy airconditioner, and we were woken up by a stupid rooster after 5am.

We tried changing, but the next room smelt so foul, with the bathroom so pungent from weed, that we didnt bother opening our bags.

The 3rd room wasn't too bad, the aircon was a bit quieter, and it was okay.

Breakfast in the hotel was pretty good, although service is friendly but can be a bit slow.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, test the aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here, but we would have preferred the Lahaina area instead. It's a clean hotel along the ocean for a reasonable price. Overall enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

For my purposes this hotel was great. I was landing late after flying for over 24 hours from Europe. I knew i'd be exhausted so I didn't want to drive the 45 mins to Kaanapali (or pay for an expensive resort just to sleep!).

This property was clean. Great simple breakfast was included at the restaurant adjacent -- a bit on the small side but perfect for me.

The staff was accommodating when I was a bit concerned for my safety and put me in a room near the office. The safety concern was mostly because I was a single female traveler arriving late to a lot of locals hanging out in the parking lot - just gave me a weird vibe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I really didn't expect to be so delighted after reading some of the other reviews. You won't find a resort. What you will find: the rooms are clean, quiet, and nicely furnished. The staff is exceptionally nice. They will show you where you can park if you don't want to pay for parking: the area was well lit, and I (senior woman) felt safe walking alone to my room at night (1-3 minute walk).
By using a bidding site I got a price about 40% less than the advertised rate. At that price I could hardly believe the value I was getting.
What I really appreciated was what a close and easy drive it was to the Iao Needle and to get started on the Road to Hana.

Room Tip: Check in early - you might get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.