We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Died & went to Heaven? Nope- just Hana!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana
Save
You added The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana to your Saves list
6776 Hana Highway, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Low May/June Rate
Ranked #1 of 12 Hana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Died & went to Heaven? Nope- just Hana!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at the two bedroom home, Hale Manu for three wonderful nights. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this house, the property and the awesome hosts. Everything was perfect and anything you could possibly need was provided in this home! The view of the ocean from the lanai is so peaceful and beautiful and the property is so excellently maintained I really didn't want to leave! After a week near Lahaina this is just what we needed for some down time. The hosts were generous and offered ideas on great hikes and beaches to see- we even saw Leokane perform one night at the Hotel Hana! All I can say is that the pictures on the website don't even begin to tell the story. All the other reviews are right- this is THE place to stay in Hana!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
148
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

The location is more than we could have hoped for even though from the outside, it's ordinary exterior, makes it easy to miss. (We heard the neighbors had mowed down the jungle next door in favor of a lawn...too bad.) We did in fact drive past it. Also being a couple of hundred feet from the highway downplay's it's charm and attention to detail inside. Inside it feels quite luxurious. It's a short walk across the road to some of the most beautiful beach and ocean anywhere....often all to yourself. This is the natural Maui. The kitchen was fully stocked with every kind of appliance. See the pictures of it's interior.
Chris and Leocane were wonderful hosts. Leocane is also an amazingly accomplished Hawaiian singer. We even left part of our camera there and they called and mailed out to us so it almost beat us back home. We highly recommend Hale Ulu Lulu

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Hana has an unearthly beauty and an uncanny ability to melt away stress in no time flat. And Malanai delivers that same vibe. The house was beautiful, well stocked and comfortable. The two bedrooms feautured glorious views of the ocean, fringed by windswept Nofolk pines standing tall like soldiers. Nice touches throughout -- from fans in every room, to plumeria blossoms scattered carefully throughout the house.

The location proved a great base for exploring Kipahulu, Hamoa Beach, Hana town and other gems of the area. Our hosts, Leokane (well known for his beautiful Hawaiian music) and Chris were wonderfully hospitatble and accomodating. They checked in on us often to offer suggestions or ensure we were set with everything in the house -- from the fully stocked kitchen to free wifi.

I will definitely be back again asap, as my only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

beautiful location, lovely grounds, friendly hosts, quiet area, good view, all the extras you can think of, stars at night great, sunrise viewable from front room/breakfast table/while doing dishes/ in bed if you sit up. Also the added bonus of being able to get to some beautiful locations and having them to yourselves in the morning, while so many others drive the road to hana.
Bathtub great - fills surprisingly quick. no AC was NO PROBLEM. ocean breeze was great.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Hale Ulu Lulu in mid-October. Leokane and Chris are super nice and helpful people! The house itself is beautifully decorated and updated with modern appliances and fixtures. The grounds are also beautiful! The house is on the outskirts of town but still very close. The pasture in front of the house (It's part of Hana Ranch) takes you down to the ocean where you can enjoy a very pleasant stroll along the cliffs and lava flow. You are also within walking distance of the Venus Pools.

The cool thing about Hale Ulu Lulu is that you can take great day excursions because there are so many things to see on the Hana Highway or you can stay at the house and relax and never leave until it is time to go home. (We did a little of both!)

I highly recommend Hale Ulu Lulu and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Sorry for the delay in making a comment, but my now fiancee and I stayed at this gorgeous, perfectly located find in August 2008 for 4 days. Leokani and Chris were so great in communication leading up to our stay and the place is immaculate and full of great Hana mellow vibes. I recommend shopping at Costco/Safeway, packing ice in a cooler, and hiding out at Hale Ulu Lulu for at least 5 days. The house is STOCKED with all of the beach items you need. This is a MUST stay in my opinion. Never have I felt more relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This house was a lovely oasis in a beautiful spot in Hana! Hawaiian music playing softly and fresh flowers scattered everywhere were a surprise welcome. Everything you could possibly need was available -- including a fresh pineapple in the kitchen and ripe papaya on the tree outside. A nice view of the ocean and sunrise from the deck. We were leaving on the midnight flight and since there was no one checking in until the next day, the owners were kind enough to let us stay throughout the day, which made our visit so much nicer. I only wished we had planned to stay much longer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana

Address: 6776 Hana Highway, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two impeccably maintained, fully furnished, ocean view homes in one of Hana’s finest locations. We are directly across from the Maka’alae pasturelands and ocean and also situated within walking distance to world famous Hamoa Beach and Venus Pool. Each home is landscaped for privacy on our approximately two-acre property. We live in a separate home on the property, so you have the security of knowing that your rental is well maintained and though we honor your privacy, we make ourselves available to assist you when needed. Both of our guesthouses have stack washer/dryers, tub and shower combinations (a oversized claw foot tub in Hale Ulu Lulu and a spa tub in Hale Manu) and enjoy the convenience of “on the grid” wi-fi, electricity, free telephone to US/Canada, cable and water. We consistently receive rave reviews on our attention to detail and thoughtfully equipped homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Hotel Hana
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.