We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More worried about their precious policy than customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stinger Ray's Bar & Grill

Stinger Ray's Bar & Grill
Kahului Airport, Kahului, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 116 restaurants in Kahului
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“More worried about their precious policy than customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

When's the last time you sat at a table in a tavern, went to the bar to order drinks and was refused? Gotta admit, this was a first to me. The wait staff was working hard, so I thought I'd save everyone some time... especially yours truly!... but the bartender refused to serve me! Said I had to waif for the server. Seriously? He said she would be "right behind me," and she was until she stopped and returned to the kitchen area to fetch some other person hot sauce. Oh, really? It was not as if the bartender was swamped, either. He was basically putting away glasses. There was maybe one other person at the bar (the hot sauce guy). Anyway, if you are in a rush, this is not the best place to enjoy a quick libation. But it's one of the few games at the OGG airport. Just be prepared, amigos!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    5
    7
    6
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Typical airport restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Food was extremely overpriced. They had a hot dog on the menu for $13.00!!!!!!!! A turkey sandwich and fries was about $15.00. The service was fine. We really didn't require much attention. They did have a good variety of bottled drinks and sandwiches to take on the plane.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great nachos........nice wine pours! The service was fast the server knowledgeable.....Friendly atmosphere......all around good experience!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Airport Sting a little less painfull?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

You'll find Stingers Inside the Kahului airport in the US domestic lounge which is a bit past the main food lounge.
I always drop into stinger Rays for a refreshment before getting on a flight home as there is a good selection of local beers on tap. The prices are airport level ie expensive, but not as bad as some.
Food is Ok, nothing to write home about. The atmosphere is nice clean and the decor colourful and funky. The service is quick personable, and staff courteous.
You can still access stingers if you are on a Canadian flight. You just have to go through the agricultural inspection station, separating the Canadian departure lounge from the US one, but its no big deal.
If you do need a little something before your flight you cant go wrong here, its better then the food court , BUT you will pay a premium at all the places inside the airport.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT END TO MY MAUI TRIP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Traveling on a 1:00 pm flight from Maui to LA, a good meal prior to departure was a must for the 5 hour journey ahead. Stinger Ray's Bar and Grill was an excellent choice. Ideally located near the AA gates, the restaurant proved to be the perfect spot to relax, enjoy a good Cheese Burger and French Fries in a clean and cozy environment. The menu selection is quite varied, offering a wide range of options. What I really enjoyed was the openness of the area, which made it easy to hear and be aware of flight announcements etc. The staff was courteous and also quite efficient. A really nice place and a pleasant experience. The percent end to my Maui trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stinger Ray's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stinger Ray's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stinger Ray's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.