We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hike Maui

Hike Maui
285 Hukilike Street, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
+1 808-879-5270
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$129*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swim beneath waterfalls, hike through rain forests & Haleakala Crater with a renowned naturalist. Kayak and snorkel on colorful reefs attended by Maui's most knowledgeable and personable guides. Awarded Hawaii EcoTourism Assoc. 2010 Operator of the Year, Hike Maui has received countless raves for guided hiking tours on the island of Maui since 1983. Hike with guides recognized for their knowledge of Hawaii's natural environment and culture, and who lead with aloha and safety consciousness. They'll immerse you in the beauty of nature, engage you throughout the tour and inspire you to expand your boundaries of fun. Hike Maui is the oldest hiking tour company on the island, and the only one with permits to conduct tours in the national park and on all state hiking trails as well as some private trails. Ask about hotel pickup; book online and save 10%.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
West Chester, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I booked this Hike Maui excursion thru Pride of America on 2/17/2014. At first we were not sure if we wanted to spend all day out walking around, but we are sure we glad we did. Erik our guide was amazing. Nice easy pace and helped others thru the rough areas (which there were not many). He was a wealth of knowledge and gave a lot of history about the islands and plants. He was also fearless at some of the falls. Water was still a bit chilly in February, but we still braved it and all the falls were beautiful. The lunch he provided was great and we had some of the best fruit that he brought for all of us after the hike. He even stopped at a local stand right outside where we hiked for us to sample some items and pointed out sites along the coast. This for sure was one of the highlights of our trip to Hawaii, and we will for sure return to Maui for another hike with Erik and Hike Maui.

Mel & Tammy
West Chester, OH

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    58
    15
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Jake was informative, fun, friendly and right out of a movie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was supposed to take a long overnight hike in Kaui, but plans changed. I decided I still wanted to do a short hike and found Hike Maui in a brochure, last minute. Happy accidents! :) it was beautiful out there! I can't recommend it enough. I took my brother with me. Our guide was Jake. He grew up here and is very knowledgable. Anything you'd want know about anything on the hike, or the way there..he'll know. :) seriously worth the price. Tipping was optimal, but I say a must! Lol Aloha.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani and HIke Maui picked us up there. Polly was our guide and she knew everything about the area and created a fun and educational atmosphere.She found a horned lizard for us to admire. Put up with us old slow people as well as the ones with lots of questions. HIghly recommend this company.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked this excursion off our Norwegian cruise. Hike was challenging but not too strenuous for a bunch of middle age Canadians! Saw two beautiful waterfalls, swam in the fresh water and explored the caves underneath. Saw lots of flora and fauna, but the best part was our guide Jake. Raised on the islands and continuing his family's business of training dogs to kill boars...who knew that was a job! He showed us how they made ropes out of bark, where to find water, which plants could be used as bandaids. The running joke now in our family if we have a question is "ask Jake...Jake knows everything!" Fantastic hike, beautiful island and engaging guide...great day.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Waterfall hike at Twin Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Tony Grindel took a group of us on an incredible hike! He knew all the short cuts and "off the beaten path" routes. He took us to 3 waterfalls to swim whereas most people only see one without a guide. He is very knowledgeable of the area and the local flora. It was fun and educational. Highly recommend Tony and Hike Maui. Worth every dollar. Almost forgot to mention they provide lunch and water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hike Maui also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Hike Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hike Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.