We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great spot for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zippy's

Zippy's
15 Hookele St, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-3513
+1 808-856-7599
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 122 Restaurants in Kahului
Cuisines: American, Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“What a great spot for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

nothing too fancy here but if you want a good breakfast where the locals go drop by here the prices are great the food is great and the service great as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    41
    21
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not a good dine-in experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I usually takeout but this time I took family out to the restaurant side at night and we got seated in the back. Almost near the restroom.Took forever to be noticed. Nice waitress, though. I got locomoco that was hard as heck and egg was too runny,almost streaming down!and cold! Dinner companion had better luck! saimin in a fancy vessel; it was in a silver bucket. Pretty snazzy! tasted great! should have ordered that myself! took too long to even get a drink. The place was getting packed and the there was no view but of the nearby restroom. Who wants a view of that while they are eating? decent selection of baked goods. love the Orange Bang and the lilikoi juice! next time, I am just gonna takeout!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love me some Zippy's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you are around, you gotta give Zippy's a try! I loved the fried chicken! Even had fresh Malasadas to go so I can enjoy at my hotel. It's easy to find with lots of parking available. If you go to the WalMart in Maui coming from Lahaina, you MUST make this a stop by. There are a lot of items to choose from. My girlfriend had oxtail soup and she loved loved loved it!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Easy in. Easy out for airport traffic. Order the malasadas when you arrive so they'll be ready when you leave.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, mostly!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just had dessert and coffee, the Dream Cake was very good. Zippy's is in the style of a Denny's or Carrows, but has local favorites. Their menu has been updated, and the cost has gone up in the last few years.
In general, the staff was fantastic. One lady, though, kept talking over patrons to other workers, and not pleasantly, either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zippy's also viewed

 

Been to Zippy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zippy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.